We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great breakfast, lovely clean modern hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked the hotel as part of a hen do package, and it certainly exceeded our expectations! What a great hotel. The staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly! The rooms were great, with extremely comfortable beds, and the hotel was modern and really clean. The only criticism would be that there was no aircn so it was quite hot, but apart from that it really was great! Would definitely book again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha200913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good morning and thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you had a good weekend with us and hope you made the most out of it! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome back some of your group at a later stage. Wishing you all the best.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Why no aircon??? As prior reviews window only opens an inch or so.Our decent room was like a sauna the only option was to suffer the taxi noises with the window open (just).Hotel would have got a better score apart from this significant problem.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank darbysth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good morning and thank you for your review. I am sorry to read your stay was impacted due to the hot weather we experienced recently. We have commissioned a company to have a look at our air cooling systems and see if we could improve on their efficiency. I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and I hope this will not deter you from using us again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with the kids.

Good points:- fairly clean, comfortable beds, friendly receptionists, pretty good breakfast, nice pool (but small).

Bad points:- not enough lifts meant long waits, had to wait a long time for a receptionist to be free both at check in and check out, sound insulation between rooms and corridors was not good, so lots of noises as people banged about in the corridor. We booked as a family of 4 but they only left towels for 3 and no extra bedding. Pool too busy. Car park really expensive at £11 for 1 car overnight.

Basically it felt too busy for the size of its facilities (pool,reception,lift).

Our toddler was crying as she was so frustrated at the long wait to check in and the nice receptionist gave her a little toy leopard which helped a lot.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Harriet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good afternoon. Thank you very much for your comments. I am pleases to read you found the hotel to be good and taken note of your comments with regards on how busy did hotel can get. I hope this will not deter you from using us again. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank YorkshireShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here on 16 May for the races. We have been before and had no issues, ideal for what we needed. The weather was great, the downside to that was the room was red hot at night, so we had a poor nights sleep and like a previous reviewer said the window opens 4 inches. I complained that we had Mosquitos splattered on the wall, ceiling and curtains, which I was told would be dealt with immediately. We returned at 18.30 to find no one had been in to the room, very disappointing to find the room in that state anyway, but to totally ignore the complaint is unforgivable. We were rushing out for a meal to meet other members of the party so just left it. The separate wc is just not on either, no wash basin in there either, totally unhygienic and it was grubby. The breakfast is fantastic but other than that very disappointed, not 4 star.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJPWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good morning. I am disappointed to read your query was not handled efficiently and have shared your concerns with the teams. Please rest assured your comments have been taken very seriously. With regards to the design of the room, I have taken your points into consideration but am limited with what I can do as the rooms have been laid this way since the opening of the hotel. I however hope we will have the pleasure to seeing you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the Barbican.

The room was tired looking and did not have air-conditioning. As a result, we had a terrible night's sleep. The window would only open 4 inches and the room was like an oven.

To add insult to injury, we had to pay £11 to park the car overnight.

The hotel is well situated, but in this day and age, one expects at least basic amenities.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good morning and many thanks for your review. I am very disappointed to read your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion and would like to personally apologise. I would however want to thank you for bringing this to my attention.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our first trip to beautiful York. The city itself didn't disappoint but the hotel room was average. For £110 a night and "four star"
The rooms were quite basic, Tv, Bed, Desk. That's it. The foyer and fasciitis were very modern and excellently presented but the rooms, especially the dated toilet, was disappointing. The whole place "reeked" of being cheaply decorated, lack a quality finish in my opinion. The room did serve it's purpose, a place to sleep but that's it. It is also a fair walk to the strand an such too, not very central. Parking is an issue in York and it was very good here though. Average hotel, average stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. Your comments have been noted and will be taken into account.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £79 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing