We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame About the Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shame About the Pool”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have always been impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness and presentation of facilities. The pool has been beautifully refurbished but, unfortunately, the tiles round the edges of the pool where the water laps were filthy. I could scrape the dirt off with a finger nail.
It is also a shame that the hotel chooses to charge for overnight car parking. The charge is steep and it impacts on what would otherwise be very good value for money.
Having said all this, I will be returning to the Novotel York. It really is my favourite in York.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Good morning and thank you for your comments. i am delighted to read you will be using us again. Thank you also for reporting the pool issue as it enabled us to rectify the problem very quickly. Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    1,003
    473
    148
    85
See reviews for
899
929
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Good standard hotel for a short stay in this great city. Staff helpful and friendly.
Hotel bar not cheap (but that is normal isn`t it).
Overall pretty good, but not v.close to the main shopping area (about 15 min walk).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barroni45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Good morning. Only a few words to thank you for giving us some feedback which is invaluable for us to improve on our service delivery. We do hop eto welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel 29th June & 1st July with my husband on a short city break. The hotel room itself was clean and well maintained with a safe, iron & board in room and a good sized & clean bathroom

The parking was a bonus - £8.50 p/n but for York city centre this is cheap and the car park is well lit and secure.

The hotel itself is a good 15 mins walk into town but it by no means warrants a taxi or bus unless you are either lazy or have mobility issues, you can also walk into town along the river which is nice when the sun is shining

I emailed the hotel and asked for a river facing room which we were given on check in - only complaint re the rooms would be that it was very warm and the air con unit was no sufficient to keep it cool but no complaints other that that

Room Tip: email the hotel and ask for a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Good moning and thank you very much for your comments. We are all delighted to read you had a good time and I would agree that the walk by the river is a lot nicer! Only gripe so far this year... the lack of sun!!!! Hopefully it willmake an appearance soon.

Thank you once again and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed late May for business and leisure for a few days in an executive room. In this type of room there was a decent “nespresso” type coffee machine, fridge, iron/board, bathrobes, slippers and good range of perfectly fine toiletries etc. Also had a docking station, wi-fi and (I think, but didn’t use) free local phone calls. The room was a decent size and included a sofa but didn’t have much room round the bed to get into the bathroom. The separate loo was tiny and somewhat “tired” looking. Storage was not good either but for a one night stay this wouldn’t matter at all.

We had a breakfast there each day - all the usual hot and cold offerings (full English and continental) and some exceedingly good bread. There was also freshly prepared pineapple as well as a selection of other fruits and some pastries which I enjoyed.

The service was unreservedly good. Reception was great and staff in the restaurant were pleasant but not obtrusive.

We did not fancy the pool – very strange position next to restaurant and the lobby – most odd. You could see it from the restaurant through the “nets”.

The restaurant menu (which we saw in the bedroom) looked dreadful, corporate and totally lacking in imagination. There was something very 70s about the look of it and an expectation that everything would be ready-meals which gave us no confidence at all. However, it was late and we were exhausted and couldn’t be bothered to go elsewhere, so we felt we had to put up with it, and, as it happened, we were surprised and truly delighted with our supper. On-menu items were much, much better than their descriptions and we were also offered off-menu items which we hadn’t expected to be available at all. The quality of the food was very good indeed for a hotel. The bread was baked in house (cannot say if this was from scratch or not though) and all the vegetables were cooked just right. It was all so nice we even had puddings which we often miss. The decor in the restaurant does need some work though.

So, some good points – staff, food, bed, free internet (with exec. room), coffee machine, fridge, separate loo to bathroom, comfy sofa in room, big picture-window letting in lots of light...

Not so good – lack of storage space in room, loo in bedroom needs attention as lets the room down, pool off-putting, hotel busy with conferences in the daytime (they use the lobby for lunches so don’t expect to have a quiet hour here), not much room between bed and bathroom, bathroom looks good but is impractical in use - cannot do any make-up easily as lights poor and cannot hook up robes and still close bathroom door, wash basin not good and lack of shelf space.

Would I come back? Yes, in spite of the minor irritations I probably would. It’s less than 15mins on foot to the centre of York, less than a mile to the train station, just off a bus route (if you want one) but (strangely) in a quiet cul-de-sac and with lots of parking. It’s clean and friendly - what is there not to like? It may not be perfect but it is certainly pretty good.
Book early to get a good rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QwertyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Good afternoon. Thank you so much for your detailed comments following your recent stay. we have certainly taken note of your comments and passed them on to all relevant persons within our company. We obviously do hope to have you again as our guest.

Thank you once again

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Novotel is in a very good location, just a few minutes walk to Cliffords Tower and Jorvic centre and from there straight into the main shopping area. We had a very nice room overlooking the river, and it was very fresh and clean. The breakfast is lovely, plenty of fresh fruit and cereals to choose from and the English breakfast is very nicely cooked and once again plenty of choice. All the staff are very pleasant and friendly my only critiscism is our dirty pots weren't cleared away at breakfast time as we used them, so by the time we left the restaurant there were used cereal bowls, breakfast plates and fruit bowls all still on the table which as the restaurant wasn't very busy seemed a bit sloppy. The car park is £8.50 per night which although is fairly expensive, it is a secure car park and is a small price to pay for such a central location as we do like to park up and not use our car again until we leave.
We have stayed at the York Novotel a few times before and have always been happy and hopefully it wont be too long before we book here again for another visit.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude59LincolnshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Good morning and thank you for your comments, I am glad to read you had another good time with us and am looking forward to welcoming you again. I have shared your comments with the team so that we can improve where needed.

Thank you and see you soon!

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clun, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2012

It was a Novotel. What more can you say?? Well, I guess it's worth adding that the service (particularly on the reception desk) are just brilliant. Very impressive, very helpful, very personable. It's maybe also worth saying that actually, it's a good 15-minute (or so) walk into the centre - so the name is a little misleading.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Good morning and thank you for your comments. I have shared your comments with our reception team who were delighted with your feedback.

Thank you once again

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Great room. Great location. Very nice food. Brilliant shower. Lovely staff. Excellent parking facilities. Comfy bed. Hair dryer and iron most acceptable. Free toothbrush a bonus! Would definitely recommend :)

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Good morning. Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback. i am delighted you had a good time with us. I hope to see you again very soon

With kind regards,

Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,761 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing