We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want to get a good night's sleep!!”
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmbank Hotel
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in York
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you want to get a good night's sleep!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

In a nutshell, the walls were paper thin and if you've got neighbours who come back in the early hours and continue to talk until 4.30am you're going to be woken up and kept up!! This was our experience. We could literally hear their conversation word for word. Added to that, our room overlooked the main road where the traffic didn't let up all night.

We did ask our neighbours to quieten down (which they didn't) but then it is reasonable to expect that you can come back to your room and continue to talk without disturbing others.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. At all. Receptionist was unhelpful and unfriendly. The room was basic, but clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellina186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    305
    274
    205
    222
See reviews for
149
579
47
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed for one night at this place. Upon sighting the outside of the building it was apparent that it is in need of a good lick of paint, it looks nothing like the pictures on the website which have clearly been taken from some magical angle. We were given our room key and had to walk through what could be an impressive lounge area leading to the stairs. However, the log fire has been replaced by a gas fire, such a shame. Our room was at the very back of the hotel and on walking down the corridor to the room we noticed that most of the bedroom doors looked like they had had a good kicking, the varnish was chipped and bare. On entering our room, though large, it was freezing cold with just 2 radiators to heat the family sized room. There is no double glazing just single glass. This has obviously been a problem before as an electric fire was placed in the centre of the room. We sat on the bed with blankets around our shoulders until we felt warmer. It was a cold January day but it was definitely warmer outside! Creaking floorboards were throughout the room (pity the people in the room below) and the bathroom was old and stained. The walls were paper thin and we could clearly hear the conversation from the people next door to us when standing at the other end of the room away from the wall. The bed quilts were old and dirty looking, they were reversible and looked like they have never been washed. I half expected to wake up covered in flea bites. We checked out at 9 a.m. the next morning never to return. Give this one a wide berth.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiddlestix1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

billingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

staff unfriendly ..... room disgusting freezin dark ....sheet not changed .....even if it was for free it would be too expensive !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billinghambaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I found the hotel very, very, shabby chic. Some of the wallpaper above the bed was missing and the metel strip between the bedroom and the bathroom was ingrained - which may not sound that bad - but the silver fish in the bathroom made me feel unclean. My head is still itching and I'm now in a fab hotel in Harrogate

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevJay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

we had a very comfortable night at Elmbank, in a lovely big room. The ensuite was basic but fine, and the room good value for money. The bar and sitting rooms are a treat of art nouveau; if the hotel was tarted up it would cost 5 times more to stay there, and I prefer it like this! the lady in charge was really friendly, and they welcomed the dogs. some of the younger staff could do with a wake up call, but the place is clean and tidy and really good value, especially as it's just a short walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manaboutadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This hotel was in a convenient location to the city of York. Restaurants were within walking distance of the hotel and a meal was available in the restaurant on site. Staff were friendly but reserved. Overall the hotel was reasonably priced accommodation for one or two night stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Fabulous decor in the bar, lounge, reception areas and breakfast room if you like original art nourveau/arts and crafts interiors - i really loved some of the original fixtures and fittings - copper leafed cabinet in reception was a particular favourite

We stayed in an annexe that was probably originally a stables block - room was clean and fairly comfortable with a sort of wet rooom type shower . We were able to open windows and switch off heating and the maids did not switch the heating back on- which we always rate highly
Our teenagers had a twin bedded room with bath.

The room was pretty quiet except for new year night when we had exceptionally noisy and energetic neighbours


Staff were fine and tried to be helpful though some had difficulties with english.

Breakfast - was much better than expected and very good value as it was included in our room rate :
it comprised - cereals- kellogs cornflakes, crunchy nut, rice crispies, alpen and i think coco pops
fruit juices - apple, grapefruit, orange and tomato
yoghurts - various low fat varieties
fruit =- mandarin orange segments, grapefruit segments and prunes and bowl of fresh fruit
Hot food
nice bacon and good quailty fried eggs. replenished quickly
good quality baked beans and sausages according to my teenagers
typical hotel scrambled egg , fried bread hash browns, copoked tomatoes
Toast, croissants, apricot pastry
coffee or tea or a stand of different teas - green, red bush fruit etc

All in all, i would definitely stay there again if we got a good rate. as the location is very convenient for everything.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selkieNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,893 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 47 in York
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.5 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmbank Hotel

Property: Elmbank Hotel
Address: The Mount | Driffield Terrace, York YO24 1GE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elmbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing