We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will make a point of using this hotel again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will make a point of using this hotel again”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We make a point of using the sister hotels in France and found the French influence very much apparent in this hotel. Our large room at the rear overlooked the Foss lock and was freshly decorated and spotless. Fabulously comfortable king-size bed. Breakfast was included and the choice was excellent, from full English to croissants etc. Location is great. You can get into York centre with a short 5/10 minute walk from the rear of the hotel or cross over the bridge to the River Ouse and walk in by the river, very pleasant. We did use the pool which although very small, is fine just for a bit of exercise if you fancy it but probably would not satisfy a strong swimmer. The kids will love it though. We visit York 2/3 times a year to see family and have previously stayed in guest houses but would not do so again after having enjoyed Novotel so much.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trizz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    1,003
    473
    148
    85
See reviews for
899
929
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The staff where helpful and courteous.
The rooms where large, clean and comfortable.
In room TV Internet was the only thing that did not measure up. It was slooooowwwww. However the internet / computer in the lobby was available for a reasonable price .It was fast and reliable.

Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpmof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

just stayed for 1 night, and because I got the room for a good rate by prepaying I should shouldn't really complain but the rooms are a bit tired. the entrance is impressive, very strict on check in time - we arrived an hour early and they didn't even check if our room was ready we had to wait. the pool is disappointing. there are 2 cubicles to change in, no lockers, toilets, driers. just the 2 cubicles in the pool area and you just leave your belongings at the side ? no sauna / steam room. location was good, just a 5/10 minute walk from the centre. based on price would go back again - maybe the website makes it look a bit more glamorous than it is. (had just stayed in a travel lodge and their room was better) Parking was extra

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed for two nights. Liked the location - very convenient for getting into the town but set off the main road helping to keep traffic noise down. Hotel is modern and more of a 3.5 star than 3 star. Room was a good size, clean with fresh decor and had all the facilities needed and expected with a Novotel, including a great powerful shower. Only small complaint about the room was that it was a bit stuffy and as I like complete quiet at night I had to have the window shut overnight to block out any otherwise inevitable city road noise. The main thing I didn't like about the hotel was the swimming pool facilitiies or more precisely lack of. I have stayed in a Novotel before so had a fair idea what to expect (no private showers or toilets within the changing rooms) but this Novotel pool doesn't even have changing rooms! Just a couple of cubicles directly at the poolside with no showers at all, no toilets and no lockers. It basically is just a room with a swimming pool in it. I think they could do slightly better at relatively low cost considering the standard the hotel generally reaches elsewhere. On the whole, I enjoyed my stay and would stay again, especially if I could get a good rate again. The weaknesses, whilst annoying/inconvenient, can be worked around.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smith490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel was built in 1986, and it is showing its age. Great weekend however ! Rooms need aircon & redecoration. No extractor fan in bathroom. Staff are great and could not do enough. An extension is planned but its not clear if there will be renovations of existing rooms. Great position for York centre & for touring Yorkshire as a whole as its just off a main road. Car park is a bonus for a city Hotel. For comparison Premier Inn is cheaper & has Aircon, is near centre & is on main road..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

I found this hotel to be no better than a travelodge and the prices at the bar were extortionate, more on a par to a 5 star hotel.

On one evening there was a party which seem to end around 4 am with no consideration to people trying to sleep.

I am afraid it will be never again for me.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
Thank hermij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Stayed for 3 nights on a biz trip. Overall, very pleased with everything. Room service was exceptional IMO, very quick service, good food, from order to room in under 15mins, on 2 nights, that has got to be one of the best i have experienced anywhere. Check-in & out was smooth, i asked for my room to be changed on arrival because i am a fussy so-and-so, and wanted a room further away from the lifts-stairs, for quietness, the request was handled politely, and without fuss, within 10mins, a new room was offered to me. Rooms themselves were fine, everything i needed, good internet connection, bright spacious, clean, comfy bed, functional clean Bath-Shower WC. Flat screen TV, with good choices. Breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate for the price, with a good wide selection on offer. Only a 10min walk to the City walls, where there are plenty of places to eat & drink. Secure car park, which is normally paid for, which was waived for me. Cant fault the hotel at all, and i would prob stay again.

I like York, I'll bring the Mrs & brood next time!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,758 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing