We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back in time...”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Going back in time...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The positives for this hotel is that it's clean, it's in a great location and the rooms are a good size and quiet. Oh, and it's cheap.
The hotel itself is incredibly dated and worn out, the place is so tired! Cheap and nasty bedding, tiny single beds with limp pillows. Kettle took 15 mins to boil and the shower hot-cold-boiling hot-cold again.
The service is set in the past with dreary staff distinctly lacking in customer service. Cold, unfriendly staff who definitely did not make us feel welcome. We were instructed "pay on check in" - which I don't like. They're obviously used to a string of complaints so I guess this way they hedge their bets. The charges were wrong so that wasted a good 10 minutes trying to sort. Upon check out we were informed we owed an extra £20 (for reasons unexplained). Complete shambles.
We didn't eat at the hotel, after all it was less than appealing to sit in a dated room completely lacking atmosphere. We did however book afternoon tea on arrival: pots of bulk made tea/coffee and dry scones. When my friend initially booked this for arrival she asked for Prosecco to which the member of staff didn't know what she was talking about and said they'd 'ask the kitchen'. After a difficult time explaining she was best to ask the BAR - we finally resolved they don't serve Prosecco, only Asti....
Stay here for the location, but don't expect much more than that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear SuzieB,

Thank you for your review and rating.

The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II Listed building which still retains many of the original features.

Our Company policy is to accept payment on arrival for accommodation, any incidentals are paid for on departure. It was understood that out of a party of eight guests only seven people were paying. The lead guest had the accommodation covered by all others in the group. This meant there was a £20 shortfall as the original total was divided by 8.

Staff were at your disposal 24 hours a day during the two night break and would have resolved any issues brought to their attention. Unfortunately we were unable to prove ourselves as nothing was reported to any member of staff for the duration.

Unfortunately some of our younger (non drinking) staff are not accustomed to the finer things in life and mistook Prosecco for Prosciutto, an easy mistake to make. We stock two Champagnes but only one sparkling wine.

The Management and Staff were pleased that you chose to have your Hen Night in the Historic City of York and hope you will return in the future.

P.S. We hope you have a fantastic Wedding Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    289
    264
    201
    217
See reviews for
139
554
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The bedrooms require updating although the bathroom was modern. Our main problem was not being able to keep the window open so it got very stuffy with lots of condensation. Location not too bad. Bed not particularly comfortable so overall would not really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Lynne,

Thank you for your review and rating.

Refurbishments are continuous to the bedroom accommodation. We still have a few bathrooms to upgrade but we hope you will agree that the new bathrooms are very nice.

Staff are on hand to resolve any issues that arise during your stay and have desk fans available on request. Alternative accommodation is offered if the original allocation does not meet with your needs (on availability).

The Management and Staff hope you will consider returning to our Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Looks lovely, only a ten minute walk to the wall, so perfect really in that respect. The reception was lovely, with fireplace/grand staircase etc - car parking a terrible situation which causes stress - but finally managed to squeeze it in next to another car. Able to leave it as we arrived at 11am - can't book in till after 2pm. Our room was very small with a big window, but it was clean and had everything we needed. I would find it hard to stay for more than a couple of nights in such a small room, but thankfully we were only there a few hours, booking in, sleeping and breakfast.
Walls are VERY thin, heard next door as if in the room with us and above us, we obviously had a giant who was pacing from 5.20am, so not a great sleep, but wasn't too intrusive.
Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Man who met us asking for our room key was abrupt and kind of left us standing in the doorway unsure what we're meant to do. When i asked if we sit anywhere he got a bit huffy as he was busy doing something else. he obviously forgot my pot of tea and i had to ask again. Not much for a cooked vegetarian - scrambled eggs.tinned tomatoes,beans,hash browns and fried bread - veggie sausage would have been nice. Lots of cereal etc, so guess if you like that kind of thing - its fine!
Man on reception as we left was grumpy and had no connection - nothing personal - enjoy your day or thank you for staying - just a grunt when i said we're all paid! Could be so much more, but felt as if place is stuck in time. Doors with knocks and paint chipped off, wallpaper peeling off walls - needs love and attention, but as a simple base, it is fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derwenna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Derwenna,

Thank you for your review and rating.

Parking within York is troublesome at times as we have residential and business premises in the same areas. If all of our parking is full on arrival at the Hotel our Reception Staff are able to direct guests to the nearest free parking which is only a short walk away from the main building.

The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II listed building which still retains many of the original features, including floorboards and has had partition walls added. Unfortunately some guests are early risers however we hope noise levels are kept to a minimum.

Breakfast is served each morning from 7:30am until 9:30am. The last half hour of service can be a bit manic however this should not affect your dinning experience. We have taken on board your comments regarding veggie sausage and will see what we can do.

During the summer months we often have a new intake of Staff who haven't quite found their feet yet. We hope our guests will bear with us during the training process.

The Management and Staff hope you will visit York and the Elmbank Hotel & Lodge n the future.

We have taken your comments on board and will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in May. The room was fine but it appears that the rooms are all different as colleagues staying reported varying sized rooms and quality of facilities. Coffee making facility worked, shower worked, everything was clean. Potentially an issue with thin walls, but didn't cause me a problem, but this will depend on your neighbours (pretty much like any hotel in my experience!) No Wifi in the room but there is the lobby (didn't use it though). Breakfast was good - a choice between cooked and continental (both buffet style) and I would say the cooked was good value for a hotel at £8.50. Coffee and toast delivered to the table.
Tried the restaurant one evening (kitchen closes at 8:30), and it was fine and again I would say good value.
Parking is a bit hit and miss and basically you will have to park in the street. OK except its zoned for 90 minute duration from 9 am until 6pm. So its ok to park at night. Location seems ok but beware it's very close to the racecourse which can lead to nightmare traffic at the wrong time of day. If you are going racing, then its ideal!
Booked though Hotels.com and got a good price so I would say it was good value!

Room Tip: This room was in the main building on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Durley66,

Thank you for your review and rating.

The Elmbank Hotel is a listed building which had modifications prior to the current ownership. Partition walls were added.

Complimentary tea & coffee making facilities are placed in each room for our guests convenience. We also have extra stock available from the reception desk.

Normal Restaurant opening hours are from 6:30pm until 8:30pm however we will keep the kitchen open later during busier times of the season.

Parking within York can sometimes be troublesome as we have residential and business in the same areas. Our reception staff can direct guests to the nearest free parking should our spaces be full on arrival, this is normally only a short walk away.

The Management and Staff hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
284 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Positives:- location close to town, very beautiful & grand entrance hall with open fire and chesterfield sofas, friendly reception staff, ok bar.

Negatives:- (sadly there were a lot) room was small, shabby, dirty, hairs on toilet & bath, marks on bedding, water mixer did not work so was either freezing or scalding (sadly only discovered this before check out so could not exactly swap rooms), stank of cigarettes & damp, curtains so thin no daylight excluded, no view, no breakfast included (available but costs extra). Did not feel like value for money and I have stayed at other hotels I the mount area of York for a similar price which have been lovely.

I noted from TA previous reviews that the management have reported ongoing refurbishment. I enquired about this on checkout and was told it was indeed happening but it was not apparently possible to tell me where or which room numbers had been done - which left me rather dubious if I'm honest. It's sad as this could be a really fantastic hotel if some care was injected into the rooms but I would not return in its current state.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Holzfrog,

Thank you for your review and rating.

Staff are on hand 24 hours a day to resolve any issues that may arise during your stay, this service extends to extra housekeeping duties. Alternative accommodation is often offered if the original allocation does not suit (on availability).

Refurbishments within the Elmbank Hotel are continuous. Access to these rooms is denied while work is on-going. Guests are able to view completed rooms if they are not already reserved by other clients. As York is a popular City we are only able to do so much at a time. Many bathrooms have already been updated and have a stylish black, white and chrome theme. Old CRT TV's have been replaced by flat, wall mounted televisions. All beds are replaced on a regular basis. Some of our older furniture has also been replaced.

Breakfast is not included in the rate with most internet companies however it pays to shop around as there are a few that do. If you have been unsuccessful in securing breakfast with your online rate the full price will be expected once you have arrived at the Hotel.

The Management and Staff hope our guests will bear with us during this busy time and continue to visit York. We also hope you will consider returning to the Elmbank Hotel & Lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

on arrival wasnt much of a warm welcome asked for payment as quick as could be so payed by my card then to realise later that they had actually took payment off my husbands card that we placed reservations with before we had got there asked staff why payment had been took twice didnt get a proper answer but it was our fault using a different card, well no if your staff had better communication skills on arrival would of helped. said we wud get payment back in our bank in 3 to 5 working days said they take payment out before you arrive so if thats the case why ask for payment again confused on arrival. anyway room very basic lots of cobwebs on ceiling and curtains hanging off didnt shut fully so felt exposed. very shabby place really and funny smell like damp up corridor to room. ive stayed in some cheap hotels but theyve been nice but this one was by far the worst to be honest the place needs a total revamp and maintained better its a lovely old building with lots of potiential but needs looked after better. wouldnt stay here again and a little way out from city centre too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esme30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Esme,

Thank you for your review and rating.

It is our Company policy to do a preauthorisation on all cards used to guarantee a reservation. We do this one night prior to arrival. This is not a sale, more of a credit check. The funds are held within your own bank branch for between 3-5 working days, depending on which type of card has been used.

All of our guests pay on arrival, this is also our Company policy.

The Elmbank Hotel is situated 600 meters from the City boundary wall to the south side and normally takes around 15-20 minutes to get into the centre of things. A local bus service which is very regular is also available as are taxis. Our Reception Staff are more than happy to book this service for our guests.

Refurbishments are continuous throughout the Hotel and we are in the process of deep cleaning. We hope all of our guests will bear with us during this busy time.

The Management & Staff hope that you will visit York and consider using the Elmbank Hotel & Lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It was a very friendly and warm place to stay, nice staff who are very accomodating, nice location, not far from the city centre, will be returning to spend a few more days in the beautiful city of york :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexJoshua1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you for your review and rating.

The Management and Staff appreciate your repeated custom and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing