We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the good reviews of this place; it is awful!”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ignore the good reviews of this place; it is awful!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I were booked into this hotel at the alst minute by a friend who was entertaining us at Middlethorpe Hall. Unfortunately Middlethorpe Hall made an error on our booking so our friend, at the last minute, booked us in at the Elmbank. We were still due at Middlethorpe Hall for our black tie event at 7pm and arrived for check-in, a quick shower and change at Elmbak at 6.15. First impressions count and the smell of stale fags and an overflowing cigarette bin at the front door isn't a good look. The arts and crafts entrance way, however, made one hopeful that this was to be a minor hiccup, but it wasn't. The smell of cooking oil pervaded the reception and the general shabbiness of the place jjust reaked of neglect. The receptionist checked us in by rote, i.e. without any charm or warm welcome. We were 'sort of' directed to our room across the road in another building. Upon opening the door to this building we knew immediately what the room was going to be like and it didn't disappoint.
Other reviews have said that the place smelled of dust and that's true but even more so. It's as if the whole building is dying and is coughing up phlegm dring its' last gasps of air. Dated, cheap, dirty furniture and bed linend in a room that was so small. My wife and I looked at each and turned to return to reception, handed the keys in and telling the charmless receptionist that the room was disgusting. No attempt was made to apologise and we left.
We were so upset with this (not least that a friend had booked us into such a place) that we returned home immediately without going to our black tie event which we had looked forward to for months.
Just look at the number of awful reviews this place has and you will get a sense of why you shouldn't go here. Look at the website and see the dated bed linen (this si far better than we were given) and the awful chairs in the restaurant. Also seee that there are no AA, RAC or Tourist Office star ratings to be seen proudly displayed on the website. See that none of the Tripadvisor reviews have management comments attached. The owners and management of this place should be ashamed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    289
    264
    201
    217
See reviews for
139
554
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

From the outside this looks like quite a grand hotel, however the rooms are more than a little tired. Having said that the rooms are clean and comfortable. and the 5-10 walk to Mickelgate makes up for feeling like you've stepped back into the 80's!!

I just used the hotel as a base, and for that it was certainly good. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone looking for more than that.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My Wife and I booked this hotel through Thomas Cook. We looked at this for a mini honeymoon as we couldn't travel too far as we have a small child.
Although it looks quite nice from the outside it was different story when we got inside. The place is very shabby, most rooms look like they are falling to pieces. The bar was manned by a very rude bar maid. The bar also looks terrible, all the seats are falling apart and the decor is an eye sore!
We booked a double room (as in a double bed) however it was two singles pushed together. The room was not clean at all and i do not have high standards. Bathroom was filthy, toilets not cleaned etc. The room looked like they had just thrown any furniture, curtains together that they could find. Nothing matched. They did not even put the heating on for the night time and it was freezing!
Also the walls were so thin the man in the next room was snoring and this disturbed sleep ) I realise this was not the hotels fault but if you are a light sleeper this place would not be for you. Plus the beds and pillows were shocking.
Staff at the hotel (bar one nice receptionists who was willing to help) were rude not jut to us but to many others whilst we were there.
The breakfasts on the morning was of poor quality.
Luckily we were out of the hotel for most of our two day stay but that was not really the point of our trip as we wanted to relax. However, very good location as it is just a 10 minute walk in to the town centre.
this is the first review i have wrote as I do not wish someone else to have the same experience as we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary86329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Booked the elmbank hotel, on arrival told we had to go to the lodge over the road, which has no staff or facilities had to let yourself in at the front door, smelt damp throughout and the bed looked like a cat had been scratching it, very rundown, and the towels smelt of old cooking fat, there was a bar at the Elmbank Hotel but no staff serving and no staff at reception, very poor service. Good location 10 minute walk to town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peaches4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Cons:
- a little "tired" deco
- not much parking

Pro:
- Good location at one of the main town
- good sized room

Overall a good stay for me - I just needed a room to sleep overnight.

Room Tip: I stayed in the rooms at the back of the hotel, might be a bit quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I am amazed by some of the reviews here-"the wallpaper near our bed had a small tear"!!!!
Wonderful building and very helpful staff. Food was good and we found it very restful. Parking was not a problem as the website inferred- adequate parking though some is on the street.. Bathrooms very nice with easy to use shower & plenty of hot water. If you want the RITZ this is not it. A huge building takes a lot of maintaining & there were blemishes. But do you want to pay RITZ prices. Do you want to stay in your room all day & sleep with the light on? Reception is manned all night for you 'night owls' and it is very good value for anyone who likes elegant surroundings close enough to the city to leave the car and walk in, as we did. We find that if you treat staff with respect, they reciprocate. Enjoy your stay-the city's wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Fabulous old building, let down by a failure to care for it; really needs a packet of J cloths and a bucket of love to sort it out. Disappointing...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing