We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, Adequate location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our first trip to beautiful York. The city itself didn't disappoint but the hotel room was average. For £110 a night and "four star"
The rooms were quite basic, Tv, Bed, Desk. That's it. The foyer and fasciitis were very modern and excellently presented but the rooms, especially the dated toilet, was disappointing. The whole place "reeked" of being cheaply decorated, lack a quality finish in my opinion. The room did serve it's purpose, a place to sleep but that's it. It is also a fair walk to the strand an such too, not very central. Parking is an issue in York and it was very good here though. Average hotel, average stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. Your comments have been noted and will be taken into account.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in York. Hotel good and comfortable.

Good points close to centre 10 minutes walk, room good, breakfast excellent.
Bad coffee machine did not work, milk not replaced for tea on a daily basis.
Toasted cheese and ham sandwich from bar snack was very poor. It has been in a toaster but was not the slightest toasted and barely hot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good morning. Thank you for your comments. they will be helpful in assisting us improving on our service delivery. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for one night in October and couldn't fault it. The hotel is beautiful, the room was ideal and the location was perfect to walk into town and sample a few of the many bars and pubs. Me and my boyfriend couldn't fault the place. Would definitely return if we are visiting York again in the near future

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Good morning. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted you had a good time and am looking forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The weekend of the 22nd march we were at the Novotel York for my partners birthday
the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel was nice but the bar lounge area didn't have a atmosphere the breakfast was lovely as was dinner the dinner was a bit pricey for what I was.
The room was clean but no bath I like a bath in my hotel room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7263Sandy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Good morning and thank you for your comments. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Should you stay with us again, please do contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com and I will ensure you do get a room with a bath this time around. Thank you once again and I wish you what looks like a nice sunny weekend.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Went for the night to his hotel with our two young children. The staff were so nice and couldn't be more helpful! They put on the wii console and the X box kinect for our son and there were plenty of toys for our daughter. Still, the hotel reception was quiet and comfortable. The room was immaculate and we had the best nights sleep in the queen size bed. Great views from the room and breakfast was out of this world. Everything you could imagine and you just help yourself to whatever you want.
Perfect stay. Will be revisiting again!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Good morning. Thank you so much for your comments. I am pleased the whole family had a good stay. I will certainly pass on your review to the team. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here last month with my wife and 11 year old son. Clean and tidy hotel with a decent all you can eat buffet breakfast. Only critisism of that is that they ran out quickly so you had to wait for the food to be replenished. Pool ok but not the biggest, could do with a larger one with a separate jacuzzi. Rooms were nice and spacious with good facilities. Good area at the reception for the kids. Free wifi and game stations. We didnt eat at the restaurant as we thought it was a little pricey (as hotels usually are) There is a weatherspoons down the road so we went there instead. Good location for town centre as it was only 5 minutes walk. Would stay there if i visited York again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubsfawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you would consider using us again when you next come to York. The team and I are lookin forward to seeing you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#30 of 47 in York
1,908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £62 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing