We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay close to the centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancashire
2 reviews
“A great place to stay close to the centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

Very friendly staff who couldnt do more. Very good for children. There is a pool, nintendo wii and x box all free of charge.
Rooms are clean
The breakfast included in our stay was fantastic with a wide variety of food.
I will definately go back when I next go to York.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiiGii2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your very kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel York and with my team, I very much look forward to welcoming you back and your family again soon. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    957
    449
    139
    79
See reviews for
849
885
60
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

A 2-night stay over the Easter break with wife and 7 year-old. Parking and check-in fine. Hotel lobby nice, modern and with a couple of games machines (Wii and Xbox) to keep kids amused. Executive room clean and tidy, but too small to accommodate 3 of us - and very little storage / hanging space so hopeless for more than an overnight. Room overlooked local fun-fair which was noisy up until 10pm - we tried to get moved to a quieter room but all exec rooms are located on that side of the building apparently. (I didn't detect any real will from the front desk staff to move us to a better room, but maybe there was no real alternative). Exec room had a few gizmos like flat-screen TV (poor picture though), iPod dock, coffe machine etc. but really not a substitute for space to move around and storage for clothes etc, and definitely not worth £189 rack-rate. Breakfast was ok and staff nice and friendly. Pool (one of the attractions for us) was very small, and unsupervised so difficult to get going due to 'exuberant' kids. Location is fine for city-centre etc. Plenty to like about the hotel but a little expensive, and our room at least was too small for family - maybe they have family rooms which are better suited for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to read of your comments regarding the lack of storage space in your Executive Room (which is standard) and I can confirm that at this stage, all Executive Rooms are located on the riverside of the building. Thank you once again for your feedback which is important to us to continue to improve the quality of our services and should you wish to stay again in York in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

We got a fairly good deal on this hotel – 20% discount on a superior room which was reasonably spacious, at the back of the hotel with nice river views – pity that you had to stand up to see them – floor to ceiling windows would have been lovely. At least you could actually open the window (cf. a Crowne Plaza where we stayed recently). Good sized car park (£6 per night).

Bed was comfortable but with only four pillows. Large flat-screen TV with keyboard, mini bar large enough to put your own water in. Wifi cost £9.99 per 24 hours (this was a deal that included films etc.). Separate toilet, rather gloomy and claustrophobic. Walk-in shower with two types of shower head – both good. The towels were a bit thin. Room was basically white, with pale woodchip-papered walls, one minimalist picture; it could have done with a bit more colour. Decent storage including proper wooden coathangers. Iron and ironing board – though ironing is the last thing I would do in a hotel – or anywhere, really.

Blissfully quiet. The only noise came from ducks quacking in the early morning.

Breakfast was OK – fairly limited choice of fruit and the cooked breakfast was a buffet and also a bit limited – no fried bread.. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and it was not good. Burger was OK but avoid the green Thai curry at all costs.

You can walk to the centre of York along the river bank but it is a 10-15 minute walk. Unless you can afford to stay somewhere like the Hilton or the Dean Court Hotel, I can’t see there is anywhere much more central. Lots of restaurants in the centre of York. We liked the Olive Tree opposite Clifford’s Tower.

It’s a corporate, rather bland hotel. But if you want a good night’s sleep in a clean, reasonable room, within walking distance of the centre of York, it’s fine, as long as you get a decent rate. The rack rate of £169 would be a bit of a joke.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and I am please that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel York. With my team, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordhisre, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

A long weekend in York with 2 small children was made much easier and very enjoyable, thanks to the team at Novotel. Adjoining rooms were fab. My daughter was poorly and the staff were fantastic.
Nice pool albeit a little small - unlikely to have a good swim once other people in there, and not a shallow end for lille ones.
Food good - the kids meals looked attractive and kids enjoyed them - a nice healthy selection as well as popular fish fingers etc.
Evening carvery very good value for money and fresh and tasty.
All staff very friendly and welcoming. Generally a good hotel for families - some people were enjoying WII and X box in th lobby!
10 minutes walk to attractions in the city and the city walls.
Right near the river for a nice stroll.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel York and with my team, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Paid nearly £150 for a night in this hotel. I am not normally a fan of the Novotel chain, but there was little availability elsewhere and I had hoped that the price would deter most stag/hen night parties.

On arrival, we asked for a quiet room and were given one on the top floor at the end. The entrance and ground floor has been refurbished recently and are in great contrast to the bedrooms. These are very disappointing, covered in the usual novotel woodchip style plain wallpaper, with nasty looking furniture. I think the only splash of colour was from the 2 blue cushions on the bed. The room was clean enough, except the bin hadnt been emptied and had beer bottles left by a previous guest. Nice. The bathroom was in the usual unatttractive Ibis/novotel style - that sort of grey specky plasticy finish.

We took our swimming stuff, but the pool was tiny and very busy, so we didnt bother and went to the bar instead.

The worst part of our stay was being woken around 4am in the morning by a group of lads laughing and shouting obscenities very loudly. They were trying to wake their mate who had collapsed outside our room and apparently messed himself. This went on for some time, until i rang reception. In fairness, the hotel dealt with this very quickly and telephoned us immediately after to reassure us. The noise from outside also woke a baby in the room next door who cried for some time after. We have children ourselves and are sympathetic, but we realised that there is a distinct lack of soundproofing. We were also apprehensive in the morning about the mess that might be outside our room, but there was none.

This all sounds negative - on the plus side, the staff are very pleasant and the location is good. Also when we went to check out the staff were very apologetic and had already given us a large refund off our bill.

However, the disturbances of the night meant we went away tired rather than relaxed and the whole episode has put us loff returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linc0lnlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for your comments and feedback concerning your stay with us and please accept my apologies for the unecessary disruption experienced at the time. I would like to reassure you that this incident was completely isolated and I am glad that my team handled the situation to your satisfaction. In the meantime, I am at your service and can be contacted directly at the hotel. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Good location for visiting York. Staff friendly ... breakfasts excellent ..however, wtach out for the eXtras when paying your bill.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank john_d_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments regarding your stay with us at Novotel York. With my team, I am very much looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tyneside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Booked this hotel through late rooms the day before and to be honest we were expecting a discounted, bland rent a box hotel with forgettable staff that would serve as a base while we were in York.

How wrong we were!! Nice, clean spacious rooms with a good lcd Tv (it was a premier? room that smelt and felt clean and was bright with a river view). The staff were very friendly and courteous and the car parking was a reasonable £6 overnight and the next day till we’d finished shopping and sightseeing. The hotel is close enough to York to walk in and easy enough to find (although it is set among houses, watch out for the signs!). The breakfast was excellent and you could eat it up to 10 o’clock. I would defiantly stop here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyneside_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments regarding your stay with us at Novotel York. With my team, I am very much looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing