We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
north wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel now 3 times. Very convient to walk to all the main sights in York. Only 5 mins at a slow pace. A bus stop outside with buses going to the station, centre of the town and the sightseeing bus stops. The breakfasts are very good buffett style with plenty of choice which the staff make sure are never left to get empty. The hotel has a swimming pool which is never that busy. The reception staff are helpful and friendly. There is on site parking which is £7.00 a day , which is expensive but at least you know your car is safe as you cant get in or out of the car park without a validated ticket. Very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: worth upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waggalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment following your recent visit to the hotel. I am happy to read you had a good time and hope to see you again very soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    959
    449
    139
    80
See reviews for
850
889
60
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the staff were friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble. We can heartily recommend the breakfasts!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryandjoe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Good morning and thank you for your kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast and shall share your comments with the team.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions whilst visiting York and have found our rooms to be clean and comfortable with great showers, staff friendly and helpful and the food has been excellent. A nice restaurant serving lunches and evening meals and a very good breakfast with lots of choices. It is in a good location, being just a short walk into York town centre and all the attractions. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. I will share your comments with the team and in particular the food and beverage department. We all hope to see you again very soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had another family trip to this hotel with 2 children under 5 and once again a faultless stay. The hotel was very clean, staff very professional and polite.
The choice at breakfast was fantastic, the swimming pool was clean always with a full set of clean towels for guests.
The Nintendo Wii and Xbox was a great hit with the kids and positioned well so parents can relax in the lounge area

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted to read you and your children had another great stay here in York. We are now starting works in the swimming pool on the 7th November and I do hope you will enjoy even more the area!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We were going to a concert at the Barbican Centre and this was a great location, just around the corner. Friendly and efficient staff in the bar and reception, breakfast was good and the only time the staff let the hotel down, we ended up having to clear the table ourselves as we were swamped with china. Room was good, seperate shower and loo and like another reviewer we were grateful for the second door so minimalise corridor noise. We needed an early start and breakfast was served from 7am and this was appreciated but paying to park at the hotel wasn't.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roonie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad you had a good time at the Barbican centre and the hotel. We do hope to see you again very soon... maybe for another event at the Barbican centre.

Thank you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay from start to finish. The room (309) was clean and a decent size. A seperate shower and toilet with an inner door in the entrance lobby, which we were able to close, which must have cut down the annoying noises you always get from any hotel with others banging doors etc. The meals both breakfast and dinner were faultless along with the staff who were not only effecient but polite and most helpful.
The hotel manager must be very proud to be associated with this hotel and all his staff.

We have stayed in 4 star establishments that don't offer as much.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view which avoids overlooking the entrance where the smokers tend to congregate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Good morning. A big thank you for your comments. I can confirm that I am very proud of my team and will certainly pass on your comments. Comments from our guests are invaluable to continuously improve on our service offerings. For this I would like to thank you. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Novotel York for a weekend of sightseeing in the city, the location is good, only a short stroll to the city centre & attractions, from check in to our leaving the staff were welcoming, polite & helpful, we had a small problem with our kettle & maintenance were right up to resolve the problem immediately, the room was fine, a good size, clean with a modern feel, only issues were door & window frames showing signs of damage/wear & a burn mark on the carpet also although housekeeping had left plenty of clean towels & the bedding was fresh etc they must have rushed as quite a few bits & pieces were left around from the previous guests, bottle tops, sweet wrappers & even a coffee cup full of used tissues under our bed , this would not put me off another stay as the general feel was clean & ok.
We were on the top floor near the elevator & had no problems with noise, the beds were comfortable, room facilities were ok 26” flat screen fair choice of channels & worked fine small fridge (stocked with mini bar items) but we just put these items on the side & used the fridge, also an iron, hairdryer & room safe.
Hotel is child friendly with a wii & Xbox in the lobby also our 10 yr old was given a free gift of a wooden dinosaur skeleton kit on check in which he enjoyed making in our room, there is a pool with some seating, it’s not the largest pool ever & we only used it once as once you get around twenty guests in there it’s a bit crowded to say the least , but it was the 1st weekend of the October school break & packed with families so at other times guess it would be fine.
Food was good , a good choice of hot & cold items for the breakfast buffet, we all enjoyed our breakfasts on both mornings, the only problem was with it being so busy you had to give your room number & wait in the lobby to be shouted , we waited around 10 minutes both mornings but the staff were trying their best & were apologetic , we also took our evening meal one night , we chose the buffet offer they were running £40 for a family of four , starters , mains , deserts & chocolate fountain , not the greatest choice of main courses but very nice & for the price very good value also no line as at breakfast.
Parking is outside to the side of reception there seemed to be more spaces than other city centre Novotels we have used & we parked with no problem, £7 per night, we stayed Saturday & Sunday & checked out Monday but after paying £14 for the 2 nights were told it also included all day Monday so in effect 3 days city parking for £14 not a bad deal.
All in all a good hotel , just what you would expect from a Novotel or similar brand name , pulled above many by very helpful & friendly staff & a great location , would use again but if as a couple & not a family would avoid school holidays.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheshirelad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Good morning and thank you for your comments. I am glad to read that you had a good time here in York. I have taken note of your comments especially with the housekeeping issues and will address the situation straight away. Thank you once again for your time and we do hope tosee you again in the near future.

With kind regards,


Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing