We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the novotel hotel on the 31st jan and what a lovely hotel this is staff are very welcoming and pleasent when my husband rang down to reception to say we where cold in our room only due to being shopping in york center on a very iciy rainy day the staff came within mins to our room with a heater.the room was spacious red hotwater for our bath and the bed was so comfy the pool was lovely and warm we love york and will deffinatly stay again at the novotel hotel thank you everyone for our lovely stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sasire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Good morning. Thank you very much for your kind comments. I have shared them with the team and we are all pleased to read you had a good time despite the cold weather! We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and to the beautiful city of York.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    1,010
    476
    149
    86
See reviews for
911
934
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just stayed there for my 50th birthday (2rooms).. rooms not a bad size but bathroom small and not much hanging space. This morning there was no hot water.
- I had been given a bottle of champagne by my son which we were going to drink watching the game on the big screen yesterday but were told we couldn't...We then bought drinks in reception but these were very expensive.
Also I agree with the comment about the mini bar - there was only water in there so assumed it was complimentary..sadly not, £2.50 for a small bottle ...excessive. There was a notice but very hard to read.
Note on here that many people were able to check in early..again although I didn't try to check in until about 1.00- was unable to...this would really have helped as my elderly mother was with me.
Positive - the breakfast was good.
Not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sultanabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Good morning and thank you for your comments. I have had a chance to review your feedback and have taken note of your comments. I would personally apologise for the lack of hot water on Monday morning due to a technical issue. I am also sorry to notice you were not able to book in before the usual 2.00pm check in time. We do our utmost to clean the rooms as fast as possible to give early access but were not able to do so on this instance. I also hope you will understand we are not in a position to authorise our guests to bring their own drinks into our bar. Thank you very much for your review.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned from a weekend, but used to live in the next street so know the area. This hotel is ideally placed for exploring York Centre and the rooms a re a reasonable size and clean. When I have stayed in Novotel hotels elsewhere the quality of the furniture, carpets etc seemed better. Some plumbing faults were rectified after a couple of hours, but no apologies. York is a great place to visit and this hotel is on the river, on the southern edge of the centre25 minutes walk from the station. It should be spruced up. There is a good choice of hotels in York - this is in the middle of the pile - average value for money - you should be comfortable there but not wowed !

Room Tip: The rooms high up at the back will give you a good view of the rivers Ouse and Foss, over the flooed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Good morning and many thanks for your review. I have had a chance to review your comments with the team and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to York. Thank you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very nice (executive) room and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The menu in the restaurant is very limited and overpriced and I would advice not bothering with the £14 per head breakfast when there is a very new Weatherspoon's round the corner located under the travel lodge hotel.
Children stay for free so there were a lot of kids running round. If you are looking for a hotel with a decent pool then this is defiantly not the the hotel for you, it is very small and bit pointless to be honest. The car park is £10 per night, however, the hotel is only 5 minute walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warriorjim79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Good morning and many thanks for your review. I am pleased to read you found our team to be friendly and helpful. I am slightly disappointed about your disatisfaction about the price of breakfast, We do have lots of packages including breakfast which are great value for money taking into account the extend of our buffet on offer. With regards to the pool, it is 13m long by 6 m width. Thank you once again for your valuable comments. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and found it ideally located and well equipped. I've stayed in a number of novotels but this one whilst comfortable is just a little tired in the bedrooms. The service was excellent and the staff couldn't be more helpful. I would stay again

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank noodle1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Good morning and many thanks for your honest feedback. I would also like to thank you for using Novotels when travelling. I have noted your comments and would like to take this opportunity to confirm that we will carry on with our bedroom refurbishment in 2014. I am also delighted you found our team to be very helpful. Your review has been shared with the team. Thank you once again for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff were incredibly friendly & helpful. In our party we had my folks in 1 room, cousins in another, and my husband and our 1-yr-old in our room. Every effort was made to welcome us during our stay. I was also very impressed with all the kid-friendly things in the lobby. The beds aren't great - but for the price, location and the indoor pool - we were very pleased.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for your review. I am very pleased you and your party had a good time and enjoyed your stay in York. I will certainly share your comments with the team as I am sure they will appreciate the praise. Thank you once again and I do hope we will have the pleasure to seeing you again in the future.

with kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is splendidly placed to explore York, being a mere 5-10 minute walk from the historic town centre.
The staff , without exeption, could not be faulted!
Attentive without being intrusive... Nothing too much trouble!
The room wad of a good size with room to work and a sofabed all of which made our stay really good.
The reastaurant was exceptional in quality and value, & the hot & cold buffet breakfast left nothing to be desired. The small pool looked spotless and had lots of people with smiles on their faces... What more could you ask!
The only downside to our stay was students in the next room partying from 4pm... This was promptly and politely dealt with by the staff, who insisted on adjusting our bill by a reasonable margin.
This episode was obviously beyond the hotels screening process and was dealt with very professionally.
We will be back. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regattaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Good morning anf many thanks for your kind words. I have shared them with the team and we are all very pleased to read you would consider staying with us next time you visit York. we are all looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,805 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing