We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paulinemm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. Nice room. Over all a great few days in the central hotel. Handy for the motte tower, shambles and cathedral. Would come again. Only downfall was that it was a little noisy at meal time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your very kind comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We were here as part of a weekend break to start the school holidays. The weather was warm, hot even. But the rooms were stiflingly hot. There is no air conditioning and the windows don't even open properly. Needless to say we didn't sleep either night of our stay. To make it even more unpleasant the pool was closed two of the three days of our stay. We were offered use of an alternative pool but we had to drive to it and pay for parking! As the pool was part of the reason we booked this made the choice of hotel pointless. The breakfast service was appallingly slow with long waits to be seated. The reception staff were less than helpful and could only offer a feeble 'sorry' in response to our complaints - no help to us! Having stayed in a Novotel on precious occasions in other cities with no complaint, this experience has put us off the chain.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventuring4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Good morning and thank you for your review. First, I would like to apologise for the closure of the pool. We have had to take the decision to close it at short notice as we felt it was not safe to keep it open. I am sorry you felt the alternative offered was not satisfactory and we will take your comments onboard should a similar rare event reoccur in the future. it is also true the hotel has not got any air conditioning and that the weather has been especially hot over the past two weeks in York with temperatures rarely going below 20 degrees even at night time. I have also share your comments with the reception team as this is very much out of character. Finally, breakfast can get busy at times especially duringg the school holidays. We will of course endeavour to communicate better the slots when we can expect breakfast to be quieter.

Thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
1  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our stay here was a real mixed bag, the staff are really helpful and nice making you feel really welcome. However we stayed on 2 very warm evenings and were on the top floor - it was roasting. No air con in rooms but reception did find us a fan, albeit a small one.
There were video games and computers in reception for kids to play on which was great but it looked a little like a refugee camp in the venings with people all over the floor everywhere! I think the hot rooms might have had something to do with this as well as reception had air-con
The room was superficially clean but there was dust on the shelf beneath the TV, someones hair in the bath and a few other bits. The small fridge in the room just about got below room temparature. They could do with cleaning the swimming pool too, our kids were desperate to have a dip as it had been so hot walking round town but you could not see the bottom in the shallow end it was so murky. In fact you could not see anything!!
If you want to go into York go out the back of the hotel and you can take a lovely walk along the river. Breakfast was really good and a varied selection.
It was a good budget hotel and in normal weather would be much much more comfortable I think

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank deanohants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Good morning and thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you found our team to be pleasant during your stay. It is true the hotel was quite hot over the past two weeks due to extremely high temperatures which are rather not the usual here in York. I am pleased to say the pool is now back to normal. Thank you once again for your comments and I hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a large group doing a cycle ride. Fantastic welcome from the receptionist and staff were very helpful in helping us store our bikes.
The lobby area had loads of computer consoles which a lot of children were entertained by. We had a spacious room overlooking the River Foss. Large bed and good quality power shower. It was a red hot day and reception kindly gave us a fan. This helped a lot. It was a pity the window couldn't open wider as it was so hot.
Breakfast was very good and there was a range of food to choose from. The free newspapers were a nice touch.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Good morning and many thanks for your kind comments. I am delighted to read you had a good stay and hope your cycle ride is going very well. I will certainly share your review with the team as I am sure they will appreciate the praise. We all hope to see you again very soon.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with the family, kids loved the hotel - access to the pool, a Wii and X-Box in reception / bar area to play with and a seating area overlooking the canal out back for evening drinks. The water in the pool started stinging our eyes after about 25 minutes but it was good to relax in.

The town centre is a 10-15 minute walk away - you do have to cross a busy road and a dualled one-way system had us going round in circles when first finding the hotel.

Room was quite good - family room for 2 adults 2 children. No air con but it was quite cool despite the heat outside.

Car parking is secure and extra (£11/day - not much choice). Breakfast is also extra so we never bothered (£14 each - no thanks). Free WiFi though

Really enjoyed our stay, all the staff were helpful

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VeganABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Good morning. A big thank you for your lovely comments. I am very pleased to read you had a good stay with us and that the children enjoyed the facilities too. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future. If you decide to do so, please do contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com and I will personally assist you with your booking and ensure breakfast is included in your price.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £74 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing