We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - but no air con in rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent - but no air con in rooms!”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Novotel, York and had a great few days.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was a problem for them.
We had booked a standard room at a great price and had opted for room only - we were really lucky and were upgraded to a superior room at check in! The room was slightly smaller than that of Travel Inns however the rooms are to a higher specification in the Novotel. The TV channel selection was great from our son's point of view (childrens channels) and we also had a mini bar - quite steeply priced but at least we had a fridge to use. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel which was not overly noisy but we are not used to traffic passing by and that took a little getting used to! Our only complaint about all the rooms at the Novotel is that there is no air con! Our room was very warm and we did ask for a fan which was in our room in no time - this made a huge difference. At the time of our visit the sun did decide to shine and it was a lovely warm weekend - maybe this was why our room was so warm and ordinarily the heating would be on!
Another good point of the rooms at the Novotel is you don't get noise from other guests in their rooms - maybe we just had quiet fellow guests but the hotel was full!

Breakfast was really good and worth the discounted price at check in (see tip below) The choice of continental and cooked breakfast was excellent and very fresh.

We also chose to dine in the hotel one night and chose the buffet offer - again no complaints and plenty choice for our son and for us too. The food was again to a high standard and what we really liked was the chef regularly checked the food.

Our 9 year old son loves swimming and the small pool was ideal after sightseeing or in the morning - there is no supervision from hotel staff but that was not a problem as we were there anyway. The added bonus was the Wii and Xbox at the reception / bar. This was where the children met and had great fun and as parents we could clearly see them all from the bar area. The bar prices are high for a hotel (Glass of wine was £5.90)

Tips
Ask for a room at the back of the hotel which has a lovely view of the river.
Don't book breakfast online at £12.50 per head - at check in you are offered breakfast at £8 per head and children under 12 eat free.

Should we return to York, I would stay at the Novotel again - in fact if there is a Novotel where we decide to next visit, that would be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TringTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    997
    469
    147
    84
See reviews for
897
919
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester. uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

i don't think i have seen a better hotel to stay in with kids, bearing in mind you are in a city. checking in was dead easy staff really friendly. room was fine looked freshly painted had fold down bed that in fact was two singles plus kingsize. took up bit of room really but we weren't in hotel room for long periods as the weather was good. the hotel is about 15 min walk from centre, best to walk down main river ouse not the fos which is outside the back hotel, you can get to this over a small blue bridge at back of hotel to the left of the hotel. the hotel bar is very expensive ie 2 pints of shandy and a j20 (soft drink) over £9, there are 3 pubs dead close to hotel though one being the weathspoons although with kids with you its not the be all and end all etc the hotel reception/foyer downstairs is also the bar area too there is a little side room off this that is small play area for little ones there is also a xbox and a wii there plus there are about 4 tv's on the walls plenty of tables and chairs too. not quiet but if you have kids with you this is good news. the breakfasts were really good never seen so much choice and all conducted in a very civil manner. a few tips, there isn't anywhere to buy water or drinks near by so take some with or else get charged a bomb. it took us ages to work out how to let the plug out of the sink - theres a lever underneath it !! also we asked for a late checking out time of 2pm which was fine and didn't get charged for this but key card wouldn't work past the 12 o'clock set booking out. there is no fridge in room which was a disappointment. i would also say keep window shut at night as the ducks on the river woke us up first night at 5am. the hop on and off bus stops here too on the main road up the drive to the hotel which we found good you can buy a 24 or 48 hour tickets - 24 hour was £7 for an adult and our 3 year old was free. saved our legs a few times.

there is an outdside terrace you can take your drinks out here plus they have a small play area climbing frame slide etc its really very useful. the swimming pool is very tiny and overlooked by everyone drinking in bar lounge so for the brave !!

i really enjoyed my stay here and would def reccomend it for familys.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Hotel is in a great spot, just a short, pleasant ,walk by the river into the city centre. Ideal for a sightseeing trip. Parking is excellent. Hotel is in a quiet location just off the main route into the city.

Made to feel very welcome by reception staff who were anxious to make sure we were happy with everything.

Meal in restaurant was unfussy but good and service excellent. Breakfast also fine.

Had exec bedroom , standard Novotel, small but perfectly formed! Well equipped and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just stayed at the Novotel, in a good location, convenient for everything. Hotel was clean and the sevice was fine, the bar was expensive but this is York on a race weekend. The reception did all they could to help and given the temperature of the hotel, the aircon did not work, but we were able to get a fan from them to enable us to sleep.

The problem we had was that our rooms were at the front of the hotel and when parties come back at 2, 3, 4, 5 in the morning and screaming their heads off it was rather annoying and resulted in limited sleep. Rooms at the back on the river would be fine though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 2 kids. Reception and staff in general were extremely helpful and allowed us to check in early. Also offered us a deal on the buffett breakfast which was excellent! Kids loved the swimming pool and the location was fantastic - 2 minute walk to the York City museum which is not to be missed!!! My son also enjoyed playing with the wii!

Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Stayed two nights at York Novotel and it was superb. Enjoyed it even more than the Royal York (which was nice but I left it feeling like I had been mugged). Great location, super staff, lovely swimming pool, spotlessly clean and comfortable room. Could not ask for better. We'll be back.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blackfive460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We make a point of using the sister hotels in France and found the French influence very much apparent in this hotel. Our large room at the rear overlooked the Foss lock and was freshly decorated and spotless. Fabulously comfortable king-size bed. Breakfast was included and the choice was excellent, from full English to croissants etc. Location is great. You can get into York centre with a short 5/10 minute walk from the rear of the hotel or cross over the bridge to the River Ouse and walk in by the river, very pleasant. We did use the pool which although very small, is fine just for a bit of exercise if you fancy it but probably would not satisfy a strong swimmer. The kids will love it though. We visit York 2/3 times a year to see family and have previously stayed in guest houses but would not do so again after having enjoyed Novotel so much.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trizz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,779 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing