We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    958
    449
    139
    79
See reviews for
849
887
60
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Excellent room for the price

Location convenient for many tourist sites, but not quite so convenient for the railway station

Just what I wanted for a one night stay near the Barbican

Staff friendly and helpful

Only slight downside was building work in the adjacent room. It didn't wake me up, but it might have been nice to be warned!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMorrison4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Good morning. Only a few words to thank you for your comments. I would like to personally apologise for the noise generated when changing the door next to your room and have informed the team. We all hope to see you again soon.

Wishing you all the best for the festive season!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed in an executive room, which we thought were not as good as it should've been. The advert is misleading as it sounds like one would have internet and movies included in the price, which is not true. You have to pay to have both. Breakfast was good but not enough to be much more expensive than the regular Ibis. A bit disappointing.

Room Tip: Save some cash and go to Ibis or a nice B&B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Good morning and thank you for your honest feedback. I am disappointed to read your comments about our breakfast and the internet and movies. Internet (wired) and movies are indeed free when booking an executive room so please do not hesitate to contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com if you have been charged and I will personally process the refund.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write this report.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed overnight whilst on business in York. I have to say I wasn't expecting much from a 3* chain hotel.
I was wrong - this is a very comfortable place to stay, feels more like a 4*. I couldn't find much wrong. I had the £18 buffet which was really good - beautifully laid out, a decent choice and good quality food. They also don't rip you off for the cost of a drink - I paid around £4 for a Pino greigo. It's in a great location just next to the city walls and a 10 minute stroll into the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirPrunealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Good morning. On behalf of the team here at the Novotel York, I would like to thank you for your comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future. May we take this opportunity to wish you all the best for the fast approaching end of the year!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Had to change our booking for a hotel in York at last moment and this was perfectly adequate for a short stay. As one would expect from a Novotel, the hotel was a standard business type place with no character at all but very good for somewhere to put one's head down . Close to town but as I use a stick for walking, we still needed a taxi to the centre. At roughly £5 per trip this was fine.. Room was clean and a good size. Amused at only being given one teabag for two people !! Breakfast was expensive but plenty of choice. Surprised at having to pay £8.50 per night to park in the hotel car park considering the cost of our two nights but suppose this is a reflection of the cost of parking in York. The hotel staff were very pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to York. Would have preferred a hotel with a little more charm but as we had little time to choose this was our own fault. Would recommend for overnight stops.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Good morning. Thank you very much for giving us some valuable feedback following your recent stay. I have passed on your comments to the whole team and we all would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for the festive season.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed here for one night 15/11. Hotel is in a great central location and only a 10 minute walk to the centre of York.
Welcoming reception and secure car park with £8.50 cost.
Room was very clean and modern, plenty of tea and coffee provided.
Bed was comfortable and no noise to disturb.
The only fault was there was no hot water either in the evening or the morning, I didn’t report it in the evening as I assumed it was perhaps due to over usage, when I did mention it on departure I got the impression that was the norm.
The breakfast was fresh and plentiful and staff very efficient.
It was a shame there was no hot water as for me that is a basic must have in any hotel and a reason why I would be unlikely to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticheart999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Good morning and thank you for your comments. I am very surprised to read about the lack of hot water and will be investigating this matter straight away. On a positive note, I am delighted to read you did find our staff to be efficient.

Even though you mentioned you would not give us another go for your next visit, could you please contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com when you next plan to come to York? I would love to have the opportunity to have you around again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing