We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly positioned family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfectly positioned family friendly hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

This hotel is on the banks of the river Ouse and 2 minutes walk to Cliffords Tower and the wonderful city walls. You can leave your car at the hotel and all the major attractions of York are within walking distance.
The hotel itself is great value for money. We had a superior room for 4. Not a great deal of room around the sofa bed when it was up but not really a problem It was helpful to have a seperate loo and bathroom when 4 are sharing! A little short on storage, no drawers only 3 shelves!
The hotel is very family friendly, having an X box and Wii in the large foyer along with large TVs and a play area for younger children. It was fine for children to play here safely and happily whilst the adults enjoyed a drink at the bar. The food was excellent. We stayed when the hotel was full and even at peak breakfast times there was no waiting for a table. Breakfast was all self service, buffet style, the food fresh and the choice fine. I recommend walking the length of the city walls to really soak up the history of York ( and it's free!), the Castle museum, Jorvik and the York dungeon are definitely enjoyable. All in all we had a great time in York, even our teenagers enjoyed themselves (which is not always the case as Mums and Dads know!)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaginanewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel York and with my team, Ilook forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    1,009
    475
    149
    86
See reviews for
908
933
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We enjoyed our recent three night stay and would recommend the Novotel York City entre for its good location for exploring York and great staff. Key features: location and staff. The rooms are pure Novotel (a bit quirky if you’ve never stayed before). The hotel has a large car park located on site. The swimming pool was nice after long days of exploring the city but was a bit small on occasion due to large number of guests staying over Easter Bank holiday weekend.

Considerations: the hotel is a bit tired around the edges but is undergoing refurbishments. Rooms could have been cleaned a bit better and weren’t as squeaky clean as other Novotel properties in which I’ve stayed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Thank you for your comments and compliments on the team. I am please that you enjoyed your stay in York and with my team, I very much look forward to welcoming you back and your family again soon. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi. P.S.: I have spoken directly to my Head Housekeeper regarding your comments to ensure that our high standard are kept at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Stayed here for two nights, 2 adults 2 children, sofa bed was ok for child but would have been nice for quilts to be used by children rather than well washed blankets. Travel cot had brown stains and well used linen again. Queen bed comfortable and quilts clean! Room tidy but needed to keep plug in sink drain to stop awful drainage smell, having done this the room was overall ok, but did not give you that wow feeling that you need on a break away. Breakfast was self service and good standard, swimming pool clean and well used by residents, unable to comment on other meals as restaurant had limited menus so advertised offers were not actually available, ended up eating out of hotel. Car parking is good and hotel location great for city. Overall its an OK hotel, but I'm sure there is better for your money.




Food was

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geckp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in York, your feedback is very important to us to continue to improve the quality of our services and I have spoken directly to both my Head Housekeeper and Engineer who have both assured me that the issues you have raised have now been addressed. In the meantime, I am at your service and can be contacted directly at the hotel. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Very friendly staff who couldnt do more. Very good for children. There is a pool, nintendo wii and x box all free of charge.
Rooms are clean
The breakfast included in our stay was fantastic with a wide variety of food.
I will definately go back when I next go to York.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiiGii2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your very kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel York and with my team, I very much look forward to welcoming you back and your family again soon. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

A 2-night stay over the Easter break with wife and 7 year-old. Parking and check-in fine. Hotel lobby nice, modern and with a couple of games machines (Wii and Xbox) to keep kids amused. Executive room clean and tidy, but too small to accommodate 3 of us - and very little storage / hanging space so hopeless for more than an overnight. Room overlooked local fun-fair which was noisy up until 10pm - we tried to get moved to a quieter room but all exec rooms are located on that side of the building apparently. (I didn't detect any real will from the front desk staff to move us to a better room, but maybe there was no real alternative). Exec room had a few gizmos like flat-screen TV (poor picture though), iPod dock, coffe machine etc. but really not a substitute for space to move around and storage for clothes etc, and definitely not worth £189 rack-rate. Breakfast was ok and staff nice and friendly. Pool (one of the attractions for us) was very small, and unsupervised so difficult to get going due to 'exuberant' kids. Location is fine for city-centre etc. Plenty to like about the hotel but a little expensive, and our room at least was too small for family - maybe they have family rooms which are better suited for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to read of your comments regarding the lack of storage space in your Executive Room (which is standard) and I can confirm that at this stage, all Executive Rooms are located on the riverside of the building. Thank you once again for your feedback which is important to us to continue to improve the quality of our services and should you wish to stay again in York in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We got a fairly good deal on this hotel – 20% discount on a superior room which was reasonably spacious, at the back of the hotel with nice river views – pity that you had to stand up to see them – floor to ceiling windows would have been lovely. At least you could actually open the window (cf. a Crowne Plaza where we stayed recently). Good sized car park (£6 per night).

Bed was comfortable but with only four pillows. Large flat-screen TV with keyboard, mini bar large enough to put your own water in. Wifi cost £9.99 per 24 hours (this was a deal that included films etc.). Separate toilet, rather gloomy and claustrophobic. Walk-in shower with two types of shower head – both good. The towels were a bit thin. Room was basically white, with pale woodchip-papered walls, one minimalist picture; it could have done with a bit more colour. Decent storage including proper wooden coathangers. Iron and ironing board – though ironing is the last thing I would do in a hotel – or anywhere, really.

Blissfully quiet. The only noise came from ducks quacking in the early morning.

Breakfast was OK – fairly limited choice of fruit and the cooked breakfast was a buffet and also a bit limited – no fried bread.. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and it was not good. Burger was OK but avoid the green Thai curry at all costs.

You can walk to the centre of York along the river bank but it is a 10-15 minute walk. Unless you can afford to stay somewhere like the Hilton or the Dean Court Hotel, I can’t see there is anywhere much more central. Lots of restaurants in the centre of York. We liked the Olive Tree opposite Clifford’s Tower.

It’s a corporate, rather bland hotel. But if you want a good night’s sleep in a clean, reasonable room, within walking distance of the centre of York, it’s fine, as long as you get a decent rate. The rack rate of £169 would be a bit of a joke.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and I am please that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel York. With my team, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordhisre, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2010

A long weekend in York with 2 small children was made much easier and very enjoyable, thanks to the team at Novotel. Adjoining rooms were fab. My daughter was poorly and the staff were fantastic.
Nice pool albeit a little small - unlikely to have a good swim once other people in there, and not a shallow end for lille ones.
Food good - the kids meals looked attractive and kids enjoyed them - a nice healthy selection as well as popular fish fingers etc.
Evening carvery very good value for money and fresh and tasty.
All staff very friendly and welcoming. Generally a good hotel for families - some people were enjoying WII and X box in th lobby!
10 minutes walk to attractions in the city and the city walls.
Right near the river for a nice stroll.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel York and with my team, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Ludovic Verzi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,798 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing