We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAWLTY TOWERS!!!”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“FAWLTY TOWERS!!!”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed at the Elmbank hotel on Saturday evening. We were there for a private function and it made sense to stay over afterwards. The meal at the function, whilst being resonably priced was very 'average'. Prawn cocktail with hardly any prawns, beef whilst tender was very dry, Yorkshire Pudding - well let's say Aunt Bessie had been busy that night! Fruit salad - fruit was tasteless, hard and boring. Best part of the meal was the roast potatoes! Bar service was grim - very slow and very inexperienced bar staff.
Our room was a good size with a very nice recently refurbished bathroom, however the bed was hard and wobbly with a loose headboard. The tv had been dusted as far as the cleaner could reach so the top 8 inches of the screen was thick with dust - i actually wrote 'dust me' in it. The net curtains were dirty.
The rooms were also very noisey - we could hear people next door and above us very clearly so they presumably could hear us too. We were awoken in the early hours of the morning with a very drunk 'lady (??)' shouting and swearing at her partner. This went on unchecked by the hotel staff for a couple of hours on and off, lots of banging and door slamming, crying in the corridor. Not the hotel's fault that this guest couldnt behave properly I know but they failed to do anything about it either. Several other guests were also disturbed by the same people.
Breakfast was average - not very hot, bacon was very fatty, toast cold, hash browns soggy.
The full rate for this hotel is i think £95, we had a concession so paid £80 even so not worth it at all - I have stayed in much better for much less. Shame really because the public lounge area is beatuiful!!!
We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyDLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    294
    268
    202
    220
See reviews for
142
564
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

With a very tight budget for this short sightseeing trip, we were limited as to places to stay. Easy to book and very easy to find, the hotel was just over a ten minute walk into the city centre through Mickle gate. Parking was free and at the side of one of the new extensions to the hotel.

We arrived fairly early at about 12.30 midday but were unable to book in, as check in time was 2pm and rigorously adhered to by the young girl on reception (who also staffed the bar when we went to order a drink!). We were able to leave our bags at reception, so that we could go into town. When we got back at about 11pm, the two ladies on reception checked us in with little difficulty, but seemed surprised we hadn't been able to check in earlier. The room was very basic with a CRT TV that didn't work very well and beds with very thin pillows. However, the bathroom was clean with a shower over the bath.

However, despite the room (I only saw the one room), the hotel itself is quite remarkable. Inside, the building has much of it's original decor, including some wonderful art nouveau designs by the artist and architect George Walton. Parts of the interior really are beautiful and the central hall and the staircase are well worth seeing. I actually think the original artwork more than makes up for the room we stayed in.

The hotel is well worth visiting for the interior design alone. The room we stayed in was not the best, with frayed material on the bed bases. However, we paid £54 for a twin room including breakfast, so it was fairly cheap.

Go for the decor! It's stunning!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Arrived at this hotel an congregation of smokers outside, the reception area is very grubby , the room we were given smelt heavily of smoke, the blankets of stale sweat and the bathroom shower was stained towels were not white, we stayed about five minutes and demanded our money back , this is never a 3 star hotel and is like a backdrop to FAWLTY TOWERS although I dare say it was cleaner

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondo7102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGambia, at Elmbank Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Dear Raymondo,

We thank you for reviewing Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort and Spa. We have communicated to the relevant Heads of Department, your feedback regarding the areas mentioned in your review.

We do hope to welcome you to Sheraton Gambia in the near future.

Abby Sarr
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Having read reviews of this hotel AFTER I had booked it, I wondered if I had made a mistake. But no, I was really pleasantly surprised. The public rooms are stunning, the bedroom I had was clean, warm, nicely furnished, the bed comfortable, the shower so easy to use and lots of hot water plus there was a TV, which is not mentioned on the hotel's website and so was a bonus. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.
The only downside is that the hot breakfast is served buffet-style so if you chose to have breakfast at the later end of service time (07.30-09.30) the food is not all that hot and the scrambled eggs...well I didn't even try them, they were so dried up! Having said that I think it was good value for money and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxed stay in York, 5 minutes walk (yes REALLY only 5mins!) from the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Anyone staying MUST insist on a bedroom on the first floor as these have been modernised to a point. The rest of the public rooms look very sad. Staff responsive and breakfast fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorseCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

my girlfriend and I stayed for one night all the staff where lovely to us and could not do enough comfitable stay for us we had a great night in the town at the old school Italian restaurant that's what it ment in English we would or will be back soon .

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat3ick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

thought staff were friendly and helpful.very clean room.the breakfast was lovely fresh and as much as you could eat.only thing they could maybe think about is a porter to carry bags to rooms on 2nd floor.parking was good and free.walking distance to york centre.would be ideal for a quiet relaxing stay..would return for another stay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen499509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,279 reviews
1.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing