We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location but an average hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in York
Doylestown
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect location but an average hotel.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

The staff were fairly unhelpful and the service so-so (apart from Emily on the desk who was excellent) but nothing beats the handiness of the town and the Minster. Book a river view room: The River Ouse with York Minster in the background --- fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnydogmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback, particularly your very positive comments about our receptionist Emily. Our riverview rooms have the best view in York, over looking the river ouse and the minster.

We hope that you will return.

Kind Regards,

Melanie Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    755
    364
    110
    45
See reviews for
224
847
69
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Shields England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just spent a very nice weekend at the Park Inn having had an awful experience last year. The Genera Manager sent me a complimentary voucher to stay 1 night ( a bit disappointed as I had hoped to have my original booking of 2 nights replaced). I spoke to Mark Shepherd and he was very helpful in finding a very good rate for our second night and we had a beautiful river view room. I can only say the Park Inn redeemed itself and we were extremely happy with our stay. The staff were friendly and very happy in their work. Our room had been refurbished and the domestic staff more than happy to help. The refurb does not appear to have reached the restaurant as yet but the food was hot, fresh and plentiful. I am sure the decor will be dealt with in due course and that will make the Park Inn my no.1 place to stay in York.

Room Tip: High room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanddancer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and they we have been given the opportunity to redeem ourselves following a negative stay in the past, excellent news! The restaurant has been highighted as an area needing refurbishment and will be addressed in due course.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Melanie Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights for a work conference being held at the hotel.

Positives:

Comfortable beds and decent bedding
Modern and spacious bathroom
Good city centre location (walking distance from train station, bars and restaurants etc)
Good choice of breakfast (full English breakfast, cereal, bread, pastries)

Negatives:

TVs did not work in any of our rooms; although I raised this with staff it was never resolved
Wi-fi is slow with poor signal in hotel
Restaurant food was poor: rubbery, cold and undercooked. Staff could not meet demand at peak times. We had to eat out on the second night because the food was inedible
Rude and unhelpful staff, particularly in the restaurant
Very slow check-in: nearly 40 minutes for 4 of us!

Was fine for business purposes but not good value for money or particularly pleasant for personal purposes. Food and staff attitudes two key areas requiring improvement

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy as overlook main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PercyPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you had some issues with the televisions and wifi, both of these issues have now been addressed. I am surprised that you found our staff to be rude and unhelpful, we receive very positive feedback on our staff both via social media and our own feedback system medallia.

Should which to discuss the matter further please contact me at melanie.nocher@rezidorparkinn.com

Kind Regards,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

At present I am still waiting for a reply to my complaint, and despite reminding them by email I have not heard a dickie bird. I stayed on the night of the 29th June.

We were greeted in reception with plenty of contempt. My wife when checking in was told "oh you have booked a twin" she advised no, she was given the response "well you shouldn't book last minute. This was far from the truth as we were attending my cousins wedding and so had booked the hotel a long time before!! Its outrageous to make such a remark even if I had booked the hotel the day before. The most important person in customer service should always be the person in front of you. We must have been completely out of view to the receptionist as we got the feeling we were some muck dragged in.

We had little sleep due to a knocking noise that sounded like a door slamming. Between the hours of 4am and 6am. We continually heard a slamming of a door closing and squeeking, and so were unable to sleep during this time. A hotel should be able to provide a satisfactory nights sleep. They failed.

On leaving we raised the issue of the lack of sleep. This should be something a hotel prides itself on - and asked for a call on the Monday to discuss this further. To date I have not had any contact despite sending an email 5 days ago to the reservations email address and had a confirmation of receipt. Yet to hear from them.

The secure car park remained unsecure for whilst I was there and was charged £12 for the privilege of this.

My Mum ordered a poached egg with her breakfast. This arrived after her cooked breakfast buffet, and just in time to have with a coffee, despite a couple of reminders to the waiting staff.

The decoration was quite peculiar with a couple of empty wine and beer bottles on display in the window opposite the lifts. No wonder the cleaning staff were so cheery if they were let off their duties so easily.

To balance this up the rooms are a reasonable spec, and everyone seems to have a smile on their faces, and the complimentary biscuits were nice.

I have stayed at the Burj Al Arab and some pretty low level hotels (some one stars), and have never had such a bad nights sleep and lack of courtesy. If you like contempt and a bad nights sleep, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I have since responded to your email and I apologise for the issues that you had during your stay. Our receptionist tired to explain to you that when you book on lastminute.com (he was not implying that your booking was made last minute) your booking is made for either a double or twin room, you can add a preference, but this is not guaranteed. Bookings through lastminute.com book directly on to our system. Our receptionist clarified the booking details with you and changed your booking to a king room at check in when you stated that you did not book a twin room. I apologise for the fact that you were woken up by other guests slamming doors. Had it of been reported during the night we would have investigated the issue and addressed it with the other guest.

Thank you for your positive comments about our accommodation and staff.

Kind Regards,

Melanie Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrydavid6@aol.com
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We arrived early and our room not ready, but we were able to leave our luggage, but had to borrow a friend's room for a shower, as we were leaving with a wedding party at 1pm. We were offered the gym changing facilities, but not very appropriate when attending a wedding.
Shower in our room 222, was very weak and disappointing.
Neither were we told when we finally checked in at 1am, that room 222 is not on the 2nd floor at all, but in the 'new block', which necessitated 2 lift journeys, one down, one up, and we were only given one key card.
Positives are a good hot and cold buffet choice at breakfast, good size room and bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jananddave79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Jan and Dave,

Thank you for your feedback. Check in is guaranteed from 2pm, if we have rooms available then it is possible to check in earlier but unfortunately if we full the evening prior it is not always possible to offer an earlier check in. As we were full the evening prior and you arrived before check in time we could not offer you changing facilities other than our health club. Room 222 is still on the second floor, our hotel comprises of two areas of guest accommodation in the Tower block and the garden court area. The garden court can be accessed by a short walk down a corridor on the first floor. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and were satisfied with the accommodation.

Kind Regards,

Melanie Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Read lots of reviews before booking this hotel...& it's a great hotel inside...kind friendly staff at all levels, comfy beds, tea making facilities in room, showers & TV's that work + good breakfasts. I ordered poached eggs & they were perfect...soft & runny the way I like them. Our room was at the front...so we took the advice of another reviewer & kept the windows closed & turned the air con up. Some passing noise in the night but that's all it was so cant complain.
This hotel is so centrally located & such good value I'd recommend it & will stay there again if we revisit York. It was full both nights we stayed.
A tip for people with Apple devices...the free wi fi needs an extra connection ...just ask at reception as I did & it was sorted immediately !! Great service

Room Tip: Higher rooms on riverside will have a better view but maybe noisy as there are lots of bars etc on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaStokeontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write so positively about your recent stay at the hotel; the team will be absolutely delighted to hear that you felt they provided the friendly and efficient "Yes I can" service the company is so famous for. Don't leave it too long before you come back to stay with us; the hotel does get busy so we would recommend booking early!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in June fantastic location everything on the doorstep for bars and shops! The Receptionists were very helpful staff who were in the restaurant for breakfast were very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was very modern the bed was very comfortable the only downfall if you take a car and you don't get a parking space at the hotel you have to use the N.C.P. parking and it works out expensive next time we will go by train !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karendickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Karen

Belated birthday wishes to your husband! It sounds as though the hotel provided the perfect base for the celebrations. I am sorry you were unable to find a space in the car park; we do have over 60 spaces which are available on a first come basis; there are NCP car parks in the immediate area but many of our guests do travel by train as the station is so close to the hotel and it is rare that anyone needs a vehicle as all the shops, bars, restaurants and tourist destinations are located so close to the hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 45 in York
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
2,624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing