We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family long weekend in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family long weekend in York”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Very pleasant family hotel. Within wWalking distance of all the attractions. Children were well looked after with inside and outside play areas and a couple of Wii type games in the foyer. Drinks were a little expensive but there are pubs nearby. I enjoyed the swimming pool. Lighting in the rooms and the restaurant was rather dim - reading in bed or the restaurant area was not possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Good morning and many thanks for your comments. I am delighted to read you had a good stay with your family. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    986
    460
    144
    82
See reviews for
884
908
60
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Have stayed in this hotel before and didn't consider any other option because we were very satisfied. We got a good deal off a website but I would not pay the usual price that the hotel advertises. On the other hand, the service is excellent and the staff are very helpful, the man on reception even phoned up our room shortly after check in to ask if everything was satisfactory and how to contact him if we needed anything. The hotel is modern and very clean with a swimming pool, conference rooms, areas with computers and games console. The buffet breakfast is very good and there are even individual booths with televisions and headphones at the side of the main dining area.

The room was lovely with a fridge/minibar, free safe, tea and coffee facilities, tv with a lead you can plug your iPod into and large desk area with mouse and keyboard. The only downfall is that the wifi in the hotel is not free so we didn't bother. The ensuite was small but very modern and more than satisfactory.

Last but not least the hotel is only 5 min walk from the city centre so you can leave your car at the hotel, even after you check out. Parking cost £10 for 24 hours and we only stayed one night however the reception staff gave us a ticket valid for the whole next day at no extra charge once we checked out so really we had our monies worth, plus it is more expensive to park in the city centre.

All in all, very satisfied with this four star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Good morning and thank you for your feedback. I have shared your comments with the team and I can assure you many were very pleased! With regards to WIFI, we are currently serving notice to our current provider and should be in aposition to offer free WIFI throughout the hotel within the next few months. Thank you once again for your custom.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here for two nights in October.

Located just outside the city walls, but all sights are very easily reached on foot for the reasonably fit. The walk into the City via either the wall or the river is picturesque. However, the station is just too far on foot.

The Hotel is situated in a quiet residential area by the river. Thus, very few eating options nearby.

Room are of the old (rather depressing) Novotel style and look slightly worn. However, it was comfortable and adequate. Our room was quiet apart from the times the person next door decided to practice their trombone. Fortunately, the person must have been going to a concert because we did not hear them play other than in the late afternoons. No sure of the hotel policy on trombone playing in the rooms.

No free wifi, which is a real turn off. Why Accor does not offer this across all its hotels is a mystery. Free internet connections are not a luxury, they are a necessity (like soap and a kettle) and any hotel that does not offer this service surely ranks as one to avoid if possible. Accor please take note.

Slight problem on check-in; we were given a very scary looking disability room. Upon returning to reception to get the room changed were given another one with disability functions. Third time lucky we were allocated an appropriate room.

We obtained a good price for this hotel and York is not overly endowed with options. Thus, it served its purpose. However, don’t expect too much and therefore don’t pay too much for this Novotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmondbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Good afternoon. Many thanks for your review. With regards to the internet and free WIFI access, we are in the process of switching contracts around and should be in position to have it totally free by mid June.

Thank you

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed at the weekend for 2 nights just bb and the check in was ok and very helpful it was 5 mins from everythink in york so ideal.The hotel was nice and clean reception there was a wii and xbox to keep the kids happy and the pool was ok as well breakfast was great buffet stlye so eat what you want a good selection of breads to pastrys and cooked breakfast was very good a wide selection of juice's as well.Did have trouble second night room next to us came in at 430 am and woke most peolpe up but can't blame hotel for some guest they were told by the night porter 3 times to be quite in the end it worked night porter and reception staff were very helpful in dealing with it in morning as they gave a refund on the parking which was 20 pounds for 2 days didnt mind paying it because the car was very safe over night but as i said taken off the bill so thankyou for a nice stay will come again plus so will the family as well joined the accour club as well so look out for benifits from hotel chain.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg1186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Good morning. Many thanks for your kind email. I have shared it with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in one of our hotels around the world and enjoy the benefits of your new loyalty card!

With kind regards,

Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

stay at the hotel at the weekend the room was ok and was in walking distance from the city centre we stayed 2 nights bed and breakfast the breakfast buffet was good on both days a lot of selection from yogurts to pastry's and a hot cooked breakfast.The room was ok and we used the pool which was nice there were a xbox and wii in reception for the kids which they enjoyed the hotel was good and staff were great .The only problem which was not the hotels fault which was dealt with straight away with the night porter the room next door was noisy at 430 am in morning but night porter sorted it out after seveal times of telling them next day we mentioned it to the receptionist and she refunded us hotel parking which was £20 pounds for 2 days which i was happy with would return and soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am very pleased you had a good time whilst staying with us and hope to welcome you again in the future. Finally, I would like to apologise for the trouble caused by guests staying in the same corridor.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing