We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room, poor standard of cleanliness, friendly staff but will not book it again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fraserburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty room, poor standard of cleanliness, friendly staff but will not book it again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

It is not often that I feel the need to complain but I was left with no choice when I checked into the Novotel in York. I could not believe how dirty the room was and can honestly say that I have never experienced this before in a 4 star hotel. The blanket on my sons bed was dirty, there was cobwebs hanging from every corner in the room, the curtains and the screens on the window were dirty and on top of the picture frame was thick with dust which was actually floating down onto the bed. The room was tired looking and in need of a lick of paint but that was no excuse for the dire standard of cleanliness. I informed the receptionist of my concerns and the dirty blanket was changed and cobwebs removed when we returned later in the day. One of the reasons we booked the hotel was because it had a swimming pool but we only used it once as the cleanliness also appeared dubious. In the room the toilet was located in a different room from the basin, shower and bath which to us appeared a very peculiar arrangement as once we had used the
toilet we had to go to another area to wash our hands. The hotel is situated in a good location and is a short walk from the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was decent However, we always book a 4 star hotel when travelling and we really felt that the Novotel was not good value for money and due to the very poor standard of cleanliness we will not be using it again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanBFraserburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good morning. Thank you very much for your honest feedback. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies for the cleanliness levels in your room. It is certainly not a true reflection of our usual high standards but it seems we have just had a rather unusual period on this front. Please rest assured the issues have now been dealt with. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com should you decide to visit York again and I will be more than happy to personally assist you with your booking. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    971
    457
    142
    82
See reviews for
869
901
60
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having just arrived down frm Novotel Edinburgh the day before, its easy to compare. This hotel is a 20-25 min walk frm the railway station so better take a cab if you come in by rail - no the oter hand Fishergate is a mere 10min walk to the City center. Its a decent enough place, not to worn and the pool was a tas bigger here. On the other hand the room was a bit smaller and this time we really did miss the aircon! If its more than 20c outside then you will struggle getting enough sleep, also because our beds were quite hard. The breakfast was decent and I'm quite in favour of the vast space in the breakfast area. In the downstairs resto/bar area I wasnt allowed to sign 2 beers and a cup of coffee no the room, which I think is a bit silly. Service was friendly enough but the verdict is still out no whether or not we would stay at Novotel next time in York.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good morning and thank you for your review and for staying both at our Novotels in Edinburgh and York. Your comments have been shared with the team and we all hope we will have the pleasure to seeing you agin in the near future. Thank you ocnce again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

First time we stayed in a Novotel and we will be returning to this one again ! Ideal location to walk into town. Food was lovely and staff very friendly and helpful! Extremely quiet too. We wasn't aware there was a swimming pool, so on this occasion wasn't able to have a dip I don't know why we haven't stayed here before. Look forward to booking in here again-next time bringing my cozzie!

Room Tip: Ours looked onto the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good afternoon. Just a few words to thank you for your comments. We are all delighted you had a great time and are all looking forward to seeing you again. Have a wonderful summer!

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have never been in a filthier hotel before .The AC was not working in the middle of the summer,the bathroom arrangement was in a bizarre form the basin was outside of the toilet it means you need to get out of the toilet to reach the basin to wash your hands .what a peculiar thing to do .the bed reminded us of the military camp boots in the middle of the war. When we went to the restaurant the staff were very confused about our orders and the food took a long time to come and the food was extremely bland no matter how much salt or pepper you would put on the food will still taste bland.On top of all that it is utterly expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good morning. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I would like to apologise for the confusion in the restaurant and have shared your review with the team. It is also true the hotel does not have air conditioning. Thank you oonce again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Last minute booking for 2 nights for the family , on arrival staff friendly very helpfull check in quick and easy . Great childrens area in lobby with games consoles and staff very good with children despite being busy . Bar and food good and not over priced . Room spacious and clean , very quiet . Five minute walk to york centre , overall a great stay and will definitely be staying again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Good morning. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. I am very pleased to read you had a good stay and would consider using us again. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again for your comments.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice hotel located just right for a stroll into the city centre....clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. The "superior room" was spacious and modern. We didn't eat here because we thought the breakfast was way too expensive. Only drawback was the smelly drains when water was emptied from the sink. Car parking at eleven pounds was ok and secure. All in all we enjoyed our stay and will return...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_Cartlidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Good morning. Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay and would consider coming back. We are certainly looking forward to seeing you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing