We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping weekend in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shopping weekend in York”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My girl friends and I have stayed here for the last 4 years on our annual pilgrimage to York. It is such a friendly hotel, they accommodate our request for adjoining rooms, champagne glasses and ice buckets with ice, nothing is too much trouble, which is why we keep going back. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from shops, restaurants, the river and the walls, parking is free and the breakfast is very good. Breakfast is served until 11 am which allows us to have a long chat over lots of coffee before hitting the shops!

Room Tip: A room round the back that overlooks the river is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Good morning and many thanks for your repeat custom and comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visis to York and made the most of your shopping weekend. I will certainly share your review with the team and we all hope to see you again next year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    997
    469
    147
    84
See reviews for
897
919
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
309 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed in about 8 hotels in the past 2 weeks and this was one of the nicest. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were large, modern, clean, bright, and stocked with soaps and shampoos etc.

Restaraunt was excellent. It is only a 10 or 15 minute walk to downtown and the old city which is a must to see.

Internet service was one of the best I have found in a hotel....nice Apple P's and good wi fi.
All that a hotel should be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I am delighted to read all went well during your stay and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here with my 15 yr old last night ,the room which is described as superior queen was quite basic and extremely warn (Premier Inn are far better),it was difficult to sleep in such warmth,we had the window open but they have security locks on them which only allows them to open about 4 inches.........we were then woken by a domestic situation in the room next door @ 5.45 ,the hotel night security acted appropriately and the offenders were removed via the Police.
The breakfast was good,the staff altho polite ,had no personality apart from the girl who checked us in .
When i asked at reception if they had a customer comments form ,i was informed no and i would receive an email from Novotel,i informed the receptionist that i was not happy about the fracas that had gone on,the receptionist didn't appear very apologetic or sincere.
I really feel on this occasion that i have stayed in a motel rather than the 4 star booking .com claim this Hotel to be .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassaragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Good morning and thank you for your review on both Tripadvisor and through our own online satisfaction survey. I will share your review with the team and would like to apologise for the noise which occured in the room next door to yours at the early hours of the morning. I understand from the police and our own reports that the situation was handled well and the guests were removed quickly from the premises.Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip last night & have no complaints but just felt there was something missing! Finally worked out its the customer service. Although the staff aren't rude, it just feels you're a number & a bit faceless!

The rooms are great; very clean & spacious & modern touch is great.

We were there on a hot day & rooms plus corridors were roasting. I didn't get a fan for my room which was on offer but even thought if there was aircon in corridors this would have helped.

I wouldn't put anyone off staying in this hotel as it is fine but just lacked that oomph from staff

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EmmaD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Good morning. Many thanks for your comments. I have had the chance to review your feedback with the team this morning as I am very surprised to read you did not feel the service was personal enough. We do pride ourselves in offering such service and I can assure you that we will use your review to ensure this happening continuously. Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to put it right.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,777 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing