We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT go here if you don't have children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do NOT go here if you don't have children”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel is perfect for people who have children but have NO interest in looking after them. Children were running around the breakfast room, and screaming and shouting when they were at table. The 'bar' area is no more than a children's play area with a bar counter at the side. Children were running around and shouting at all hours - even at 11pm when we got back from dinner (certainly not eaten in the hotel - wouldn't risk it!). We thought the child in the next room was actually being murdererd at 7 am one morning by the man who considered bellowing at full volume was a good way to stop it screaming. I know Novotels are 'family friendly' but certainly a disaster for all other guests. I will NEVER stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Good morning and thank you for your feedback. I am obviously disappointed to read you experience was affected by the number of children around. It is true that during half terms the hotel can get busy with children. However, it is back to normal the rest of the year. I hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    997
    469
    147
    84
See reviews for
897
918
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night in a double room with my partner. Extremely impressed. Staff cheerful and extremely helpful. Nice size rooms and a fabulous two headed shower with 3 settings. Stayed in there for aaaages! Clean both in hotel itself and in room. Smell of new carpet on floor 1. !! Nice n fresh. Flat lcd tv and lead supplied to plug tabler phone or mp3 in to play your music through tv. Hotel also has swimming pool (small but ample) for free use and loungers round the pool. Would definately stay here again. Paid less than fifty pound per room per night. Which other hotel offers this in York for the same price!? Perfect.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank suggs108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Good morning. I am very pleased to read you had a good time whilst staying with us. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated. We are all looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed on a Saturday eve. Arrived early and was able to get straight into rooms.
Ideally situated for a short walk into the City centre.
Excellent choices for breakfast in a nice breakfast room.
We were able to get tea and coffee served in the reception area as we waited for members of our party to arrive for breakfast.
Would def go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overnyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Good afternoon and thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted to read you a had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel as per your requirements. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We chose the hotel due the the pool and visiting with our 22 month old son. From arriving all the staff were top class and could not be more attentive and friendly. Initially our room only had a shower but reception were really helpful and changed our room to one with a bath without hesitation. The pool was small but ideal for a splash around but not if your after some serious exercise. The breakfast was extensive for a standard hotel and everything we had was hot and fresh. Rooms were large with a sitting area and desk. The WC was also separate from the main bathroom which again has benefits. If you have young children in your party I doubt there is a better hotel in York. The city centre/Shambles area was about a 10 minute stroll away. Well done Novotel York, we will be back in the future.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank worldwiderover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review.I have shared your comments with the team and we are all very pleased to read you would consider us again for your next visit. Thank you.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

quick and easy check in and friendly staff. The lady with the purple hair was especially helpful (thank you lady with purple hair). I couldn't get the broadband to work (plug in internet their wireless was easy) but I doubt many people need this.

breakfast was a bit expensive but very nice. the room was a good size, the only thing was the wardrobe was behind the door so was difficult to get into and it was small. not enough room for 2 adults for more than a few days. I did have a sofa and large desk though so the rest of the room was nice.

I like that there was room in the fridge to store my own things but I thought £2.50 for a bottle of water was a bit cheeky really.

I was also given complimentary parking which was appreciated.

Over all an easy place to stay, has everything you need and is close to town without the town centre parking problem, free wireless internet and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: avoid the front as you can hear the cars early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller84Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Good morning and thank you for your review. I have passed on your comments to Catherine (the lady with the purple hair). she was very pleased to read she made a difference to your stay. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,775 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing