We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Limes
Ranked #28 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I arrived in York at about 6.00pm, and pulled into The Limes on the way into town. Secured a nice eat room. Owner was very helpful with his tips for York, and cooked a very nice breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    66
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
53
145
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have just returned from a one night stay at The Limes with my parents. We arrived at between 10.30 and 11am and our room was ready for us. Our welcome was warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. We were told about the breakfast times and given information about the best routes to take into town and to the racecourse. The walk into town by the water was beautiful and took no more than 20minutes, maybe less. It was a lovely location, just outside the main bustling streets but not too far that it was a struggle to walk. The breakfast was lovely, with cooked, cereals, fruits and yogurt available. The price was very reasonable as well. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the you do also. Thanks for a lovely night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emj2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Limes is a great example of the very best B&B's. Very professionally run yet homely and welcoming - Fiona and Ricardo are very friendly hosts. Our 2 rooms were a good size and immaculate. All of this complemented by a high quality breakfast. It's located just outside the busy part of the city, so we left the car in the car park each day and strolled into the city centre, the main part along the river. It's about 25 minutes to walk, but there's frequent buses if it's raining. Our first choice for future race meetings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Limes for 4 nights B&B. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, we had a lovely room with a beautiful en-suite bathroom which was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the B&B. There is a TV lounge to relax in and in another room a small bar, the breakfast was excellent with a good choice of full english, cereals, toast, yogurts and fruit. The location is ideal as the short walk along the river into York was very pleasant. I would definitely recommend The Limes to anyone wishing to visit York and we look forward to going back in the near future. Carol & Michael

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolriley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last week. Really enjoyed our overnight stop and we are already planning a return visit in the near future. Lovely welcoming family run hotel.the hotel is ideally situated being a short, twenty minute walk from the city centre. It is also handy for the retail outlet, only a short car trip or the bus to the outlet passes the door. Really liked the fact that there was a little bar- stopped for a night cap there .breakfast was cooked to perfection. All together a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed at The Limes for 2 nights B&B over the music weekend at the races.
Firstly the location is perfect for the racecourse, 20 minutes stroll away (bit longer in heels)
For the city centre it's a similar distance and due to York's flatness this is easy.
The owners are very welcoming and really helpful - we needed somewhere to eat at short notice and were advised to go to Il Paradiso Del Cibo which is a great small Italian on Walmgate - reviewed separately.
Breakfast at The Limes is fantastic and something they really take pride in.
So the rooms, a few reviews claim they are dated, etc. Whilst not being 'trendy' i found that the rooms were suitable for our needs and contained everything people could need away from home - even Fox Glacier sweets!
Price was reasonable at £95 per night on races weekend.
Would definitely recommend and next time I stay in York my first choice will be here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent two weeks at The Limes and really enjoyed our stay. We felt very welcome as the owners were really nice and helpful at all times. The location is good, York city centre is only a twenty minute walk away and a somewhat longer walk in the other direction brings you to the university. There are also good bus connections in both directions. I really loved eating breakfast at The Limes, as the owners would make us personalised versions of English breakfast every day, and after a couple of days they remembered who wanted what and had breakfast ready when we came down to eat. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#18 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#40 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#71 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Property: The Limes
Address: 135 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The Limes here in the historic city of York. We are a family run business and pride ourselves on the personal touch and attention to detail to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible which has earned us the 4 star rating and a Silver Award for guest accommodation providing bed and breakfast. For the last six years since it started we have been awarded the Kellogs Breakfast Award for excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing