We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Limes
Ranked #27 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ilfracombe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

my husband and i have just returned from a three night stay in this lovely hotel, when i booked i requested a quiet room as i have issues with noise!! we were given room 8 at the rear, a nice room - three great nights sleep! As other members have said the breakfast here is wonderful, beautifully cooked and served. well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsea100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    66
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
54
154
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We just got home from a two night break at The Limes. What a superb place - it feels more like staying with friends than staying in a B&B and it really is like a welcoming family home! The owners Ricardo and Fiona go out of their way to make you feel at home and are always well presented and smiling. Our bedroom was immacculate and supplies replenished as needed and the breakfasts were beautifully presented and very enjoyable.

All in all we couldn't find fault with anything - from the decor to the friendliness of the family all is first class - will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6childfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

First, this isn't a bad place to stay - it's just below what my wife and I expected for a 4 star and from reading the reviews. The good; location is good, well placed for public transport and only a 15 minute walk along the river into the city. Breakfast, no complaints at all, very good.

The service was friendly although we had no reason to ask for anything out of the ordinary. Getting replacement tea bags and milk for our room was more difficult. The owners has some friends or family round on the Saturday night, which was fine except that they could be heard until around 2 am, depriving us of our sleep. Back to the tea bags - my wife tried to catch the attention of one of the family during their party to get some extra tea bags, to no avail. She did catch their attention, but whoever it was decided not to do anything about it.

Generally the place was clean, although most of our towels were frayed. The mattress felt old, but I slept ok apart from the Saturday night. No blackout blinds either, and a rather small en-suite.
To sum up - nice enough place, overpriced and spoiled for us by a noisy Saturday night. Not the place for a romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We reviewed the Limes Hotel and arrived for a weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary with very high expectations and the Limes Hotel did not dissapoint. The excellent service began on our arrival with advice, information and directions on how to get to some of the key tourist attractions of York. Our room was very clean and well presented and the en-suite was spotless. There was an ample supply of tea and coffee available in the room and this was topped up every day. We chose to follow the advice of our hosts and walked to York centre following the river and this was a pleasant short walk. So much so that we never moved the car from arriving to leaving. The breakfast at the Limes Hotel is fantastic with plenty of choice and I strongly suggest you try the full english. All in all, this was terrific break and we would not hesitate to recommend the Limes Hotel to anyone. If you want a hotel with high standards, terrific service in a quieter part of York and offering a nice gentle walk into the city then don't waste time reading reviews of others because you have found what you are looking for. I am not one for writing reviews, but felt the Limes Hotel derserved credit for the quality of service we were given. Trust me you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ju_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Our room was clean, with a recently refurbished bathroom. Only complaint was old, flattened pillows. Excellent breakfast, excellent service, near public transport, good value for money. Away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of York.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackEllisTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We called in on the off-chance looking for an overnight stopover on our way to London. The lady was extremely welcoming and we had a very comfortable stay. The place was immaculate and the breakfast superb. The best thing was their willingness to assist when I left my insulin package behind. They quickly assisted and sent it off by courier to our London hotel. They wouldn't even accept my offer to pay the courier fee which is amazingly wonderful and I am very grateful to them for such kindness. Their Silver Award should be instantly upgraded to Gold in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We arrived late afternoon looking for a place to stop overnight on our way to London. The lady was so welcoming and we had a very comfortable stay in this charming B&B. The whole place was immaculate and the breakfast superb, setting us up for the day ahead. What really impressed me was their willingness to help out when I inadvertently left my insulin package behind. They were quick to get it couriered to our hotel in London and for that I am extremely grateful. They would not even let me pay for the courier which was amazingly wonderful. Thank you so much - Your Silver Award should be upgraded to Gold in our opinion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
726 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
1,371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#18 of 192 in York
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#74 of 192 in York
271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Burton Stone Inn
Burton Stone Inn
#21 of 192 in York
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Property: The Limes
Address: 135 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The Limes here in the historic city of York. We are a family run business and pride ourselves on the personal touch and attention to detail to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible which has earned us the 4 star rating and a Silver Award for guest accommodation providing bed and breakfast. For the last six years since it started we have been awarded the Kellogs Breakfast Award for excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing