We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below the standard required for the price”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 23 March 2014

First impression was good, nice building exterior and reception. However in gaining entry to our room it was just below the standard we expected for the price. Furniture was dated and shabby. The wallpaper was coming away and just overall appearance was not that nice. On the plus side the bed was comfy and the shower was good so if that's all you want then the elmbank is fine. Good location too, just let down by the aged and worn interior if you are after a treat.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunny338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Dunny,

Thank you for your review and rating.

Refurbishments have commenced within the Hotel however this is a slow process as York is a very popular City.

The Management and Staff hope that you will return to York and The Elmbank Hotel & Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and only paid £55 which is a great price for being so close to York centre. However I wouldn't have paid anymore than £55.
The management must see the repeat comments about cleanliness. Our room had been 'surfaced cleaned' as behind the beds, skirting boards, shower head, windows were all filthy with inches of dust. The phone in the room had a weird brown/blood coloured stain on it!!
The room and bathroom were a decent size and the flat screen tv was nice. But the pillows were a crunchy nylon feel - not comfy.
It was a lovely oldy worldy building, but no atmosphere. On arrival we were firmly greeted with "you can't check in yet" as we arrived before 2pm. I already knew this as I'd had a rather curt email saying we couldn't check in early, but we just wanted to leave our bags.
Had we have been asked on check out if everything was ok - I might have explored some of these issues. But as we were barely acknowledged, we left.
Probably wouldn't stay again although I must stress the price and location for this trip was spot on - but you should never lose out on basic cleanliness no matter how cheap the room is. The rest of the hotel appeared clean and tidy.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Westerdale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Westerdale,

Thank you for your review and rating.

Our Staff are on hand 24 hours a day to resolve any issues that may arise during your stay, this service includes housekeeping duties. Alternative accommodation is offered if the original allocation is not to your liking (on availability).

The Management and Staff hope that you will consider using our Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just returned from a long weekend at the Elmbank Hotel in York. We booked on a deal which included breakfast. We were greeted by friendly reception staff, went into bar for a drink while waiting a few minutes for our room to be ready. Given key, made our way up sweeping staircase overlooking the central hallway. Went into our spacious room with a huge double bed, big bathroom with a bath and shower over. Tray made up with yummy biscuits and well stocked with milk, tea, coffee, hot chocolate (all topped up daily) Bar and reception service very good throughout stay, they even provided some dominoes for us to use when spending an evening in front of the fire . Bar not staffed but reception staff more than happy to come to serve drinks from a good selection at very reasonable prices. Dined in the restaurant one night, food hot and delicious. Breakfast buffet style with good selection of hot food, cereals, fruit, yogurts and fruit juices. Tea or coffee and toast served to the table by a charming waiter. A short 15 min walk takes you straight into York with all its great history and sights. Opulent surroundings, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Our room was 232 in the main hotel. Floor boards had character creaking as you would expect from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryFEssexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Terry,

Thank you for making your reservation with the Elmbank Hotel & Lodge.

The Management and Staff a very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return in the future and also hope you won the game of dominoes.

Thank you for a lovely review :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The building looked fabulous and we automatically had high hopes, specially entering the building; viewing the open fire place and sofas. All looked so good.
However, we were greeted by a rather okay staff who didn't make much effort to smile, nevertheless we carried on.

The rooms are small for my liking and you get the thought that they tried to fit a room in every single corner! We had difficulty in taking suitcases up the narrow stairs.

We entered the room only to find dust on the chairs and bits of crumbs.
When we were heading out, we bought it upto the notice of the receptionist you swiftly phoned up and got the issue sorted.

We also asked for advice for buses and transportation to city centre and were helpfully guided to the right path! The best thing is the location of the hotel. It is just 10/15 minutes walk.

After a long day out, I used the shower.. It was all Clogged up and the water wouldn't go through! Again, phoned up reception by dialing 0 (total guess) who then came up and sorted it out after a dreary and smelly process!!

Another issue is the wifi : you don't get wifi in the rooms at all, you have to go to the lounge to use it which is not ideal! Even then the wifi didn't work, it couldn't be connected through. Brought it up to the notice again, but issue was unresolved. Being a tech expert.. I tried everything in my power to fix it incase it was a problem with my laptop but it wasn't, other guests (teenagers) had the same issue as I overheard them talking to the receptionist.
The building is old hence noisy floor boards. On my 2nd night which was a Friday night, I didn't get any sleep at all. I could constantly hear the floor boards above me creeking!

Parking is limited but got a space and kept my car there! Walked everywhere in case I lost the space.

Toilet was stained (yellow) inside which was not very pleasing to see!

Pros : the toilets were refurbished, taps were the highest quality.
The staff kindly phoned us to let us know the check out was at 11 am.. Overstayed for an hour but they didn't mind!
Location

Decent customer service but I didn't overly enjoy my stay!







Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Craig,

Thank you for your review and rating, we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

I am very pleased that we were able to resolve the issues that arose during your stay.

Unfortunately the WiFi is only available in the public areas of the Hotel at the moment. If guests are having trouble connecting we re-set our system which normally fixes it.

The Management and Staff hope that you will return to York and the Elmbank Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you like oldie worldly buildings then this is for you only problem is it comes with oldie worldly muck and dirt. On entering the room the light switch at the side of the door works nothing. You have to walk across the bedroom in the dark to find the bedside lamp with the shade hung off, The bath room is disgusting, the toilet has never been cleaned behind and is disgusting under the bowel rim. Any body bigger than sixteen stone would get stuck between the bath and wall if they used the toilet. When in bed if any body walks up the hall then the floor creaks and wakes you up.
When the heating starts it bangs and creaks. You can hear all of what goes on in the next rooms. Getting served at the bar is a joke you could have died of thirst due to staff running from one job to another. Comments posted that the building has on going renovations they must have ghosts as builders as we never saw any and no new fittings etc. Poor people who have just booked.
Rubbish would not recommend as we paid £180.00 for two nights.

Room Tip: Do not go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We are very saddened that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

The bedroom allocated has a refurbished bathroom with black and white themed tiles, chrome fittings, new extractor fan and shower. The bedroom has not yet been modernised due to the timescale of things but it will be done in the future.

These refurbishments are done with the greatest of respect to our guests comfort, we try to keep any noise to a minimum and use service entrances where possible. Any noisy work is carried out between 11am and 2pm when most guests have gone out for the day. This is also when most of our housekeeping duties are done so as not to disturb guests.

Our Bar staff also serve meals in the evenings and have to work between numerous places as some of our guests like to eat in different areas of the Hotel. They are not normally any longer than the time it takes to get from the kitchen to the bar area.


The Hotel is a Grade II listed building circa 1870's. Floors do creak due to heat expansion as well as from being walked on. If noise levels from other guests get bothersome our Staff are on hand 24 hours to resolve the situation. Our Staff will also undertake any housekeeping chores that may have been missed. We will even change your room if the original allocation doesn't suit any individual needs (on availability).

The Management and Staff hope that you will return to York and consider visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is in a excellant location but in need of a bit of TLC the building as charm and very homely with its open fires and lovely sofas its nice to relax in the lounge before you have a busy day exploring York and its attractions which are easily reachable by foot 15 mins walk approx but there is a excellent bus services every 5 mins and the last bus back is around1130pm but its only around£5 in a taxi I recommend the punch bowel for your breakfast opens early and you can have a full breakfast for£3-40 its on the main road blossom street about 10 mins walk Now back to the hotel its in need of updating a little bit but hopefully without losing its charm but it deffainatly needs agood cleaning the rooms were very dusty and smelt a bit foisty but the rooms were well equipped with a modern flat screen TV which as cable free view channels movies etc there is a kettle with tea coffee n milk which was refreshed every day same as the towels are which was nice there was also a hair drier and soap n shower gel in the bathroom The wardrobe and drawer space would be a problem if you stay week but we started a couple of nights so just about enough room all in all enjoyable stay the staff nice and friendly good hotel for a short stay and good hotel for the price

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank andypandy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for your recent review and rating, we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

Accommodation within the Hotel is currently being refurbished however this is a slow process as York gets busier and busier each year.

The Elmbank is a Grade II listed building which is fantastic as it will never lose it's charm. If it wasn't a Hotel it should be a museum. They definitely don't build things like they used to.

There are no two rooms the same within the Hotel, they are all different dimensions, we try to allocate a suitable room for the length of stay per guest. It isn't always possible due to demand.

The Management and Staff hope that you will return to York in the future and pay us a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on my own, hotel was fine. Shower could have been a bit cleaner but decent facilities in room, great breakfast. On a fairly busy road but a well lit 10 minute walk to city centre. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Jeanette,

Thank you for your recent review and rating.

The Hotel is situated 600 metres from the City boundary wall to the south side. This is good for guests who don't really want to be in the thick of things and also for guests who do, not far too walk. There is also a very good local bus service and taxis within York are very reasonably priced.

The Management and Staff are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
683 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#44 of 47 in York
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £43 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing