We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollies Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hollies Guest House
Ranked #104 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Hayley, the owner, was very warm and welcoming. The house was beautifully decorated and maintained. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Very quiet,as at the rear of the property, and very handily placed for a leisurely walk along the river into town. Breakfast plentiful and tasty. Definitely recommend to others! Try The Plough Inn in Fulford for evening meal. Very tasty and only a short walk away

Room Tip: Bootham room at rear of property was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    32
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

this is a great B&B. Met and shown to our room on arrival, and a very lovely room, everything in place in our room Tea making, lovely shower room, decor very high standed, everything I would have in a top Hotel was at my finger tips, To be honest I have nothing to say that would stop me for going back, and also telling my family and friends about.You have a choice for breakfast and anything you would like, there is a book for you to write your request for the next days breakfast.Absolutely Brilliant B&B

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewrightsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We called the day before to advise what time we would be arriving then next day. We got there 15 minutes late due to traffic and owners were out and we couldn't get in. This did put a dampener on the whole stay but we tried to look past it and went back later when they were back.

The room was generally nice with an good ensuite. There were knobs missing off the bed and the room was very cold in the night, They did provide an oil heater but this was very noisy and kept us awake.

We felt it was a liitle overpriced for the stay that we had.

Room Tip: Our en-suite did not have a bath so if you want a bath make sure you ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Hollies last friday 14th Oct. we were greeted by Hayley who's biggest concern was not our arrival but making sure our car was parked straight, she then proceeded to give us the key, not even taking us to our room just pointing out where it was. We were in room 1, and on entering we found a very dark and dismal room decorated in very modern design mostly black wall paper.
The lighting was very very poor, one ceiling light we could not find the light switch to, it was hidden behind the wardrobe. I am just 5foot in height and the mirror in the bathroom and the room were much too high for me to see into. The mirror on the wardrobe was dirty and no lighting there anyway. The room was dirty, the bed was a spring mattress and the springs came through and kept us away all night, the radio clock had no batteries. The bathroom was dirty, the towels and face cloths were supposed to be white but where grey, no bath mat provided on a wooden floor so when you stepped out of the shower it was very slippery.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at the Hollies in September 2011 as the usual hotel I stay at in York was full and needed a hotel out of the city centre for a quick start in the morning. I had the ground floor room with a king size bed and en-suite. Had a great nights sleep and didn't hear any noise as others have noted. Breakfast was excellent and lots of choice! Parking was a bit iffy, but with a bit of shuffling around it wasn't an issue. Hollies is a clean, friendly B&B and would recommend, as cheap for the price!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Notts_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at the hollies in July, and I must say don’t entirely agree with many of the reviews that are currently on trip advisor. I thought long and hard about whether I should leave any comments about our stay but decided I had to after reading the reviews on this site.
The Hollies is a semi-detached house with 5 to 6 rooms and a pleasant dining room on the front of the house. It is on a very busy road, the road noise is incredible if you need to leave the window open for ventilation. However, even when closed there is enough noise to keep you awake. We do live in a busy area and are accustomed to road noise, but here it is excessive.
Our stay was very much spoilt by the noise - from the road noise to the landlady shouting excessively at her children, and persistent yapping of their dogs in the garden. It really was too much leaving us more tied on departure than when we arrived.
Parking is very awkward with less than adequate spaces to accommodate every car, not a problem if managed well but it does not appear to be.
Breakfast was nice, but very basic considering the price of the room. All in all a very average stay for the price we paid. York prices are generally very high but we did expect a better stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamBuster_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, Lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Great stay at this family run B&B nothing too much trouble . Breakfast brill , cooked to order and plenty of it. Hayley made us feel very welcome . Would also recommend The Plough pub about 8 mins walk away for food . 5 mins by car from city centre 15-20 min stroll along the river...You would have to be really fussy not to enjoy :-) we would go again !

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
0.0 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#77 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#90 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#17 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollies Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollies Guest House

Property: Hollies Guest House
Address: 141 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollies Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hollies Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing