We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-called Superior room was very overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We thought it would be nice to treat ourselves to a Superior room after a long day's work in York. The description made the room sound very plush and spacious.

We were quite disappointed to find that the room was of an average standard, very similar to any other room at a Travelodge or similar budget hotel. The decor was quite dated - woodchip wallpaper and peeling laminate on the door. The bathroom was new but had no bath, and the toilet was in a separate vestibule area tacked on to the end of the room, with no basin. Having stayed in Novotels before, this was nowhere near the standard we were expecting.

In addition, the parking at this hotel costs £7, and a small bottle of beer costs £4. That's the equivalent of about £6 to £7 a pint. We looked at getting room service as we had to leave early, but a continental breakfast with no hot items cost £13. With hot items, it was £17, and there was no mention of any provision for vegetarians.

We should have gone to a competitor - at least the rooms are cheaper when they're so basic, and the food is definitely cheaper as well. Also, perhaps the check-in staff would have been less sullen.

One thing we did appreciate is the fact that our request for a quiet room was honoured. We slept very well. I just wish we had paid half of what we stumped up for the room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank science_299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Good morning and thank you for your comments. I am disappointed to read your experience did not live up to your expectations and will have a look at some of the points you raised.

Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,987 - 1,993 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

Very modern and comfortable large hotel, centrally located, right by the river and the ancient city walls

Just stayed one night without breakfast, so can't comment on that

Reception staff exceptionally attentive and genuinely friendly and pleasant

Overall, very commendable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Good morning to thank you for taking the time to write a comment following your recent stay with us. Wishing you all the best for the festive season.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Grimsby, United Kingdom
21
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Lovely pleasant stay, no problems. Would recommend. Room was clean and adequately equipped. The barman was especially helpful and pleasant and worthy of praise. The only disappointment was as a hotel guest, having to pay for the car park.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Good morning. Many thanks for your comments. Gregory our barman will be very pleased to hear you recognised his hard work. Wishing you all the best for the festive season.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The pool was closed, the wii did not work and the xbox was broken, my children had nothing to do and when we wanted to watch the x factor we were told the football was on and had been on all day. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This hotel seems to be mainly 'company meeting' orinintated during the week and also the weekend we stayed, but this did not interfere with our stay. The rooms are not as big as we had expected, but they were very clean and modern.
Its a 10 minute walk into the centre, ask reception to point out the river walk into the centre, much better than going in by the roads. The hotel pool was closed for a refurb, so didnt get chance to try that out. Breakfast was included in our stay, its buffet style, and there was a big choice to choose from. Service is excellent. We didn't drink in the hotel bar as there is a wide choice of pubs and restaurants near to the hotel.
Car park is big, cost us £7.00 per day, but on the day of leaving, we were told we could leave car until 8pm at night, so was well pleased!
Try the Mason Arms pub just round the corner, great food and beers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackpoolMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Good morning and thank you for your comments. as mentioned and advertised on all websites, our pool is currently going through a refurbishment and this should be finalised around the 9th December. I will investigate when the Xbox and Wii will be repaired. Finally, I am sorry to read you could not watch your favourite programm in the bar. We do change channels as per guests requirements but on this occasion other customers wanted to watch the football.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We by chance saw the sign for the novotel york as we were passing i had previously stayed in one in france for the first time in june, and i have to say that we encountered no problems with this one despite the fact that there is extensive refurbishment going on as we speak( nov 11).The location is as quiet as you would expect for a large hotel with good access to the town centre we found that all staff were polite and accomadating, the room which was an upgrade to a family room and discounted, was more than suited to our needs, all facilities were clean, the bathroom and shower were 1st class, the location is excellent either a short stroll along the river side or a quick walk into town via the road route. we had the option to take breakfast which we declined due to being cheaper in town but again for a large hotel chain the cost of breakfast would be similar, but otherwise we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed here & have no problem about staying here again when we visit York again next year. Reception staff nice & welcoming, restaurant staff very accomodating when we asked for more tea & coffee.

Rooms lovely & clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraxwazNewcatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. I am very happy to read you had ni issue whilst staying with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the best for a fast approaching end of the year!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £74 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing