We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The elmbank hotel is of an average hotel in need of updating its part of the cairn hotel group which has a few hotels within the group and also manages some aswell for the hilton brand and holiday inn brand if the elmbank was to be updated it would be a real nice hotel the hotel really would suit coach tours as it stands now

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toptourisuminspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

The Management and Staff are working flat out during refurbishments to ensure we do not disrupt our guests during their stay.

Our refurbishment program is a slow process especially during the busy summer season. We hope guests can bear with us during this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    288
    264
    201
    217
See reviews for
139
554
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On arriving we were shown to a room that I was not happy with within the main building, which has beautiful public areas, a wonderful bar and an impressive staircase in keeping with the history of this wonderful building. After a short discussion we returned downstairs and asked the reception staff if we could be relocated. The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. Within a short space of time, and despite a shortage of rooms due to a school visit over the next few days, we were moved to a much larger semi suite in the lodge across from the main hotel at no extra charge. I would love to see real money spent doing this marvellous hotel up, because it is a historical place worth preserving. At the moment, it is doing its best to work through renovations while being constantly busy and offers reasonably priced rooms within walking distance of York City centre.

Room Tip: If you feel disappointed with your room,approach the staff politely and with friendship. They will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaththemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Kath,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We really appreciate your comments and could not have put it better ourselves.

The Management and Staff hope there is as little disruption as possible to our guests whilst work continues.

Once again, thank you so much. We hope you will come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Another hotel booked through booking.com. We asked for a quiet room, and received one, it was in an annex building at the back of the hotel, which I though might be ok. The room to me smelled of a basement that was mouldy and damp.

The toilet never flushed properly, and the shower leaked huge puddles on the bathroom floor.

The staff were rather abrupt, and not all that friendly. btw- when you leave the hotel, you have to drop off your room key and pick it up again when you return.

Breakfast was adequate. Parking was free on the street. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the city inside the wall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear MaxBC,

Thank you for your review and rating.

The Courtyard rooms are probably in the quietest location of the Hotel. Staff are on hand 24 hours a day to resolve any issues that may arise during your stay. Accommodation may be swapped if the original allocation does not meet with your needs (on availability).

The Management and Staff hope you will return to York and consider booking with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon trent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a very unique and interesting place to stay.We booked room only as we like all the restuarants and bars in York, so cannot comment on the food or bar service. But the room was fine, slightly old fashioned but in keeping with the buidling. The panelled lounge with open fire and sweeping staircase are beautiful and give this the character a chain or budget hotel could not match.
It is situated within walking distance of the City Centre, which saves on taxi fares.
The only issue potentially is the lack of parking spaces. There are some, and we were lucky. We found one and left the car in it all weekend. Other than that it is street parking and a number of depressing restirctions (eg only 1 hour after 9.00AM) which could lead to a game of musical parking spaces...(or trying to find a parking spot quite some distance from the hotel).
Nice place though and one of my favourite places.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burtontricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear BurtonTricky,

Thank you so much for your kind review and ratings.

The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II listed building which, as you say, still retains much of its character and charm.

Management and Staff hope you can return to York and our Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for a few days for work with the University - came all the way from Australia. Lovely old building. Great staff and great little bar for an after work drink (or three). Smaller, single rooms are a bit strange... but ok.

Room Tip: Avoid the single rooms unless you're comfortable sleeping in a coffin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrivers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear M Rivers,

Thank you for your review and rating.

We have a very small amount of single rooms throughout the Hotel and normally use these for short stay reservations.

The Management and staff are pleased we could meet with your needs and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we called in while in York as we had booked for a few nights later in the week. the place was a mess and needed a good clean. the staff were most unfriendly so we decided to cancel our booking. Because we had prepaid at a discount, we were not eligible for any sort of a refund but it was better to write off a few hundred pounds than to have to stay here. Avoid like the plague

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilkoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great, As soon as you walk in, its like a mansion and kinda like a museum (in a good way). The staff were friendly and the bar/beer garden was really nice and relaxed, the room does need modernising but its quite spacious. Bed was really comfy and lots of towels! Would defo stay here again, the only thing was the steep room price (£100!!) but all in all, really liked this gem of a hotel.... Please ignore the unfair negative reviews, its great!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleMcElwee, Manager at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review for our Hotel. We really do appreciate it.

Refurbishments are a slow process but continuous. We are working our way through the list of suggestions from numerous review sites, hopefully without too much disruption to our guests.

The Management and Staff hope you will come and visit us in the future.

Thank you once again. :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing