We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family friendly hotel”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked this hotel as we wanted a hotel in York with a swimming pool and at a relatively good price. We paid just over £300 for 3 nights for a family of 4 (B&B) which we thought was decent value at that time of year. When we arrived we were shown to the room which was a bit small for 4 of us - the children had the sofa bed which basically took up most of the floor space of the double room so it was a bit cramped with all our luggage (also barely any storage space for clothes, etc). It was a modern room and bathroom but the toilet was separate and it was like something out of the 80s with woodchip on the walls and a very old loo! We think they were in the middle of modernising and hadn't got round to doing the loos yet as the family we were with had the same toilet issue!! In the end it was just a loo so it didn't detract from our stay.
The hotel is very family friendly in that they have a Wii console set up in the lobby so there are always families around and children interacting with each other, there is also a small alcove with toddler toys for the younger ones. Our children loved the Wii and would play on it on the way back from days out and after breakfast if we were still eating. The breakfasts were good and set us up for the day (plenty of choice). We also ate in one evening as the children were too tired to go out again. We chose the buffet which shut very early as they had to set up for breakfast - it was cheap though at £50 for a family of 4 and again, there was enough food for everyone to eat.
The location is good - about 10 minutes walk into the centre of York and around 15-20 minutes to the Minster. We didn't use the car the whole time we were there.
The pool is tiny, so the adults in our party didn't use it, but the children did and it was fine for a half-hour splash about. There's no loo in the pool area and limited changing so best to do all that in your room and come down in tracksuit bottoms and a t-shirt.
All in all I thought it really suited our needs, but if you are looking for a quiet, couple-orientated hotel then maybe it isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sickoftherain_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your in depth rview. It was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel and We all hope to seeing you again in th future. With all our best wishes for 2014.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    1,003
    473
    148
    85
See reviews for
899
929
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We normally use Hilton's but they sold out before we had an opportunity to book so choose the Novotel, unfortunately it cost slightly more than if we had made a decision earlier. The hotel is modern and easy to find off the main road from the York ring road. There is a open car park at the front that is charged at a reasonable £10 per night irrespective of number of hours. When we arrived late morning our room was not available, this was not a problem and we left our cases in the car. The receptionist was very helpful and gave us a map and directions into the city and the main sites. We spent the afternoon shopping and looking round the city.
We had a short wait to check in when we returned at about 5pm as there was only one member of staff on duty, she was not as helpful as the one earlier in the day and just presented us with our key cards with no explanation of breakfast times or other room facilities. We took the lift to our room on the fourth floor to the rear overlooking the river. We were pleasantly surprised, it was a good size with a king bed, settee and desk. Tea and coffee making facilities were available but only enough milk for a couple of cups. But there was free wifi and it was a reasonable speed.
The bath room was nicely designed with a hand shower plus a rain shower over the bath.
The room was clean but our one complaint was with the towels. One of the large bath towels had some rather unpleasant brown marks. On our way out to a restaurant we had booked in the evening we asked for it to be immediately replaced and this was completed when we returned later but no apology was given.
The buffet breakfast in the morning that was included In our rate was good with a wide selection that was constantly replenished. The staff were very efficient at clearing tables so much so that ours was cleared when we returned to the buffet to collect toast. It was equally quickly replenished with an apology.
Check out was very quick efficient.
We were pleased with our choice of hotel but did think we had paid more than we should have because of our late booking. The hotel is very well situated for visiting the city, only 5 minutes to Clifford Tower and another 5 to the shops. Not sure if we would return, it would depend what other hotels are available and the rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Good afternoon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had a good stay and have shared your comments with the teams so that we can improve on the points you raised. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Visited York for 2 days with the family. York doesn't have many good hotels, and they are often overpriced due to this. The novotel is a good option for families with a pool and all rooms accommodating 4 people. We booked a month or so in advance so got room only for around £76 per night. Clean, functional hotel, ideal for families. Witherspoons only 150yrds away if you want a cheaper breakfast, but by booking in advance you can get it in the hotel for £10 each with kid eating free. Parking is £10 per 24hrs which is similar to other central areas and is secure. Overall very good family break location. Book at least 21 days in advance for deals.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kikidee1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Good morning. Thank you for your review. I am delighted you had a good stay and can confirm that promotional rates are available up to 21 days before the date of arrival. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back. Wishing you all the best for 2014.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBYSHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

First of all, the hotel is situated in an ideal place, it's down a little roadway and doesn't stand out on the road. Walking to town turn left as you walk out the drive and within five minutes you have weatherspoons, short distance from there is the museum, castle and within a ten minute walk you can be at York dungeons. York Minster is a bit of a walk, but about 15-20 so all the attractions are accessible within walking distance. All the attractions are In the cityby the shops.
You have to pay for parking which disappointed me considering the cost of our room per night. The hotel is nice, however I do not feel its worth the money we paid. Old fashioned rooms, toilet separate from the bathroom but old fashioned decor yet more modern bathroom, a strange mix. Noise travels, we could hear people in the room next door and I've nothing against families, but the hotel had loads of children which is fine if you remind the kids there are other guests and shouting and banging is not acceptable between certain hours, I accept they have to have fun but think that can happen at a more reasonable hour eg after 8am and before 9pm.
The menu is very expensive, we didn't eat here because of the cost.
An enjoyable stay all in all. I always say its personal preferance, but I would only stay at Novotel again if it was cheaper and a price on par with Travelodge.
I would not class this as any better standard than a Travelodge.
Staff are lovely, beds and pillows very comfy, Tv in the room. I've stayed in other hotels where the cleaning was slightly better, I could feel bits on the floor for the days I stayed there as though it had not been vacuumed and towels were not replaced despite placing one to be replaced on two days because it was dirty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Good morning and thank you for your comments. I have shared your review with the whole team and will take some of your points into consideration as we do aim to continuously improve on our service delivery. Thank you once again. Wishing you all the best for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Pre-Christmas weekend in York.
Exactly what you would expect of a Novotel establishment.
Room tight for four (2 adults/2 children) but perfectly serviceable.
Buffet breakfast won’t attract a Michelin star, but good selection of stuff and better than Novotel offerings elsewhere.
Very convenient for York city centre.

Room Tip: Top floor - facing river rather than car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsieurHulot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Good afternoon. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in one of our hotels in 2014! With all our best wishes for the New Year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,758 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing