We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nowhere near good enough - this does not feel like a '4 star' hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nowhere near good enough - this does not feel like a '4 star' hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Starting with some positives - the staff are all lovely, particularly the reception staff who were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well situated a short walk from the historic city centre. The breakfast was of a good standard.

Issues with this hotel -

The rooms are poor. The furnishings are dated; in our case damaged and stained too. The decor of the rooms is very dull; they have the appearance of a Travelodge style hotel....from the 90s. The walls in our room were dirty including black scuff marks on three walls and what appeared to be coffee splattered up the forth. Both the room and bathroom were not as clean as they could be. There was evidence of dust and muck along the skirting board along the side if the bed and there were black hairs in both the bath and basin on arrival. The toilet was,let's say, 'old school'. The towels and bed linen were cheap quality. The tea tray was pathetic - 1 tea bag for a room that sleeps at least 2 people!!! I mean, a tea bag, please??!!

We have recently stayed at 3 star hotels in UK airports that were better and tons cheaper. I know this is central York and not an airport but the quality of the room for the price we were charged left us feeling thoroughly ripped off!

There is also an £11 charge to park your car in the car park of a hotel that is already massively overcharging you for a really tired room. I'm sorry but this charge should be carried in the room cost and not added on. £11? This is York, not central London.

We resent booking a well-known hotel chain's room and leaving feeling totally ripped off.

We will not be staying here again and strongly suggest the management consider a total refurbishment, of what could be a really nice hotel, in the very near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good morning. Thank you very much for sharing your views following your recent stay with us. I am obviously disappointed your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please rest assured your comments have been looked into. I will also pass on your comments to the team too. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    971
    457
    143
    82
See reviews for
872
901
60
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed with my husband and two grandchildren. We had a 'family room' i.e. the children slept on a fold out sofa bed. The room was clean with everything that we needed, but it was airless! We couldn't find instructions on using the airconditioning, so slept with the window open, fortunately we were on the top floor ..... as were all the families and dogs!
The buffet breakfast was better than expected with plenty of choice; however it became a challenge to eat cereal, yoghut or stir coffee without a spoon - this was rectified on the last day when spoons were actually placed on the tables!
The hotel is a bit out from the city attractions but we soon worked out a route into the centre. The staff were all pleasant, the pool was good and we would visit again.
Point about dogs in rooms - are they put into specific rooms I wonder? If not it is a poor policy especially if you have an animal fur allergy!

Room Tip: Ask if a dog has been kept in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reikijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good morning and many thanks for your review. I am pleased to read you would visit us again. To answer your query, we do allocate some specific rooms for pets. these rooms are also following a different cleaning regime. thank you once again for taking the time to share your views.

With kind regards,

Chrisotphe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We just stayed at this hotel for one night. My wife booked it for my 50th birthday. The hotel must have picked up that it was for a celebration from a passing comment because, when we arrived in our room, there was a lovely plate of chocolates and berries with a complementary bottle of mineral water.
The price of the hotel reflects the location as it was only slightly more expensive than Premier Inns in the city. The room was smaller than a Premier Inn, noticable with the two sofa beds made up for our children. On the other hand, the rooms in the Novotel do have a safe and a minibar. It was certainly adequate for sleeping in on a short stay! Another nice touch was the inclusion of green tea and fruit tea on the refreshments tray.
We used the pool for a quick dip. There was no shortage of pool towels and, though compact, the pool was clean and quiet.
We would have liked to have had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, but there was a lack of vegetarian choices, so we booked a table at one of the restaurants in York. The wide choice of foods available at breakfast, however, was much appreciated and items were replenished constantly.
Car parking at the hotel was £11 per day, which again reflects York prices. We left our car after checking out and walked along the river-bank into the centre of York for the afternoon. We could have left the car there till midnight.
All, in all, a very pleasant short stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
Green Features: Encourage you to re-use towels - they commit to plant 1 tree for every 5 towels re-used.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Wilson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good morning and thank you for your kind comments. I am very pleased you appreciated the little token towards your special occasion. I hope we will have the pleasure to seeing you again in the future. Thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
249 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I stayed here for work for two nights. Had a very generous room on my own which was clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was fine - the usual standard fare. Being off the main streets, it was quiet. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your review. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back should you come back to work in York or maybe for a leisure visit.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Dull rooms, dull reception, dull......everything. The staff are helpful and polite, so I can't say our stay was a bad experience, but the hotel in a bit tired. The walk from the back of the hotel along the river to the city centre is nice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stenners14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good morning. Thank you for your honest feedback. I have shared your comments with the team. I have taken note of your review and hope our continuous plans to refurbish the hotel will tackle some of your concerns. Thank you.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is supposed to be four star it was more like a standard three and at nearly £600 for two executive rooms with breakfast for just two nights it was shocking. When we booked in we went straight to our rooms I booked the executive rooms which I would of thought would of been better for the price I payed. There was no lap top safe in my room 413 and the fridge was on but it was warm, the large shower head over the bath did not word and the plug was broke. I would also like to mention that The extractor fans in the toilets are on permanently the textured walls which look liked woodchip wallpaper are painted as cheep as you can get with magnolia matt paint and a horrible purple in the toilet and there are stains on the walls, we slept well only to be woke at 4:30 am by the bin men. On Saturday night I asked about booking a table in the dining room for the four of us to which I was told you will have to be quick as we are very busy so I booked a table for 8:00 pm. when we arrived there were three other couples dinning and a party of eight come about 8:30 and that was it. As we were eating our starters which where good a waiter started clearing tables and setting up for breakfast which is a very very bad thing to do while people are trying to enjoy there evening. As our plates where cleared the waiter walked into the kitchen with our empty plates and straight back with our main course which again is not good service. The pork was small and very dry the steak was nice but it was the size of a small sausage and my burger was over cooked the bun and onion ring where both bunt and the sweet potato fries were cold. I sent the fries back only to get the same once back again 30 seconds later having been thrown back in the fryer for a couple of seconds. The bar was shut for eleven which also left us feeling very angry at the amount of money I payed to stay at novetel York with poor rooms poor food poor service and now NO drinks. Also Should we of been worried that there where Three doormen on duty with only about Ten people drinking and three of them were kids younger that ten.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelyon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good morning. Thank you very much for your review both on Tripadvisor and through our own channels. I understand we have now replied to you directly. Please rest assured your comments have been taken seriously and corrective actions have been taken where necessary. Security staff are on shift 3 days a year... during the Ebor festival. Thank you once again.

Wih kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing