We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay to see concert at Barbican”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay to see concert at Barbican”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Great position especially for the Barbican Theatre. Hotel reception very friendly and helpful. Hotel very nice only observation hallway carpets looking tired but all in all a very nice hotel.Parking very good and good value considering prices in York, overnight parking and a days shopping in York car park £8.50. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandjchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am glad to read you had a good time. I hope you equally had a great time at the Barbican Centre! I have taken note of your comments with regards to the corridors and can confirm that work will start in January during the low season. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    986
    460
    144
    82
See reviews for
884
908
60
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

I booked a room for my son and I. Sat nav was a little out, but we found the hotel. As my son's into history we visited many of the sites, too many to mention. The town was full of shoppers and a great pedestrian shopping zone. Can't recommend York enough. The hotels clean and has a swimming pool. Brilliant. The staff are superb. Thanks Novotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyC0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Good morning and happy birthday to your son! I am extremely pleased you had a good time in York. There is so much to do! I am also delighted to read your comments about our staff and will share them with the whole team. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Our daughter booked a 1 night stay at this hotel and tickets for us to see Jools Holland at the Barbican for an early christmas present. What an excellent choice, the hotel is a few minutes walk to the Barbican and only about 8 minutes to the city centre. We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before checkin time and were given a room straight away , so we parked our car and headed into York to do some shopping and have lunch. We were told that the car park charge of £8.50 would last until midnight the following day which would give us another full day in York if we so wished. The superior room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed for our stay.
As we had a late lunch we could only manage a starter from the bar menu which was excellent before we headed to our concert. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and I would say that the hotel is better than some 4* we have stayed in. Overall a very enjoyable stay and a great night at the Barbican.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Good morning and thank you for your comments. Your comments have been shared with the team and we would all want to thank you once again. It has been a pleasure having you around and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights on business and they tried charging £199 per night, no breakfast or dinner. I managed to knock the bill down but how on earth they can try and justify that charge I have no idea. They also swiped my card for £300 at the beginning to cover any extras and when I checked out, instead of deducting this from my bill (it had already left my account account) they changed me full whack and it took two days to get my £300 back! Disgusting. Rooms were noisy and everything overpriced. Would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Good morning and thank you for your feedback. I am obviously sorry to read you would not consider us for a future stay and will investigate your comments further. Please do not hesitate to contact me on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com shoud you wish to discuss the matter further. Thank you once again for your honest feedback.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, North Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in August 2012. Had booked executive room but were disappointed. We are two adults and a child. Extra bed (uncomfortable) made room cramped. The weather was hot and the ventilation was poor in the room. For the upgrade we got - ipod dock, espresso coffee machine, dressing gowns/slippers and wifi. Bathroom was nice but strange set up with double doors opening onto bedroom. Separate toilet was like a jail or a 1* hotel. Good power shower and nice products in bathroom (bath bombs were nice). Plenty of nice towels. Disappointed to find an empty beer can in one of the drawers. Were told by reception we had a river view but all we could see was the pool roof! Pool area looked nice but changing area left a lot to be desired. Wii and x-box in bar for children, also colouring items and toys. Drinks in bar expensive. Plenty of parking but had to pay per night for this. Grounds were scruffy and could do with tidying. Could make a nice area for drinks outside at night with a little effort. Ate in one night as the price was reasonable for a family. Food and service very good (free bottled water), likewise at breakfast - well stocked and friendly staff. Pleasant 15 minute walk into town along river. Avoid coach parties at breakfast.

Room Tip: You may get a river view if you choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasRhyl_NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Good morning and thank you for your extensive comments. I have taken note of all of them and can already reassure sure that some works have already been carried out since you last stayed back in August. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night in the Executive Suite,if we had paid full price, we would have complained to the manager, found human hair in the bath,the carpets looked dirty,the bed was comfortable,coffee cups stuck to the saucers had to wash them before use, one of biggest faults here is £8.50 car park charge.breakfast was ok we have had better,the staff was the best thing here they are very polite and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grazuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Good morning. I am very sorry to read your room was not clean as per our usual standards. Please do rest assured that steps will be taken to avoid any reoccurence in the future. I will also share your comments with the team with regards to the levels of service. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing