We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was great...until we went to bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in York
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything was great...until we went to bed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

First impressions of the hotel were fab, checked in earlier than the midday check in, room was spotless, staff were friendly, the chap behind the bar was very accommodating when we couldn't get an Irish coffee to warm our bones, extra pillows requested and were delivered almost immediately, location is fab...all these signs pointing in the right direction for the perfect stay, until we went to bed and the wafer thin walls through to the room next door meant that we heard EVERYTHING...a little too much on occasion if you get what I mean. We finally complained around 2am but nothing seemed to be done (in the sense that we didn't hear anyone knock on their door next door, or their phone ring) and the noise went on until approx 3am. I know this isn't the fault of the hotel, but it really spoiled our stay completely, and first thing the next morning we had to turn the tv on to drown out the sounds again. I was just so disappointed, after initially being so happy with my choice of hotel. It has put me off staying again. We were so tired all day yesterday to enjoy the rest of our weekend in York unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
I am so sorry to hear your sleep was disturbed but delighted to hear that you found other aspects of your stay to be highly satisfactory. Please do let me know if you intend to stay in York again and I will ensure you have a trouble free stay!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    755
    365
    110
    45
See reviews for
224
849
69
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Really happy with this hotel for the price. Paid a little extra for an upgrade to 6th floor (view of York Minster) & to include breakfast.

Room fine, clean with modern bathroom. everything you would need.

Breakfast very good, again all you could want. 5 minute walk into the amazing Shambles & York Minster. So many lovely bars & restaurants.

Room Tip: High room 6th 7th floor overlooking the River & York Minster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
It sounds as though you had a great stay in York despite the inclement weather. I am delighted you found the upgrade to be good value for money; the views are fantastic and the breakfast a good way to start the day exploring all the city has to offer.

Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

With this hotel being right on the river the location for this hotel is ideal! Close (just a few minutes stroll) to all the nice bars on the river and a 5 minute walk to the shops!
The Hotel its self is clean, the staff have always been helpful on my various weekend stays here and the breakfasts go down a treat.
Only a 5 minute walk from York train station too. I can’t go past this place whenever I visit York!
I have stayed here in a group (6 girls and also with my partner – both times have been great!)

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river but to be honest York is such a great place are you going to be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Vicky

I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stays at the Park Inn by Radisson York City centre and found the location to be just perfect! As one of our regular visitors I do hope you have signed up to our Club Carlson loyalty scheme to enjoy the many benefits and special offers available to our members, not only here in York but at any of our Carlson Rezidor hotels across the world. Our reception team will be pleased to sign you up during your next visit!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

A great hotel, very central and ideal for sightseeing in York. A very comfortable bed and beautifully clean bathroom. Breakfast was self-service buffet style but very good quality and plenty of choice. Parking a bit pricey at £12 a night but I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay and in particular for commenting about the cleanliness of the hotel. York has a lot to offer as a destination all the year round, so I do hope you keep checking our website for some amazing offers........

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Me and my wife spent a couple of nights at the Park Inn, firstly i would like to praise all the staff who quickly accomodated us with another room when the electrics went down in our room.
We would like also to say a big thank you the staff on reception for waiving the parking fee whitch i was ready to settle on checking out.
We would definetly return to this hotel in the future,the room was spacious and clean and the views were stunning.
Once again thank you for making it a special weekend for us both.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
I am delighted to hear you experienced first hand the Yes I Can hospitality which our hotels are famous for. It makes all the difference and I thank you for taking the time to comment on it.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at the Park Inn for one night during the holiday season. The hotel has a very good location. It's very accessible to most tourist attractions like York Minster, York City Walls; Jorvik Viking Centre etc.. We didn't drive but instead we took the train and the train station is very close to this hotel. The food was excellent. There were lots of choices to choose from. The staff at the restaurant during our breakfast were very helpful and friendly apart from the waiting staff on the door on duty on the 24th of December. She was so grumpy and rude. I think if one is in charge on the door, one should be friendly, welcoming and has a smile on his/her face. Over-all, if you're visiting York, this is the hotel we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
It was good to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel and found the location to be perfect for visiting all the main attractions; you really do not need your car whilst you are here and as you quite rightly point out, the railway station is just around the corner.

Please accept my apologies if you did not receive a warm welcome to breakfast; we pride ourselves on providing a high level of hospitality and I am sorry if on this occasion we failed to do so.

With many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We got a double room a couple of days before our stay on last minute.com paying just under £60 for bed and breakfast.

We were given a river view room on 2nd floor which was nice and spacious, with a lovely bathroom and nice hot shower. The bed was two singles pushed together as others have said but that just makes it nice and big so was fine with us! Unfortunately as with a previous reviewer we had an adjoining room and had very loud squeaking to wake up to the next morning, but it didn't last long (!) and that's not really the hotel's fault.

Service was good at breakfast and acceptable on reception-I've had worse but could've been a bit more jolly!

Breakfast was included so couldn't complain but would've been disappointed if we'd paid hotel price on the day for it. Not poor - just average and you can get better value at wetherspoons.

For the location and cost it was good and I would recommend. For the car park alone in terms of location right next to hotel, it was a bonus as you don't normally get this on city centre hotels. I don't think £12 for overnight parking is too bad.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky_Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Sounds like you had a great deal........ you can find some fantastic offers via our hotel website so do look out for another chance to visit York!

thank you for your great review; we really appreciate it.

Best wishes for the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing