We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Great friendly staff. Swapped room free of charge when I booked wrong room. Lovely big room clean and tidy. Would definitely visit again. Staff are on hand if you ave a problem. 24/7 lovely place ......................

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    295
    269
    202
    220
See reviews for
142
564
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

33 rd visit to York in last 5 years, having stayed in many different hotels, guest houses etc in the area. This was probably my 8 th stay at the Elmbank and it fits my needs. Easy to find, not far from the City Centre. Parking can be a problem at times, but staff advise on local street parking, but you need to move your car before 9 am( check), as there are wardens about. The staff have always been friendly and have always enjoyed our stays. This time, it was a one night stay before a 2 night stop in Teeside. Bar meals were finishing at 8.30 pm , we arrived at 8.25 pm and the staff kindly arranged for the kitchen to stay open, which was appreciated after a 7 hour drive. Enjoyed our bar meal , in front of the fire place, with a room full of character. Surprised some of the comments about distance from the city centre. We are middle aged and do it easily as other guests I have seen manage it. You walk about 200 yards and are looking at Micklegate Tower , part of the City Walls. You then walk dowhill towards the Bridge over the River and you are looking at some iconic York views. The bar staff are friendly. No problems with rooms, this time staying in the courtyard section. I could have stayed here for 3 nights for the same price as one night in a famous hotel chain, in city centre. I much prefer the character and homeliness of the Elmbank.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordHafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, ratings and return visits.

The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II listed building which still retains many of it's original features and has soul. It is a fantastic place to work where we meet lots of new faces and like yourself, return visitors. Parking at the premises is limited. When our own parking is full we are able to use the permit street around the corner from 4:30pm until 9:30am the following morning. Sunday mornings are ok as there are no restrictions.

A seasoned walker measured the distance to the first Bar Wall (Micklegate) which is a mere 600 meters. This can sometimes feel like a chore to walk when you have large baggage and you are a first time visitor. York is a very small City however it is jam-packed, full to bursting with something around every corner and alleyway.

The Management and Staff wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we booked 5 rooms for last night 3/1/14. What a lovely hotel. yeah if you want to be picky and expect high quality for low price. on entering receptionist was nice and polite dealt with us very quickly. Rooms where clean beds clean and crisp. lovely shower room (cubicles were a bit small but usable). walls were a bit thin but not a problem for us. Bar not badly price both staff were nice enough. had quite nice chat with one of them. telling us where we can go later. all in all a canny hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taximen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and rating.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to York and The Elmbank Hotel & Lodge. Hopefully we will see you in the future.

The Management and Staff would like to wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Dont go there. It is just horrible. My room was disgusting. Old worn out and dirty furniture, the bed was horrible, a large insect was hanging on the ceiling just above the bed - had I not had to pay upfront when booking this hole I would have left. In fact I went to reception and asked for my money back because I wanted to leave but of course - no luck. The best thing was that it was really hot weather and they had the heating on in the hall way - so my room was becoming unbearably hot. When asking why they had the heating on with an outside temperature of 27° C the answer was "we always have the heating on for one hour". Why in the middle of summer???? I suppose to keep the damp in check. At breakfast there was only one "waiter" present who actually complained to me that the guests are all arriving at the same time for breakfast and that he was so busy. Incredible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Kamibe,

Thank you for your feedback and rating.

We very often have visitors from warmer overseas countries during the summer months who ask to have the heating turned on as Britain is still a little cool for them. All radiators in bedrooms and corridors have a temperature control valve to suit individual needs. We also offer portable fans at no extra cost to our guests.

Although we serve breakfast from 7:30am most of our guests come to dine in the last half hour of service.

The Management and Staff would like to wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I come from a non-English speaking country but I will try best to express myself .

The building of this hotel has a history for at least 140 years, they have a book you can find on the desk at the entrance of the bar telling you the stories and lectures, you will find them really attractive.

The staffs are nice and the food is good, though the breakfast is a bit expensive. The decoration is very fascinating and the price is pretty affordable.

The only thing that bothered me is that the walls are paper thin and you can easily hear people walking and talking outside. I understand that due to the time that the construction is built, it is no easy job to re-do anything, but anyway, try to fix it and I am very look forward to revisiting here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and rating.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your visit to the Elmbank Hotel & Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

The Management and Staff would like to wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th stay at The Elmbank for our annual gentlemen Christmas get together.

The slating of the hotel has always bemused us for whilst it has its faults its never been the hotel from hell that is suggested here. The hotel has real definite charm particularly the public areas and offers a refreshing change to the corporate sterile purpose built hotels.

Admittedly The quality of rooms can vary but on the whole they are clean and certainly warm.

Staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

All in all a pleasant stay and will be back next year.





Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rufussed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and rating.

We value your repeated custom and look forward to welcoming you again next year.

The Management and Staff would like to wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have just returned from the most dreadful experience at the Elmbank! The building looks v nice from outside although the side entrance with the annex lets it down. The downstairs interior is also v nice - comfy sofas, dark wood, nice staircase. Staff not v friendly. We were in a room on the balcony surrounding the main room of the house. looked good as we went through the nice wooden door with our room no. That was a facade, leading to v tatty corridor of rooms behind. Not so good! The room was v small though had nice balcony overlooking the main road. V tired looking and basic - chipped formica cabinet, no bedhead, dirty carpet, pillows ripped with v strange filling and plastic covers. Bathroom looked nice tho shower and sink v, v small, v low water pressure. Biscuits provided but not replaced if you left any half used from day before. Tv was good size though twice came on to radio 3 in middle of the night. when switched off. We had read various reviews which mentioned noise - unfortunately we ignored that at our peril. It was dreadful - could literally hear every single word and noise from rooms on either side, anyone in the corridor seemed to be coming in to our room. The partition moved when we touched it, it was so thin. We ended up hardly speaking, then only whispering due to the sound problem. Any romantic ideas were definitely out! Could not wait to leave and will definitely never repeat this awful experience.

Room Tip: just avoid, full stop!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II listed building which still retains many of its original features.

The internal walls have changed over the years since the Elmbank has been an Hotel. Some of these walls are there for our guests safety and have fire doors leading off onto the balcony area. Noise levels from the lounge area would at times be quite unbearable if it were not for the corridor which leads to our front rooms.

Staff are on hand 24 hours to rectify problems as and when they should arise, this includes have a discrete word with would be noisy neighbours.

Some but not all of our bathrooms have been refurbished. We are in the process of redecoration to the bedrooms. This is a slow process as York is a very popular destination for commuters as well as holidaymakers.

The Management and Staff hope to see you in the future but in the meantime wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#43 of 46 in York
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing