We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Alternative to Chain Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hollies Guest House
Ranked #92 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Alternative to Chain Hotels”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Hollies in room #2, top of the house. Very nicely done B&B in a very nice location. Walkable to downtown via a pleasant riverside route and parking on-site. Typical and quality English breakfast and/or made to order. Only downside was our hostess was absent, taking a weekend off for an event, leaving the personal touch a bit less than optimum, but hubby made up and the staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: Located near a busy street, which didn't bother us even with the window open, but if you are sen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    34
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

just had 2 nights stay at this great B and B......place was spotless, great hosts, very comfertable, we had two rooms and i must say they were excellent, good value for money, just a short walk into town, only thing worth mentioning was the bacon was over done at brekkie, ( thats maybe as the mrs was away lol)....but overall a nice place to stay, would deffo stay there again, .......keep up the good work

Room Tip: they are all very good to be fair
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Came to the hollies for our honeymoon and had an absolutely brilliant time. Our room was very nice, clean, bright and comfy!!
Breakfast was great.
Also the lady running the place was really friendly and helpful.
Would definitely recommend the hollies as a place to stay if visiting York!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hollies is a wonderful bed and breakfast located on the bus route into town and close to town. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The accomodations are very comfortable and clean. We stayed in the Micklegate room which was so elegantly decorated. The breakfast was delicious. I highly recommed a stay here while visiting beautiful and historic York.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 708Anna_W_12708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Made to feel very welcome, excellent service by both staff and management, the rooms are very very well presented with loads of room, breakfast was cooked to order and was red hot when served, something missing at most B&Bs, not got a bad word to say about the place, very nice beds, quiet, family run place in a good location, free parking too, I'll be back for sure, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gangerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at The Hollies and it was great. We were made to feel welcome straight away, Hayley was a great host and gave us lots of local information. The rooms were comfy and clean. Breakfast came out tasty and hot! City Centre is about 15 mins away and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival. The room was comfortable with all necessities for our overnight stay. A delicious cooked breakfast was served and help given to find our way around places of interest as it was our first stay in York.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#17 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorland House
Moorland House
#164 of 193 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#73 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#152 of 193 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#88 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#6 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollies Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollies Guest House

Property: Hollies Guest House
Address: 141 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollies Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hollies Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing