We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 53(York)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,629)
Filter reviews
2,629 results
Traveller rating
775
1,084
515
162
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
775
1,084
515
162
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolx boxseparate toiletexecutive roomsofa bedcar parkhalf termreception areagood sizeper dayreception staffoverlooking the rivercoffee machinecastle museumclifford's toweryork centrewalk into town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,425 - 2,430 of 2,629 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed here for one night in the summer, managed to get a reasonable price for the room as it was a sunday night. The hotel looks better from the outside than the inside, but thats not to say the rooms aren't adequate. The location is quiet and only a few minutes walk into the centre. We ate at Oscar's which is in a new location which sadly detracts a little from it's charm. Otherwise another nice visit to a lovely city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingManc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

OK it was a low cost stay, with Tesco Vouchers. Staff at reception when we checked in were very friendly and helpful with suggestions as to where to go etc. Our room was excellent. Given it had a mini bar and referring to the web site I'd say it was a superior - hair dryer, iron and ironing board what more could a man want? We faced the entrance which was a little bit noisy - the air conditioning was not operating so we had to leave the window open during the day. This reminds me to mention overnight the atmosphere seemed very dry which again could be an ac issue.

Breakfast was very good. Wide choice of hot and cold although on the second morning it was very busy and so there was a bit of a delay in getting drinks.

It's a 10 minute walk to the centre so no problem in terms of location.

Try the Guzzler beer from York Brewery whilst you are there. It is very refreshing after a few hours dragged around the shops.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The title of my review says it all. I fell while trying to get out of my hotel room's very deep bathtub that had a high side to step over. The fact that this unusually deep tub did not have any grab bars didn't help one bit, and the lack of a non-slip bathmat just made the situation worse! I reported my accident to the person at the front desk and her response showed she was totally uncaring. She stated that I could have asked for a bathmat if I wanted one! Although I wasn't badly hurt, this nonchalance from the desk clerk was upsetting, especially when I stated my reason for telling her about my fall was to alert the hotel to how dangerous their tubs were without grab bars or non-slip bathmats. I was worried that someone else might fall and really hurt themselves by breaking a bone or even their neck in these unsafe tubs! So, if you want to stay at this hotel, be sure to ask for a non-slip bathmat when you check in. Even with the mat, be very careful, as it is difficult to get up from the deep tub without anything to grab hold of.

Our room, 420, didn't have air-conditioning, but the windows opened to let in fresh air. The room contained a two-person sleep couch, as well as a bed, a flat-screen TV, and a long desk area. The tea and coffee tray in the room was nice, especially the packages of Scottish shortbread cookies. A plug in our room blew up our European electrical converter and ruined my electric brush hair dryer that began to smoke before it shut off, permanently.

We enjoyed the food and the service at both the breakfast and dinner buffets in the hotel's restaurant. At dinner, the bread and desserts were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank One4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, on a dinner bed and breakfast basis, with our daughter (aged 5) in a normal room, consisting of a queen sized bed and sofa bed; the room was clean and equipped with all the essentials and there was a stylish shower room. The room was cramped with the sofa bed out - fortunately we didn't need to spend much time in our room (other than sleeping). The room was clean when we first arrived.

The hotel has a small swimming pool. There are a couple of changing cubicles in the swimming pool area to change in and you leave your stuff on the side (it is no like other hotels with separate changing areas and lockers) and there are no staff to supervise. The standard of cleaning in the pool area was poor (for example an old plaster on the side of the pool for two days). It also got quite crowded as it is a small pool.

The hotel is very conveniently located just outside the city walls and only a very short walk into the city centre; no need to use our car. There is a small (but nominal) charge for the car park (£5).

The staff were very friendly and polite.

The food (especially the dinner) were excellent and there is also a children's menu. The only complaint is that they struggled to cope with the number of people at breakfast so you had to wait for tables to be cleared an reset and for certain items to be replenished at the buffet.

We did not pay full price for the hotel and we were happy with the value we got on our DBB deal. We would not recommend paying full price though.

The hotel does nothing fancy. But what is does do it does to a high standard.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich09Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Good enough for a short break. close to all amenities. Pricey unless you can get one of the deals regularly on offer. Clean rooms, but a bit shabby (carpets mainly).Staff friendly and helpful. Pool ok at off peak times. Otherwise too busy. Breakfast far too expensive @£15. Wetherspoons across the road does the full monty for £3.99. Main downside is the noise very early in the mornings(doors banging, kids shouting etc).Also terrace outside doesn't have great views.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primroseviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews