We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for tourist... not for buisness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in York
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great for tourist... not for buisness”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated on the river, a stone's throw from the station, York minster, shops, bars and restaurants. The location is certainly ideal for any tourist; however not for buisness. Check in and check out were both really slow and they spent more time trying to get me to have a club carlson card than they did checking me in! ; reception was clearly understaffed and even when you finally made it to the front of the queue the service was far from speedy.

I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannysmurf1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkinnlondon, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
I was extremely concerned to read that you had not had the most positive experience during your recent stay at the hotel. Club Carlson is the company loyalty programme and our team therefore make every effort to explain the benefits to our guests. I am sorry if you found the process delayed your check in. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to demonstrate that we can provide a fast and efficient service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    765
    373
    113
    46
See reviews for
230
864
70
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated on the river, a stone's throw from the station, York minster, shops, bars and restaurants. The location is certainly ideal for any tourist; however I did not feel that the overall experience was worthy of the amount charged. Check in and check out were both very, very slow; reception was clearly understaffed and even when you finally made it to the front of the queue the service was far from speedy. The 8th floor room was perfectly adequate, with comfortable twin beds. There was a massive walk in shower; however it lacked in power / pressure to such an extent that it was a real challenge to rinse the shampoo from your hair!
We stayed on B and B basis; the breakfast was tasty but many items kept running out.
Overall I would happily stay here again if the price was right; but feel the standard rates are steep for the relatively basic level of accommodation and service provided.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglet-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkinnlondon, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
thank you for your very honest feedback; I was surprised you felt the reception team were very slow but I know they take time to ensure our guests receive all the information they need to make the best of their stay in the hotel. I will however bring your comments to the attention of the Front Office Manager.

I do hope you will not let this deter you from staying with us again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel October 2012. Overall was very disappointed. Location is great, and that's why we stayed. However, it's a very dull and dingy experience. The rooms are adequate if sparse (beware, one pillow each!), however we paid for a river view and were put on floor 2, so got mainly a view of the roof on floor 1. Breakfast was no more than okay, the room it’s served in had dirty carpets, and is in desperate need of a refurb. Tables were left full of dirty crockery being ignored by the staff. I would not stay again, despite the great location of being a frequent visitor to York

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkinnlondon, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Good evening and thank you for your feedback. May I assure you that the cleanliness of the hotel and service is a key priority for the the team and I am therefore disappointed to read your comments. I will definitely share your comments with the team and assure you that this is not our usual standard of service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This Hotel serves York well with its location. You can explore York on foot, the wall, the attractions all with ease. The Hotel is one which I have visited several times. And I would again. Costs were fair for what you get. Always had a clean room, breakfast is very nice, the restaurant always has a European feel about it with guests from all nations. Never had a meal here so cannot comment on that, I was either on business or out. The bar overlooks the Ouse, crisp winter days or summer nights, always a pleasure to stay here. Within easy reach of the train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkinnlondon, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
How lovely to hear that you return again and again to the hotel. The location is, as you say, perfect for leisure or business and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Hotel is close to station and easy walking distance to main attractions, with plenty of restaurants nearby. Rooms seemed newly refurbished, were clean and functional, bathroom excellent and very clean. Breakfast good. Didn't eat in restaurant, which had a fairly limited menu, and room service had a hefty tray charge, so avoided that. Hotel stored our bags on last day so we could continue our site-seeing without lugging them round, which was much appreciated. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: You can upgrade to a river view, which would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkinnlondon, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
I'm delighted you chose to stay at the Park Inn York City Centre and had such a good time. It is a shame you did not have dinner with us but hope you will try out our menu on your next stay. Our website has some fantastic packages, including breakfast, so I hope you will be able to use one of them for your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I decided to book at Park Inn after browsing for many hotels in York. We found the hotel very good in location, near to city centre and tran stations. Our room was a bit small but clean. The most enjoyable part of our stay is the breakfast. There were load of foods to choose and all the staff were friendly and attentive. We were greeted nicely by the lady at the front door and brought us to the table and politely asked us a tea or coffee. We also saw her giving an old lady her help to get her foods because the old lady could not walk properly. The next morning we saw her bringing the old lady's breakfast again knowing what the latter's want. What a lovely scene. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Everything is spot on. Will recommend it to our friends. Keep up your good work.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkinnlondon, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
It was extremely pleasing to read your review of the hotel and to hear that one of the team displayed our Yes I Can service. They do work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and will be delighted to know that you have taken the time to write. Thank you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel not bad at all but it can only be as good as the staff. Room recently decorated and nice but reception staff on the evening not being too helpful and a hot half strawberry on microwaved pudding are my lasting memory of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkinnlondon, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you did not enjoy your dessert but wanted to reassure you that we do not use the microwaves.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rezidor, TravelUp, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing