We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Would you stay here again?" You bet I would !!”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Limes
Ranked #26 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Would you stay here again?" You bet I would !!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Just come back from taking my wife for a surprise weekend in York and I have to say, I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. What a fantastic guest house - all that you read in the reviews, we just couldn't fault it and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying there. As for the breakfast, clearly deserves its award winning title - absolutely beautiful. Thank you Fiona for a wonderful stay. Mr & Mrs Klus

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    66
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
54
148
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
sheffield uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just stayed at the limes 09/02/2013----10/02/2013, what can i say ,1st class accomodation , my wife and i and two boys stayed in the family room, spotless , spacious, lovely , very well equipped , Nothing was much trouble for Ricardo and wife the owners , helped us with taxi's told us best places to go . Breakfast the next morning was exceptional quality and very nice too, Great bar also private car park --10 out of 10 , Thank you very much, we will be booking for a weekend stay in april for my wifes birthday , see you then

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

A second visit to the Limes only served to confirm my last report. It is such a warm and welcoming place you will not fail to feel very much welcomed and at home. In a charming setting the public rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable, and the bedrooms have all that is needed and are beautifully decorated and maintained. Breakfast is a real treat and must not be rushed. The staff are so very friendly and helpful this is my only choice when visiting York.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 373Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My Husband and I recently stayed at The Limes Hotel for a long weekend. From check-in we were made to feel like house guests rather than B&B guests. We cannot fault the friendliness and helpfulness of hotel staff!
Our double room was spacious, extremely clean, well equipped and beautifully decorated with a great range of tea/coffee and biscuits. There was pleanty of space to store our luggage and shopping! The en-suite had a fantastic range of toiletries and the shower was warm and relaxing. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable and snuggly (we stayed in December!).
Breakfast was exceptional, the full English included high quality ingredients. The guest dining area and lounge were beautifully decorated. It was lovely to relax in front of the real fire after a long day shopping with a drink from the licensed bar!
Visiting in December, it must also be added that The Limes was beautifully decorated for Christmas! It really got us into the festive spirit! It really was a home from home. We hope to return to York for a break next year and will DEFINATELY be staying at The Limes! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This bed and breakfast is a great place to stay. The hosts are friendly and make an effort to make you feel welcome. The room is spacious, decorated to a high standard and absolutely spotless. There is ample room for storage with a large wardrobe although we were only staying the night. A good selection of hot drinks are available to make in the room as are the range of toiletries in the bathroom. The towels were of a lovely fluffy quality and there is only one word for the power shower, amazing! The room at 2pm was heated just right with radiators on which was lovely on a chilly Autumn afternoon. The radiators at 11.30pm were still on so we could dry our very wet clothes overnight. The bed was incredibly comfy with crisp white sheets.
The breakfast was divine; cereal, beautiful fruit salad and a full English. They also offer yogurts, fruit juice and lighter meals such as scrambled egg on toast. The bacon and sausage were of very good quality, runny fried egg, fresh tomatoes and mushrooms lightly cooked and juicy. We were also offerd a choice of brown or white toast, jam and marmalade.
On leaving we were able to leave our car on the free car park whilst we walked into the centre of York. The walk is only 20 minutes into the heart of York but there are buses available. We went as a couple but it is suitable for all ages and group sizes from solo to a family of four plus.

A friendly, personal, family run B n B which we could not fault even if we had tried, fantastic! We will be back most definitely. Thank you very much to the Limes.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Lovely hotel, made welcome from the start:- Breakfast lovely :- decorated to a high standard room spacious with extras such as hairdryer, toiletries, fridge for drinks and lots of tea and coffee in room. After much searching for accomodation we are so glad we stayed, a little out of town but on bus route and taxi line direct from hotel pay phone would definately revisit for a stay in york again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The room was on the first floor - average size with just enough room to open our cases on the floor. Two chairs as well. The Ensuite was small but functional.
The room was nicely decorated and very clean. It had central heating for the evenings - during the day we could open the window for freah air.
The room was quiet being at the back, and we weren't aware of other guests coming and going. The wifi worked well, car parking was limited but the street was quiet and we were happy to park there.
Breakfast was very nice and substantial.
The hostess was friendly and helpful with advice on transport, shopping, sites, etc The place is on a bus route, and also easy access to the ring road for drivers. There is an Aldi supermarket 5 mins away, and you can walk into York centre (30 mins?)
It was only a short taxi trip from the railway station. Buses were frequent and took you to a stop just past Cliffords Tower.
We enjoyed our few days here.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper - just in case the main road traffic is an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#13 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#17 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#40 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#73 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Property: The Limes
Address: 135 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The Limes here in the historic city of York. We are a family run business and pride ourselves on the personal touch and attention to detail to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible which has earned us the 4 star rating and a Silver Award for guest accommodation providing bed and breakfast. For the last six years since it started we have been awarded the Kellogs Breakfast Award for excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing