We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Went for the night to his hotel with our two young children. The staff were so nice and couldn't be more helpful! They put on the wii console and the X box kinect for our son and there were plenty of toys for our daughter. Still, the hotel reception was quiet and comfortable. The room was immaculate and we had the best nights sleep in the queen size bed. Great views from the room and breakfast was out of this world. Everything you could imagine and you just help yourself to whatever you want.
Perfect stay. Will be revisiting again!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Good morning. Thank you so much for your comments. I am pleased the whole family had a good stay. I will certainly pass on your review to the team. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    1,010
    476
    150
    86
See reviews for
912
935
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhos On Sea
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here last month with my wife and 11 year old son. Clean and tidy hotel with a decent all you can eat buffet breakfast. Only critisism of that is that they ran out quickly so you had to wait for the food to be replenished. Pool ok but not the biggest, could do with a larger one with a separate jacuzzi. Rooms were nice and spacious with good facilities. Good area at the reception for the kids. Free wifi and game stations. We didnt eat at the restaurant as we thought it was a little pricey (as hotels usually are) There is a weatherspoons down the road so we went there instead. Good location for town centre as it was only 5 minutes walk. Would stay there if i visited York again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubsfawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you would consider using us again when you next come to York. The team and I are lookin forward to seeing you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great staff and service and nice foyer area. Paid £109 a nite for 3 nites in a superior room. I would hate to see a standard one. The rooms are tatty, basic and sparse, certainly not what you expect of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Good morning and thank you for your honest feedback. I am very pleased you found our staff to be great and will certainly share your views with them. I have also taken note of your suggestions. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in hotel on 2nd and 3rd may with my two daughters and wife and sister in law from Canada .
Staff very helpful and hotel room nice and clean , breakfast was nice to if you go for it early as its self service .
Swimming pool was nice but it was cold as my daughters told me .
A great hotel for family's but if you are not children minded it might not be the place for you .

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for taking the time to write a comment following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read you had a good stay with your family and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future. thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel has a really nice lobby, and our room was quite nice. The only problem was the separate room for the toilet. This toilet room looked really old and made me feel I was on an school trip to an old guest house, and not a hotel we payed quite a lot for. We had looked forward to using the swimming pool. This was a mistake. The water was ice cold and we couldn't see the bottom because of all the dirt. There were hairs and other things floating around. In addition, there was a group of kids jumping from the edge and made a lot of noise. Kids should have fun, but it went a bit far when they also started taking the chair mattresses into the water - these were not water tight, and I guess they got a nice wash (they had a parent watching, but she didn't care). It could be an idea with a hotel responsible checking in from time to time. Our stay improved when we got very nice service on the last night. The receptionist was very helpful and let us print out our boarding cards for our flight the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Good morning. Many thanks for your review as it will be invaluable in assisting us to keep improving on our service delivery. I would like to apologise for the state of the pool and will investigate further. We are aware the water got cloudy for a small period of time but all our readings were fine. I will however reiterate your comments to our reception team so that we can better manage children through a better understanding of their parents. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for birthday break which was great but on last day decided to have breakfast, bad decision!! The cooked breakfast was swimming in fat & cold. The toaster wasnt working properly & had to stand in a queue to get a pale looking piece of toast. The previous days we had eaten out in York centre & had much better quality food at a far more reasonable price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jm3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Good afternoon. Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to read you had a good stay but am disappointed to read about your experience at breakfast. We do usually pride ourselves on our high quality breakfast. I will certainly review your comments with our Head Chef to ensure this was a one off. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention giving me the opportunity to take the necessary steps. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back though.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,812 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing