We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel York Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$87
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,653)
Filter reviews
2,653 results
Traveller rating
785
1,094
518
162
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
1,094
518
162
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolx boxseparate toiletexecutive roomsofa bedcar parkhalf termreception areagood sizeper dayreception staffoverlooking the rivercoffee machinecastle museumclifford's toweryork centrewalk into town
Filter
Updating list...
2,441 - 2,446 of 2,653 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Fantastic location,
all sites with in walking distance,
on site parking,
room reasonable size but some dust on fixtures,
comfortable large bed,
small swimming pool, more for a dip than a swim
Overall good value for city center location

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

While looking to book in York we did a google search and Novotel popped up as being quite central. We got a good price for 4 of us BB for 2 nights.

The hotel is situated on the River Ouse and has a back way to walk along the river towards to centre. It was a short walk from the Castle Museum and the Jorvik Centre. We could easily walk to the shambles too and the tour bus stopped at the top of the street.

The hotel is set back from the main road within a housing estate. It meant location was very quiet. We had a family superior room over looking the front and barely heard a noise. We arrived by taxi from the station as it was quite far away. Check in is usually 2pm but arriving at 12pm they offered us for an extra £10 a superior room with the sofa bed being twin beds instead of a double. The bathroom was newly fitted with an over head showe and a separate toilet. We also had a mini bar and safe in a small hallway meaning the room was set back from the corridor and we heard no noise. The hotel benefitted from a swimming pool, but no life guard and the pool does a sudden dip towards the deep end, various conference rooms. The lounge had a wii and an xbox 360 as well as a kiddies playroom for younger guests. The bar was located here and there was a relaxed chilled feel to the hotel. Dinner could start at 5 for families and there was a choice of 2 menu's according to age. The only issue we had was the kids meals were too posh. There was pepper in the mash and mayo on the burger. The staff did apologise and the chef came to speak to me to take my concerns on board.

Breakfast is a buffet with cereal's, toast, bagels., french bread and contenental style as well as the full cooked works. Food was replenished regualarly.

The staff couldn't be faulted in anyway. The manager was helping clear tables at breakfast when it was busy and tables were needing cleared for the next guests and went round with tea and coffee for guests too. Definitely a consideration for another stay even without kids.

Internet and the newest movies such as Dorian Gray and Bolt were available for £9.99 for 24 hours. A much welcomed way to settle the children at night. Considering we paid £15 for just internet with Holiday Inn this was a bargain.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

good service, friendly staff. Room looked newly refurbished, with lovely walk in shower.
French-style pillows a bit uncomfortable, though.
Excellent location for walking to all the attractions in the city with a lovely walk along the tow path at the back of hotel.
Breakfast excellent with loads of choice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywanderer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Visually nice rooms but can be very noisy due to thin walls. It seems ridiculous that in a time when internet access is free in most places from McDonalds to the train, that the Novotel charges £10 a day!! Also charges £5 a day for car parking. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandagroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We needed three rooms for seven people at short notice to be ready for 11 in the morning (normal check-in is at 2) and to leave two cars there for an extra day. We couldn't sort it out on their website so I phoned the reservations manager directly.

He couldn't have been more helpful and everything was ready and waiting for us when we turned up (early at 10.30). The hotel is like every other Novotel I've stayed in - clean, smart with four star facilities, reasonable food (excellent breakfast!) and a swimming pool. In addition, the bar area had an Xbox and a Wii for younger members of the group. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

It is a City Centre hotel so we would have put up with a certain amount of noise but in fact it was very quiet and restful when we were there. It's also built on the banks of the River with a back entrance opening straight onto the towpath - ideal for a morning stroll into the countryside or into York with all its attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greygapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews