We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very friendly helpful and courteous staff, rooms clean and well tended. Pool a bit small but fine for kids.
Food plentiful. Excellent position for exploring the city, close to river with spendid walks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your comments. I will pass it on to our teams. We all hope to see you again very soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Very convenient to York city centre.
Decent rooms.
The buffet dinner offer in the hotel restaurant is very disappointing (although children making own pizza and chocolate fountain was a hit for them).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Good morning and thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that the children made the most of our pizza making station and chocolate fountain. I will also share your comments with our Food and Beverage Team with regards to the buffet. Please do not hesitate to contact me on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com should you wish to give me more details giving us the opportunity to better investigate. Thank you once again and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here Nov 13 booked a wheelchair accessible room nice room but bathroom didnt have a wet room , had to ask for a bath seat . Food was good and catered for gluten free diets . Good location Within easy walking distance of city centre

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Good afternoon. Many thanks for your kind review. I am very pleased you had a good stay back in November and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to York and our hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014. Friendly staff put me in a room above construction work (room beneath us was being refurbished) - noise started at 8.45 am, was very loud. When I complained the staff argued with me whether it had started at 8.45 or 9am. Staff offered to move us to room 2 floors away from the noise - but by then I'd been woken up and my chilled out morning crashed. Then offered to 'do something for me' - which they didn't. Toilet in the room smelt of sewage. Breakfast room floor was sticky. Other customers were arguing with staff on way out about being charged even though they were unhappy - staff told them you're still being charged full price. I wouldn't stay here again - far nicer hotels just as close to town without the grief.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Good morning. I am very sorry to read your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. It is true we had a refurbishment programme in place with our contractors starting works from 9.00am up until 5.00pm to minimise disruption to our guests. these works have now been completed. I am obviously sorry to read it did affect your stay as you had planned to relax. Please accept my sincere apologies. I have also passed on your comments to our restaurant manager with regards to the floor being sticky during the service. I can imagine there must have been some kind of spillage during the service itself. Thank you for sharing these with me as it will give us an opportunity to further improve.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

On the pro side it's an easy 10 mins walk into York centre, there are a few restaurants and pubs much closer to eat out in; it has a nice pool... And the staff were quick to respond when asked for help....But that's about it.

It's expensive for the standard of room - shabby and aged now; hotel parking is ridiculous if leaving your car there for 24 hours while you walk about town; we had to move rooms as the bathroom was inaccessible due to an overhead work hatch being left hanging down; hotel provided cot was ripped and dirty (sheets clean but had to pad with towels as the frame was digging through the broken base); not a great deal of soundproofing so if you can hear next doors kids scream they can hear yours too. If not in package then breakfast is overpriced, local pub is half the price - so walk for it instead. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank KaosSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Good morning and many thanks for your review. I am sorry to read you would not use us again and have taken your comments on board. I have asked for all our cots to be inspected as soon as your other survey you filled in came back to us. Please rest assured that cots not suitable will be removed if found. I have also taken on board your other comments. Thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,949 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £69 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing