We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,382 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We normally use Hilton's but they sold out before we had an opportunity to book so choose the Novotel, unfortunately it cost slightly more than if we had made a decision earlier. The hotel is modern and easy to find off the main road from the York ring road. There is a open car park at the front that is charged at a reasonable £10 per night irrespective of number of hours. When we arrived late morning our room was not available, this was not a problem and we left our cases in the car. The receptionist was very helpful and gave us a map and directions into the city and the main sites. We spent the afternoon shopping and looking round the city.
We had a short wait to check in when we returned at about 5pm as there was only one member of staff on duty, she was not as helpful as the one earlier in the day and just presented us with our key cards with no explanation of breakfast times or other room facilities. We took the lift to our room on the fourth floor to the rear overlooking the river. We were pleasantly surprised, it was a good size with a king bed, settee and desk. Tea and coffee making facilities were available but only enough milk for a couple of cups. But there was free wifi and it was a reasonable speed.
The bath room was nicely designed with a hand shower plus a rain shower over the bath.
The room was clean but our one complaint was with the towels. One of the large bath towels had some rather unpleasant brown marks. On our way out to a restaurant we had booked in the evening we asked for it to be immediately replaced and this was completed when we returned later but no apology was given.
The buffet breakfast in the morning that was included In our rate was good with a wide selection that was constantly replenished. The staff were very efficient at clearing tables so much so that ours was cleared when we returned to the buffet to collect toast. It was equally quickly replenished with an apology.
Check out was very quick efficient.
We were pleased with our choice of hotel but did think we had paid more than we should have because of our late booking. The hotel is very well situated for visiting the city, only 5 minutes to Clifford Tower and another 5 to the shops. Not sure if we would return, it would depend what other hotels are available and the rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasonedtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Good afternoon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had a good stay and have shared your comments with the teams so that we can improve on the points you raised. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Visited York for 2 days with the family. York doesn't have many good hotels, and they are often overpriced due to this. The novotel is a good option for families with a pool and all rooms accommodating 4 people. We booked a month or so in advance so got room only for around £76 per night. Clean, functional hotel, ideal for families. Witherspoons only 150yrds away if you want a cheaper breakfast, but by booking in advance you can get it in the hotel for £10 each with kid eating free. Parking is £10 per 24hrs which is similar to other central areas and is secure. Overall very good family break location. Book at least 21 days in advance for deals.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank kikidee1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Good morning. Thank you for your review. I am delighted you had a good stay and can confirm that promotional rates are available up to 21 days before the date of arrival. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back. Wishing you all the best for 2014.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

First of all, the hotel is situated in an ideal place, it's down a little roadway and doesn't stand out on the road. Walking to town turn left as you walk out the drive and within five minutes you have weatherspoons, short distance from there is the museum, castle and within a ten minute walk you can be at York dungeons. York Minster is a bit of a walk, but about 15-20 so all the attractions are accessible within walking distance. All the attractions are In the cityby the shops.
You have to pay for parking which disappointed me considering the cost of our room per night. The hotel is nice, however I do not feel its worth the money we paid. Old fashioned rooms, toilet separate from the bathroom but old fashioned decor yet more modern bathroom, a strange mix. Noise travels, we could hear people in the room next door and I've nothing against families, but the hotel had loads of children which is fine if you remind the kids there are other guests and shouting and banging is not acceptable between certain hours, I accept they have to have fun but think that can happen at a more reasonable hour eg after 8am and before 9pm.
The menu is very expensive, we didn't eat here because of the cost.
An enjoyable stay all in all. I always say its personal preferance, but I would only stay at Novotel again if it was cheaper and a price on par with Travelodge.
I would not class this as any better standard than a Travelodge.
Staff are lovely, beds and pillows very comfy, Tv in the room. I've stayed in other hotels where the cleaning was slightly better, I could feel bits on the floor for the days I stayed there as though it had not been vacuumed and towels were not replaced despite placing one to be replaced on two days because it was dirty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Good morning and thank you for your comments. I have shared your review with the whole team and will take some of your points into consideration as we do aim to continuously improve on our service delivery. Thank you once again. Wishing you all the best for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Pre-Christmas weekend in York.
Exactly what you would expect of a Novotel establishment.
Room tight for four (2 adults/2 children) but perfectly serviceable.
Buffet breakfast won’t attract a Michelin star, but good selection of stuff and better than Novotel offerings elsewhere.
Very convenient for York city centre.

Room Tip: Top floor - facing river rather than car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsieurHulot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Good afternoon. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in one of our hotels in 2014! With all our best wishes for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

OK it's a corporate Hotel but it is well positioned to explore the City and extremely satisfactory in every aspect. The rooms are spacious and modern with good facilities, well heated and quiet. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a good choice of full English or Continental plus oodles of fresh fruit. The staff were welcoming and friendly both front of house and restaurant. Only slight niggle, no Radio 4 on the TV set and £10 per day to park. Didn't realise it had a pool so missed out on that. Would thoroughly recommend Novotel if they are all like this one.

Room Tip: For the full northern experience try the Wellington Inn Alma Terrace. A ten minute walk down the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CommodoreChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Good morning. Thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted you had a good stay and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our Novotels around the world. I would also like to send you our best wishes for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Enjoyed a great stay for 3 nights after Christmas visiting family in York. The location is great, parking is £10 a day and you can come and go as you please. It's a short walk into the centre of York (and parking is not cheap nor easy to come by in the centre of York). The reception staff are super friendly and efficient. We had breakfast included which was very good, again great service. The rooms all have a sofa bed so you can have two adults and up to two kids in each room and breakfast is free for under 16's (in fact the deal we had had breakfast included). We stayed here a few years ago and the rooms were getting a bit tired, but certainly the floor we were on had been fully refurbished and the room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We overlooked the river which was quiet, another poster mentioned it was noisier on the car park sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewlandsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Good morning and many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure welcoming you back and I am pleased you noticed some of the works which is happening in the hotel. We do aim to carry on and keep refurbishing whilst minimising the impct on our customers. I would like to wish you all the best for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £79 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing