We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and pleasant in convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perthshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant in convenient location.”
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed for two nights. Liked the location - very convenient for getting into the town but set off the main road helping to keep traffic noise down. Hotel is modern and more of a 3.5 star than 3 star. Room was a good size, clean with fresh decor and had all the facilities needed and expected with a Novotel, including a great powerful shower. Only small complaint about the room was that it was a bit stuffy and as I like complete quiet at night I had to have the window shut overnight to block out any otherwise inevitable city road noise. The main thing I didn't like about the hotel was the swimming pool facilitiies or more precisely lack of. I have stayed in a Novotel before so had a fair idea what to expect (no private showers or toilets within the changing rooms) but this Novotel pool doesn't even have changing rooms! Just a couple of cubicles directly at the poolside with no showers at all, no toilets and no lockers. It basically is just a room with a swimming pool in it. I think they could do slightly better at relatively low cost considering the standard the hotel generally reaches elsewhere. On the whole, I enjoyed my stay and would stay again, especially if I could get a good rate again. The weaknesses, whilst annoying/inconvenient, can be worked around.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smith490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    988
    460
    145
    82
See reviews for
885
909
60
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel was built in 1986, and it is showing its age. Great weekend however ! Rooms need aircon & redecoration. No extractor fan in bathroom. Staff are great and could not do enough. An extension is planned but its not clear if there will be renovations of existing rooms. Great position for York centre & for touring Yorkshire as a whole as its just off a main road. Car park is a bonus for a city Hotel. For comparison Premier Inn is cheaper & has Aircon, is near centre & is on main road..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

I found this hotel to be no better than a travelodge and the prices at the bar were extortionate, more on a par to a 5 star hotel.

On one evening there was a party which seem to end around 4 am with no consideration to people trying to sleep.

I am afraid it will be never again for me.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
Thank hermij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Stayed for 3 nights on a biz trip. Overall, very pleased with everything. Room service was exceptional IMO, very quick service, good food, from order to room in under 15mins, on 2 nights, that has got to be one of the best i have experienced anywhere. Check-in & out was smooth, i asked for my room to be changed on arrival because i am a fussy so-and-so, and wanted a room further away from the lifts-stairs, for quietness, the request was handled politely, and without fuss, within 10mins, a new room was offered to me. Rooms themselves were fine, everything i needed, good internet connection, bright spacious, clean, comfy bed, functional clean Bath-Shower WC. Flat screen TV, with good choices. Breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate for the price, with a good wide selection on offer. Only a 10min walk to the City walls, where there are plenty of places to eat & drink. Secure car park, which is normally paid for, which was waived for me. Cant fault the hotel at all, and i would prob stay again.

I like York, I'll bring the Mrs & brood next time!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We stayed one night at the Novotel. It was one of the few hotels that could be booked for one night only, and in fact while we were checking in we overheard a receptionist telling someone over the phone that there was a minimum two night stay, so not sure how we managed it! We paid £95 for a double with sofa bed for myself, husband and young son, without breakfast.
Overall we were satisfied. Two minor gripes - someone had eaten our complimentary biscuits and left the packets in the bin, and the only way to fill the bath was with the shower head. There was no tap, just a mount for the shower head low down near the bath as well as the high mount. Consequently it took ages to fill the bath.
However the bed was comfy, everything worked and the decor, though not fresh, was not noticeably old. Service was good. Yes, you do have to pay for parking but this applies to most if not all hotels in/near the town centre and public parking in York is very expensive.
We would stay again but wouldn't pay extra for breakfast. You can get a nice full English breakfast in the town centre for £5. We went to Little Venice on Goodramgate.
We didn't avail ourselves of the swimming pool or morning newspaper.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peanuthead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I stayed at this hotel on business for a week. I had a great stay. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. The hotel has a pool which is lovely. Rooms are a bit in need of re-decorating but otherwise kept clean. The rooms are quite which is brilliant for York which can be a noisy place. The breakfast was good, I liked the fact there was a good bowl of fresh fruit every morning as a mixed fruit salad and the cooked breakfast is pretty standard buffet style. I left after my stay with no complaints and will return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Stayed here for two nights for my husband’s Birthday. After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried that everything would be ok. All turned out well. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered a good choice, though the service was lacking at peak times (no tea or coffee offered, no milk on the table). While the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean, they are in need of refurbishment as some of the furniture is tatty and the carpet was threadbare in places. Nice quite room (210) overlooking the river, I assume the other side looks onto the car-park. Plenty of spaces to park though I was miffed at having to pay £5 a night to park as when I originally booked, parking was in fact free! All in all I would recommend the hotel as a base to explore York, but I do think at £81 a night it is somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank non-stop-orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing