We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to explore York”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Limes
Ranked #27 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We chose the Hotel from Tripadvisor and it livedup to and beyond our hopes. It was easy to find and had ample free parking. The location is great for getting into York wether by foot, car or bus.
The family were very friendly and made us feel completely at home. Breakfast was good and the free Wifi was very welcome to let us update e.mail and plan out our next day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beentheredunthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

Very regular busses from just outside the hotel to the outlet centres and into York.It is about a 20 minute walk into York centre straight down the road for anyone who is reasobaly mobile.A large Aldi within very close walking distance.The road outside is fairly busy but i was never disturbed by traffic noise despite having a room at the front of the hotel. The rooms are large,clean and well decorated.They are well stocked with all the Little extras that make a four star hotel that bit extra special.They have lovely en suite bathrooms with electric shower and luxury toiletries and the hygiene is second to none.There is a kettle and the room well stocked with tea coffee chocolate biscuits and sweets.The pillows and bedding are very high quality and the beds very comfortable and clean.The bar is reasonably priced and well stocked beside a comfortable sitting room.The thing that has never faied to impress me however if the lovely restaurant with the best "award winning" breakfasts i have ever had.The menu and choice is really good and the owners always work hard to cater for special dietary request.The food has got to be the best i have had anywhere.Many thanks again for a wonderfull stay to the owners,Fiona and Ricardo and there lovely extended family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This Hotel was all what we were looking for............ we stayed 3 nights..........very friendly people............very clean...........lovely walk into the city (alongside the river) bus route good if you don't fancy the walk as it takes about 25 mins(we only used the bus back to the hotel at night) , lovely breakfast, we shall definately go back. We ate at some really good restaurants too.........Ninteen...........The Blue Bycyle and Zizzi all very good and if you go on a Ghost Walk the one that starts at the Kings Arms is a good one..........loads of history of York (Kings Arms is also a good real ale pub)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sheely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

well looked after , made very welcome , location was good and bus service into town was good

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart_roberts83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Very welcoming on arrival. A real boon is the free residents car park. We arrived and didn't use the car until home time! The room was perfect for what we needed, compact and very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts consist of wonderful locally sourced fare and are perfectly cooked to order.
As for York, It took us 20 minutes to walk from the hotel to the city centre along the River Ouse ( watch out for floods!).
Best meal ever? Mumbai Lounge on Fossgate. Delicious modern Indian food and very attentive service.
The only drawbacks were the lumpy pillows!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XrayLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Breakfast was well-cooked and delicious, with both cooked food to order available and a buffet table of mixed fresh fruits, yoghurt, probiotic drinks and cereal. The family was all extremely friendly and warm, and made our stay comfortable the best they could, but it was a bit of a far walk to the city centre, especially in winter (where the thick snow slows down walking quite significantly), about 30 minutes I would say, but perhaps 25 if you walked more briskly?

Gilchrist & Soames toiletries were provided, towels were replaced daily and there was even an iPod dock in the room - everything was excellent except the walk, so stay here if you don't mind a bit of a walk or have a car, but nearer to the city centre if the walk seems daunting.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We had a lovely weekend at the Limes. The Staff were lovely and helpful. The breakfast was great, just what you needed to set you up for the day.
It's a bit of a walk into town but the weather was good for us so we walked into town by the path down by the river, which is a lovely scenic walk, takes about 20-25 mins. If not you can always get the bus which stops just across the road. A taxi back costs about £6 which is reasonable too.

The room was very clean and I can't really find a fault with it, the bathroom was very small but that's about the only down side. It wasn't a problem for us. The staff were very helpful and the hotel generally had a lovely atmosphere. The bar is very nice with a lovely open fire. £4 a pint though, a bit on the pricey side.
All in all I really liked this hotel and chances are we will be going back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleigh1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkLucia, Owner at The Limes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2010

We are really glad that you had a lovely weekend and thank you for your positive comments.
Our bar is nice and cosy with the open fire and if you were charged £4.00 I am sorry as that was a mistake and it should have been £3.00 for a pint of Grolsch. Our apolgies and we hope that you do come back to see us again soon as you said in your review. With Kind Regards
All at The Limes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.5 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#10 of 195 in York
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 195 in York
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 195 in York
1,448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#17 of 195 in York
736 reviews
5.7 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Address: 135 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £98 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The Limes here in the historic city of York. We are a family run business and pride ourselves on the personal touch and attention to detail to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible which has earned us the 4 star rating and a Silver Award for guest accommodation providing bed and breakfast. For the last seven years since it started we have been awarded the Kellogs Breakfast Award for excellence. The limes is convenient for visiting the City of York as well as York Racecourse, York University, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet and The National Railway Museum to name but a few. Look out for our special offers and remember it is always better to book directly either on our own website, by e-mail or telephone which can all be found here on our listing. We hope to hear from you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing