We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hoel wasted with expensive breakfasts and parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    959
    449
    139
    80
See reviews for
850
889
60
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here Nov 13 booked a wheelchair accessible room nice room but bathroom didnt have a wet room , had to ask for a bath seat . Food was good and catered for gluten free diets . Good location Within easy walking distance of city centre

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Good afternoon. Many thanks for your kind review. I am very pleased you had a good stay back in November and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to York and our hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014. Friendly staff put me in a room above construction work (room beneath us was being refurbished) - noise started at 8.45 am, was very loud. When I complained the staff argued with me whether it had started at 8.45 or 9am. Staff offered to move us to room 2 floors away from the noise - but by then I'd been woken up and my chilled out morning crashed. Then offered to 'do something for me' - which they didn't. Toilet in the room smelt of sewage. Breakfast room floor was sticky. Other customers were arguing with staff on way out about being charged even though they were unhappy - staff told them you're still being charged full price. I wouldn't stay here again - far nicer hotels just as close to town without the grief.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Good morning. I am very sorry to read your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. It is true we had a refurbishment programme in place with our contractors starting works from 9.00am up until 5.00pm to minimise disruption to our guests. these works have now been completed. I am obviously sorry to read it did affect your stay as you had planned to relax. Please accept my sincere apologies. I have also passed on your comments to our restaurant manager with regards to the floor being sticky during the service. I can imagine there must have been some kind of spillage during the service itself. Thank you for sharing these with me as it will give us an opportunity to further improve.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

On the pro side it's an easy 10 mins walk into York centre, there are a few restaurants and pubs much closer to eat out in; it has a nice pool... And the staff were quick to respond when asked for help....But that's about it.

It's expensive for the standard of room - shabby and aged now; hotel parking is ridiculous if leaving your car there for 24 hours while you walk about town; we had to move rooms as the bathroom was inaccessible due to an overhead work hatch being left hanging down; hotel provided cot was ripped and dirty (sheets clean but had to pad with towels as the frame was digging through the broken base); not a great deal of soundproofing so if you can hear next doors kids scream they can hear yours too. If not in package then breakfast is overpriced, local pub is half the price - so walk for it instead. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KaosSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Good morning and many thanks for your review. I am sorry to read you would not use us again and have taken your comments on board. I have asked for all our cots to be inspected as soon as your other survey you filled in came back to us. Please rest assured that cots not suitable will be removed if found. I have also taken on board your other comments. Thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall, Room was first class, Evening meal very good, staff friendly and
helpful, Good location to centre, Almost perfect,but really good !!!!.A great city with lots to see, and a wonderful hotel which both compliment each other.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank leonardo311044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Good morning. Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I have shared them with the team and we are all pleased you had a great time whilst visiting our beautiful city. We all hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to York as there is so much to do all year round. Many thanks once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

got all that was expected, ideally located (for our requirements) staff friendly enough, rooms alright spacious, beds comfortable enough, was very hungover at breakfast, so cant really comment but i did eat it all, cant comment on value, as room was paid for by a friend, would stay again if in area, if it was cheap enough,
sadly no wow factor or lasting impression made

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good morning. Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you came away satisfied and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel. Wishing you all the best.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
812 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stay quite often in Accor group hotels, but this was our first at this Novotel. It is on the edge of the city, though reached fairly easily by bus 44 from Railway Station and 15 mins walk from the shopping streets.
Overall impression was of a good mid-range hotel. Friendly reception on arrival and on check out. We had room 129 overlooking the entrance drive in, which had standard Novotel double bed and convertible settee. We used both and found them comfortable.
Bathroom had a walk in shower which functioned in a straightforward manner, but had no soap dish or anywhere to put shower gel/shampoo. Getting in and out required care, as only the towel rail to hang onto.
Complimentary water in small fridge.
TV selections included no news chanels or any non-UK ones as far as I could find. Bearing in mind the number of foreign visitors in York, this omission seems a trick missed.
Breakfast was basic. Only sliced bread (unless you waited for crusty baguettes to be defrosted) and mostly tinned fruit (why oranges from a tin these days?) and only plastic-wrapped cheeses. We can do much better than this!
We paid £129 for the one night. Fair value.

Room Tip: Double glazing meant front-facing rooms were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good morning and many thanks for your comments. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I am however slightly surprised at your comments with regards to breakfast and will investigate them further. It is true we do provide some tinned fruits but also we do have a fresh fruit basket. With regards to bread, we do also provide baguettes and bagels on top of the selection of sliced breads. Once again, I will investigate your review and check if it was temporarely out on the buffet. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we do hope to see you again soon in one of our properties.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing