We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for York, in an excellent location.”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value for York, in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

After being disappointed that the room did not have a bath as I expected, I was glad that the staff ensured that we could change to a more accessible room.with a bath for the second and third nights. The staff were friendly and efficient. As a former resident of York I chose this hotel as it is.very convenient for most places in York and is close to the centre and railway station. Very good value - one of the cheapest hotels in York in a prime location - public areas inside the hotel are very attractive; a kind of faded glory.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hopefulengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    294
    268
    202
    220
See reviews for
142
564
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I enjoyed my short stay here. I was in the lodge bit, which was a little eery in that it's a separate building from the main hotel. But as a result it was quiet, comfy, the bed was good, the bathroom very good (possibly the best shower i've ever had) and there was plenty of parking. Would stay there again as a handy access to York, if needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in a different part of the hotel from our last visit ( last time a large room at the front of the building) - the room was smaller but fine with a good bathroom. It was clean, well furnished, comfortable and quiet, even with the window open. The breakfast was, as we experienced before, very good with a variety of hot and cold food and served in a very attractive dining room. But.....we booked on a website which did not include breakfast (we did not realise this) so the stay cost us £30 more than we had anticipated making a good value stay more average in price. We were told that breakfast is £3 if the booking is made on their own website which we did last time.
We would recommend this hotel but check the cost of breakfast on the website through which you book. A cheaper price on another website may conceal the higher cost once breakfast is added.
A very good point with this hotel is that it has free parking and is only a 20 minutes walk into the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building rather than the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I wished I read the reviews before staying in this hotel, we was really disappointed with our room as it was dirty and the carpet looked like it had never been cleaned but also even though we got a discount through booking.com I think we definetly over paid for the room we was put in. The staff were friendly but this hotel definetly needs a revamp. The entrance is beautiful and parts of the hotel were nice just could not believe the room. Cob webs on the wall scratched walls and when we opened the window we had to close it again due to all the flies that were gathered around the window. We did speak to one couple who said there room was fine so I'm sure if you book and are unhappy you will be put in a nice room ............ York was amazing though great place and lots to do just wished our hotel was nicer would have made the trip so much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were in room 230. The room was very clean and just what we were looking for. The building is gorgeous and would benefit from some attention to bring it up to date, some of the detail in the bar and area downstairs is lovely. The staff were accommodating and any request we had, they fulfilled very quickly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOycer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtell, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very dated hotel. Needs a good revamp!
Stayed in family room which was spacious and very clean. Only one window could be opened for air. Was along way upstairs to carry luggage. Bathroom clean but basic.
Staff we're not so friendly and it seemed you were putting them out when making a query.
If you want to have breakfast here (which we didn't) book online beforehand as cost is 3 pound, compared to 8 pound on the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay could not fault it,we were in room 232 which was spacious and clean bed linen beautifully white and clean towels daily,staff were friendly and the breakfast waiter very efficient,we pre-booked the full English breakfast buffet which had plenty of choice at £3 per head!! Cannot comment on bar staff as we didn't use it,no problem parking and 10 minutes walk to the city walls. Would return.

Room Tip: Try for room 232, and also try and pre-book your breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithB1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,279 reviews
1.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing