We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picked for location, but delivered far more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We selected this hotel based on price and location, but were really impressed with what was on offer. Room was spacious and well equipped, with fridge and plenty of storage areas, and the restaurant was quite large by city centre hotel standards - food was very good and staff were attentive to the customers. We will select this hotel again on all its merits, not just its convenience for the city centre.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for your very kind comments which have been shared with the team. We are all very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and are looking ofrward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,462)
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We first used this hotel in 2006 and had a great time,this time was only okay.The room we stopped in was not as nice as last time and was on the top floor,near the lift which was annoying as you could hear it going up and down whilst trying to sleep!
The room was also stifling due to the hot weather and not being able to open the window more than a few inches and the carpet on the floor was also dirty and tired looking,the linen and room was cleaned on our 3 day stay every day and the cleaner was lovely and a credit to the hotel as was all of the staff we talked to.
The final main change was the Car Park now charges £11 and was free in 2006,but I guess as parking in York is so expensive it didn't really bother me too much,but if your on a budget etc it will.
Overall though the hotel is in a great place just outside the main centre near the river and a lovely walk back to the hotel it is,we never bother with the breakfast as it is expensive and there are plenty of good eating places in the town centre...I would probably return to the Novotel again as the staff are nice and make you feel welcome but the carpet in the room needs replacing badly as it spoils a decent room.

Room Tip: Try and get a river facing room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Good morning and thank you for coming back to the Novotel. I am very happy you did find the team to be helpful and will certainly share your review with them. We do offer a wide range of Bed and Breakfast packages which make the breakfast cost very attractive indeed taking into account the vast amount of choice available. I have also noted your comments with regards to the carpets and we are indeed in the process of replacing them. Some of them are old but I can assure you they have been thouroughly cleaned. Thank you once again for your review and I hope we will see you again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were greeted by a very nice receptionist who made sure we had everything we needed and found out for us when mass was celebrated in the Minster. Check-in was quick. Lifts work fine.

The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. There is no air-condition, which was a drawback in this exceptional heat. You get a safety deposit box, mini fridge and kettle. There is an ironing board in the cupboard. The toilet is in a different room than the basin and shower - rather inconvenient. Would have served a purpose had the loo had its own basin. Neither of the doors has a lock.

The breakfast is good. Most of the kitchen staff is nice and all very efficient. Lots of families with children stayed here when we visited, so the restaurant got rather loud in the morning. There is an Xbox and Wii in the lobby for entertainment - usually occupied. There is also a pool on the ground floor, but it could not be used for the first two nights of our stay due to "chlorine tests".

The hotel is relatively close to the city centre, though it was cumbersome to walk to the hotel from the train station with our luggage. We caught a bus instead when we left.

The in-room free WiFi works, but is rather slow and shaky at best and needs to be reconnected quite often. The premium edition might be better - costs £10 a day.

Overall we had a great holiday in York.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kristoffer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Good morning. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had a good holiday in our beautiful city and sincerely hope we can welcome you back soon. Thank you and have a wonderful end of the summer.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during the very hot weather earlier this month. As previously mentioned the rooms are very hot but fortunately I had e mailed the hotel prior to arrival requesting a fan for the room and when we arrived the fan was in situ and working. This made the room temperature bearable. Breakfasts were very good, all staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. It is a lovely short walk along the river into York centre and York is as beautiful as ever.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Good morning. I just wanted to thank you for your review. As you say York is as beautiful as ever and I am glad you enjoyed the walk into town at the back of the hotel - it is certainly my favourite! I will share your comments with the team and I am looking forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in the York hotel for 3 nights (our first stay at a Novotel) during the recent heatwave and had a super holiday. Yes , the hotel room was warm, but the room staff left us a fan to cool our room and were extremely helpful. The hotel is very welcoming with friendly staff on reception who also helped us find our way around York, providing us with a map and suggested routes. The provision of the Wii and xbox downstairs for the children (and me!) were an added bonus. Breakfasts (self-service) were delicious and had a wide variety of hot and cold choices. We certainly will visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Good morning. Thank you so much for your review. I will share it with the team as I know they will appreciate reading your comments. I am happy to read the children enjoyed the WII (and you too...). I am looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. Nice room. Over all a great few days in the central hotel. Handy for the motte tower, shambles and cathedral. Would come again. Only downfall was that it was a little noisy at meal time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your very kind comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £73 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing