We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Just got home after spending 3 nights on a birthday trip to york
Elmbank is a lovely hotel, every staff member was very helpful
& cheerful.Elmbank is full of history, it was lovely to be able to sit by the big open fire on the comfy leather sofa's of a evening to relax
with a drink or meal after a busy day round town
we are three ladies of a cartain age, stayed in three single rooms, all lovely.comfy & Clean , bathrooms were out of this world, much better than we were expecting,got a GREAT deal as well, had aFAB weekend at Elmbank, we WILL 100% stay there the next time 8-))

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heriot-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    294
    268
    202
    220
See reviews for
142
564
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A beautiful building disguises rooms that have not had attention since the 70s. Fixtures and fittings were ancient and in poor condition. The shower took ten minutes for the hot water to come through but worse, and unforgiveably the room wasn't clean. There was dirt around the taps and thick dust all over the bathroom floor. This was resolved by housekeeping on request but shouldnt have arisen in the first place. Staff were friendly enough on arrival but no apology was offered when we complained about the cleanliness. Yes the location was convenient but in the days of the minimum standard offered by premier inn etc, it represented very very poor value and I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My friend and I both thought this hotel was very nice, clean with very comfortable beds, the rooms we were in were a bit tired and could have done with a make-over, having said that we had clean towels each morning and the bed linen was clean and crisply white, breakfast was good and plentiful and the hotel foyer, lounge, restaurant and breakfast room were all beautifully decorated, you felt as if you were staying in a country house. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lena900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I suppose we should come to expect that hotels in 'destination' towns like York don't really need to bother. £85 for a double bed nothing else. Not even a pleasant hello. So the Elmbank has little to do to keep full. The fine 'arts and craft' foyer will keep some happy but actually the lack of attention to customer care, cleanliness and basic good value confirms they just don't need to bother.

It is such a pity, with a little managerial oversight, a bit of business passion, a bit of vision this could be a cracking destination in a destination town. But alas, the poor tourists search for something reasonably in-budget have to put up with cack. it reflects badly on the hotel chain, it reflects badly on York and alas reflects badly on low paid staff who do their best within a management structure that sees profit before product.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chawkesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

this hotel does not give a good cheery welcome .On departure there is no comments card to fill in and on booking out no did you enjoy your stay or have a safe journey .All these little things contribute to a return. The wet towel which was used was refolded and put back on the bed the next day.screws from the door and a metal piece from the bath were just left on the side. The room was very dusty and the carpet needed a good clean To top it all 12.45 am very noisy guests in the next room .Lots of improvements needed here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowy04g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have stayed in hotels for many years across the UK, Europe & Middle East for business & pleasure - from Jumeirah Beach, Dubai; Banyan Tree Bahrain to Mrs Barnes' B & B in Bournemouth. So hopefully I can give a fair assessment.

I chose this hotel on price - had 1 double & 1 twin [£106 total for B&B]. Travelled with the family.

The hotel is in a good location, just 10 minutes walk to the City Walls [comfortable walking pace]. Arrived early and no objection to leave car in the car park and check in later after 2pm. Receptionist helpful, ordered coffee & Receptionist brought it to us in the lounge - very much a wealthy country house impression. Note, car parking is limited.

Returned to check in about 6pm. Greeted by a different Receptionist, who must be the young Receptionist that others have commented about.

Double room [227] - the smallest I have every had - poor decor, dimly lit. Ensuite barely the size of a broom cupboard - with shower only and in desprate need of a refit.

Twin room [230] - ensuite with bath - reasonable size room & decor.

Breakfast standard and set up is no different to any other budget 3 star hotel. Only one waiter on duty, who at times struggled to keep up as it was busy.

On departure, the "young" receptionist on duty again. Really needs customer service training - signs of efficiency, but a cold, uncommunicative approach and creates the wrong impression.

May be family run and yes, it is an old building, but not 3 star by todays standards and investment is much needed. Served our purpose for one night and If you see the right staff, get the right rooms at the right price, then it could be a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_ATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Having made the mistake of reading the reviews of this hotel after booking it we were a little worried but I really don’t understand what people were moaning about. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful though not gushing! Checking in and out was very efficient. The lounge, bar and dining areas were beautiful and very unusual. Our room was in the old part of the hotel and was large with a small but functional bathroom. The water pressure was not brilliant but there was plenty of hot water and this is after all an older hotel. If I was going to be picky the décor and carpet would have benefited from an update but the bed was comfortable and looked new and the bedding was crisp and white. There was a modern TV and plenty of tea coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. The breakfast was good with a good range of both cooked and continental. This hotel is what it says on the package an independently owned well placed, 3 star older hotel and it was good value for money. If you want 5 Star then go and stay in a 5 star hotel and be prepared to pay for it. Although in my opinion this does not guarantee a better service. Thank you to all at Elmbank Hotel for a lovely long weekend in York.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,280 reviews
1.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing