We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird place.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weird place.....”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed in the Park Inn, York for two weeks for work. The place was very quiet, service was very slow, staff seemed to be constantly heckled by an irate manager who often reprimanded them loudly in front of guests. Not very professional. Rooms were adequate. Food was odd to say the least. An odd menu with few particularly palatable choices. Breakfast was fairly decent if the staff were left to get on with their jobs without being pestered by the constant prescence of the manager. Just a bit bizarre really....Great central location though!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
I have read your review and would be pleased to discuss your comments further if you so wish. Please contact me directly sally.hughes@rezidorparkinn.com if you would like to do so.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    806
    393
    117
    48
See reviews for
243
907
76
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Visited with my mum for a short shopping break met by friendly staff, ideally located from the train station, rooms have everything you need, breakfast stunning!! This hotel is currently undergoing renovation but they have handled this so well and does not affect your stay in the least

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
The hotel is definitely the ideal place to stay when out for a girlie shopping weekend. We are so close to the shops that you can definitely drop off the bags, enjoy a relaxing break and lunch overlooking the river before popping out again to continue exploring the city. thank you for your kind comments with regard to the refurbishment; always a difficult one to handle so I am pleased you felt we managed this well.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel is very central and great for visiting York. The room was very good with everything you need. They are modernising the public areas at the moment but its not a great problem. The rooms have a large shower but no bath this was a slight problem as my wife had a shoulder operation last week and had to keep it dry which made the shower unusable as its a fixed head type not one you could hold in the hand.

Room Tip: River view was nice and at his time of year there is no noise during the week from the pubs opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
York is a delightful city to explore and I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit and found the hotel to be the perfect location. I am sorry you were not allocated a room with a bath; whilst most of our rooms have walk in showers we do have some with a bath and I know the reception team would have been happy to accommodate your special request if they had known. I do hope your wife is recuperating and was able to enjoy the Christmas celebrations.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This was not our first trip to York but the first to the Park and we were very impressed. As per a previous reviewer we requested a refurbished room which was in the Garden Court area. It was a bit of a trek to the room but worth it. Although smallish it was immaculately clean and very comfortable with everything we could want for just 2 night stay. Shower was one of the best I have experienced in a hotel with plentiful hot water. Tea and coffee with biscuits provided was great.
Hotel is perfectly placed for York centre and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and enjoyed all the city has to offer. All the rooms are refurbished and fresh and new so there is no problem as to which part of the hotel you stay. I must say however that the views of the river provide an additional element with views of people taking their daily exercise rowing up and down when the weather allows.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Odd layout which results in a confusing hike to your room involving two lifts and a walk round the corridor between them, but the rooms are well thought out, with useful amenities. It's very central with a good view over the River Ouse. If you're lucky to get a room on the top floor, you'll get a lovely view of York Minster too. Slightly soulless bar, but we did get there very late. I'd recommend it as a business hotel, and it's good for tourists too if you're looking for a central option.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
It is important that as a hotel we can cater for both our business and leisure guests, so I was very pleased to read that you found we provided the perfect venue for both. Our setting on the banks of the river ensures that our guests enjoy unique views from the bar and many of our guest rooms so it is well worth upgrading to a river view. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Over the years our group of 4 couples have taken a pre Christmas break at a number of places in Europe and the UK and this year York did not disappoint. We booked rail travel and the Park Inn via AA Getaways which appeared to be very efficient and they came up with a very reasonable price.
On checking in at the Park Inn the hotel had no record of our reservation. As I had booked the trip on behalf of the others I had a feeling of impending doom. However the reception staff sorted the problem out very quickly and we were able to check in early allowing the Friday afternoon for sightseeing and drinking.
The hotel is very well located and just a short walk from the railway station and the City centre The rooms were fine for a short break and the shower was a really good size. In general the staff were very friendly and helpful. Early on Friday evening, before we went out to eat, we were entertained in the Hotel bar by the boys and girls attending the Waste Management Association Dinner Dance. All dressed up in their finery.
We ate that evening at 31 Castlegate which was excellent, very helpful manager, good service and food, I can recommend the Christmas pud with ice cream.
Saturday was spent sightseeing and visiting pubs. In the evening we were entertained again in the Hotel bar by the younsters attending the themed James Bond Night, they looked like they were going to be shaken and stirred. We ate at the Lime House and again the food and service was excellent.
We had breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday mornings at the Hotel and most of our party thought it was pretty good, though 2/3 did not.
Sunday lunch was taken at the Punch Bowl on Stonegate, very helpful manager who found us a table for 8 at 1pm. A very good pub Sunday lunch was had by all.
Overall the hotel and facilities were just what we wanted for a weekend break, good value for money.

Room Tip: You may want to choose a riverside room, probably more expensive but quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pongopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for writing such an detailed review of your recent visit, which gives any potential visitor to the city a perfect outline of what the city and hotel have to offer. I am so glad your annual get together was such a success and a great start to your Christmas celebrations.

Sending our best wishes for a very happy new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

bizarre car park-there is a lift but you cannot access it -no intercom or signs it was only a hotel worker who happened to pass and showed us a gate in the fence. its ok if you know its there but not good for new arrivals especially a lady on her own.
our room overlooked north street and we were kept awake by a stream of noisy drunks until 4 00am-then the lorries start. -never again

Room Tip: keep away from north st. at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedfordHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
We are always disappointed to read when our guests do not have a very positive experience and send you are apologies. I am sorry you did not immediately see the signage for the pedestrian exit in the car park but am pleased a member of the team was able to assist you in locating the hotel's reception.

The hotel has an enviable city centre location with fantastic views of the city and riverside activities, but inevitably, at this time of the year with the Christmas celebrations, there may occasionally be some disturbance from people passing the hotel. I am afraid this is out of the control of the hotel but occurs only rarely so I do hope you will reconsider and visit again in the future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing