We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Thanks for the service, the swimming pool and the bar. Good spot for my kids by the river. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Thank you for you kind comments and compliments concerning your stay with us at Novotel York. With my team, I look forward to welcome you back with your family on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,307 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

Stayed with family to enjoy a special event in York and suitably impressed. The hotel was child and adult friendly and refreshingly friendly for a global chain. First class position just outside centre and handy for main route South.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments concerning your stay with us at Novotel York. With my team. I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The rooms are a little smaller than the photo suggests. all staff friendly and helpful. Rooms and public areas all clean and in good repair. beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salmonsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us at Novotel York. With my team, I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Wow, what a stay we had! Check in was friendly, (and amusing, Lionel) location was just a 5-10 minute walk away from city centre and the breakfast I am still drooling over. The choice was vast and you won't need lunch because there really was plenty of choice. It was constantly being checked and never ran low because they replenished evrything right up until they stopped serving (12 noon at weekends). Incredibly check out was 5pm Sunday with no extra charge but they do like to know in advance, which was our plan originally but we ended up enjoying our stay so much we booked an extra night.
For an evening meal we would recommend the Mason Arms, about a 3-4 minute walk away with homemade food that was out of this world. I did tell the proprietor of the pub to mention the fact everything was homemade as there was no mention of this outside. You won't need a sweet because here too the portions were huge. Dick turpins grave is about 5-6 minute walk away too, and we thouroughly enjoyed the Ghost Hunt starting at the Shambles, whatever the weather. We were there when it was snowing so it was a bonus. So much more to stay but you'll be thinking I rubbing it in. We'll be back in March - Can't wait.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileybuster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Thank you for your kind comments concerning your stay with us at Novotel York. With my team, I am looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed here in January 2010, and had a nice room, which did have problems. The room had a nice bathroom, but had a sepated toilet and sink. There wasn't any storage space, just a draw, 2 shelves, and a short coathanger strip. We definitely got only 3 pillows and 4 cusions shared by 3 people. But it had some nice advantages. The pool was nearly empty, altough it only had 2 small cubicles. And the hotel had a nice bar and a good location for visiting the high street. Altough the problems in the room, the room was very nice and modern. Overall this hotel was fairly good!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel York and with my team, I look forward to welcome you back, with your family, on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Perfectly suited and designed with the family in mind. Hotel facilities are excellent and the proximity to the City and its attractions is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardDigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments concerning your stay with us at Novotel York. With my team, I am very much looking forward to welcome you and your family back on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I stayed here for two nights on business when I was visiting the university. I found the hotel to be in a great location for both the train station and the university. I can’t fault anything, the room was fine spacious enough for the standard room with a king size bed. There are also tea and coffee making facilities. The Elements bar and restaurant serves excellent food. Also breakfast is served in the restaurant and I cannot fault the choice of food on offer and the service from the staff. Overall an excellent hotel in a good location and full credit to all the staff for a welcoming friendly service!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreedomButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments concerning your stay with us at Novotel York. With my team, I am very much looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,957 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#13 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £67 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing