We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novetel-York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently spent one night at this hotel as part of a tour. Upon check-in we discovered that the room had one bed and a fold-out sofa. As we are two adult friends traveling together, this was not acceptable. We were told by management that all Novetel hotels were configured this way. However, this is a complete lie has we stayed in a Novetel in another city and had two beds. Manager on duty was rude and very condescending; he only made excuses and offered no viable solution. The whole experience left us feeling very unappreciated. Room and dining area were extremely hot. Group of people were exercising outside dining room windows--not an appetizing view! Don't understand having the toilet in a completely separate room--might make sense if there was a small sink next to toilet! Don't know if we will ever get the chance to return to York, but if we do, we will stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itraveleurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Good morning and many thanks for your review. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. I can confirm that the vast majority of Novotels will not provide twin bedded rooms in the UK and only a few rooms will be available with that set up in some cities. The reason why we could not offer alternatives on that night was due to the hotel being full. I am sorry you felt the manager on duty was rude and am honestly extremely surprised as this would be very much out of character. With regards to the fitness class which took place at the far end of the terrace, I would like to apologise if it was a disturbance to you.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 2,477 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night. Free and great wifi. Room was very clean. Dinner in hotel was pretty good except my chicken was dry. Manager came by table and he applozized. We were well satisfied. They have an indoor pool that was a welcome change.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank johng88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write a comment. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back.

Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My girl friends and I have stayed here for the last 4 years on our annual pilgrimage to York. It is such a friendly hotel, they accommodate our request for adjoining rooms, champagne glasses and ice buckets with ice, nothing is too much trouble, which is why we keep going back. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from shops, restaurants, the river and the walls, parking is free and the breakfast is very good. Breakfast is served until 11 am which allows us to have a long chat over lots of coffee before hitting the shops!

Room Tip: A room round the back that overlooks the river is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Good morning and many thanks for your repeat custom and comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visis to York and made the most of your shopping weekend. I will certainly share your review with the team and we all hope to see you again next year.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed in about 8 hotels in the past 2 weeks and this was one of the nicest. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were large, modern, clean, bright, and stocked with soaps and shampoos etc.

Restaraunt was excellent. It is only a 10 or 15 minute walk to downtown and the old city which is a must to see.

Internet service was one of the best I have found in a hotel....nice Apple P's and good wi fi.
All that a hotel should be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I am delighted to read all went well during your stay and hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank richardperkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank clarajane2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £82 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing