We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel , so near the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

worth the money central to York good for families,,nothing else to say. only thing about the hotel is in a residential area , hotel is in a cul de sac , one way in one way out , car park is on the leff near barrier card to get in and out also watch for coaches and taxis , also not far from York outlet centre , plenty bus,s ot get around , taxi expensive

Room Tip: 15 minutes from York railway station ,at a steady pace, u can walk the wall all the way down from st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianc245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Wishing you a great summer!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a fantastic long weekend here at the Novotel in York. The staff were excellent - all very friendly and helpful, without exception. The location is fantastic, and you can easily walk into the centre of York in just 5-10mins. I would highly recommend the executive rooms - we really appreciated the Nespresso machine and the wonderful bathroom, plus the small fridge and complimentary mineral water (replenished daily). The hotel was also very accommodating of young families, with lots of play equipment in the reception/bar area (including a Wii), and the opportunity for children to make their own pizza in the restaurant at tea time - something which my nephews loved! There was a good selection at breakfast time, although it has to be said that the cooked breakfast could've been better (hard bacon, and lots of grease on everything) - our only, small complaint. All in all, a fantastic weekend - we would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good morning. Thank you very much for your comments. I have shared them with the team and we are all very pleased you had a good time. I have also personally shared your point with our head chef with regards to breakfast. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Room Tip: the room we stayed was perfect for our family and had plenty of room and everything we required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the no vote l york for 2 nights with 2 young children and had a brilliant time. friendly staff who went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. room was comfy bed exceptionally comfy....breakfast out of this world....swimming pool small but clean and warm enough for us. toys and wii in reception if that's your thing. nothing bad to say!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good afternoon. Thank you very much for your feedback. I am extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team to be helpful. I will certainly share your comments with them. I hope we will have the pleasure to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely, friendly staff who made our grandchildren feel welcome. Nice facilities for the kids also, they enjoyed the pool. Not to badly located, a 10 minute walk to the heart of the city.
The prices in the bar are a bit too expensive though and the decor a tad dated!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good morning and thank you for your review. I am pleased to read your granchildren enjoyed their stay with us and have taken note of your comments. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to York.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent 3 days in the hotel in early May 2014 with friends.

Centrally located, the rooms and public spaces were spotless. Staff friendly, and a well stocked breakfast. Swimming pool in hotel, though did not use it.

Cannot find any negative points.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidaitken82016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good afternoon. I just wanted to thank you for your review. It is much appreciated and they will be shared with the team. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for another short break in the near future and would like to take this opportunity to wish you a very good summer.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We've stayed in this hotel several times with our boys. It's an ideal location, as it's only a 15 min walk into the centre of York. It's been several years since our last visit and we were pleased to see some refurbishments.
So plus points first - clean room, very comfy bed for us and decent sofa bed for the lads. Extra pillows and mugs, tea bags arrived when requested from reception. Excellent breakfast buffet in the morning.
Negatives - very hot & stuffy ( but we set room dial to the snowflake setting and room cooled down). Worst bit last - pool was SO cold. Really cold. We couldn't swim in it ( on snowflake setting too, I wonder?). Hubby swims regularly in local council pool and this was colder. I did mention it to the lady on reception but " no one else has said anything" Hmm, must be us being namby pamby then ! All things considered not sure we'd book again. If there's a pool we like to be able to use it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJC910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good afternoon and many thanks for your comments and for using us again. I am obviously disappointed to read you found the water to be very cold in the bedroom and can assure you that tests have been carried out to ensure there was no problem with our heating systems. I would also like to apologise for the response you got from our team at the reception desk. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,887 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £59 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing