We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Inn by Radisson York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Park Inn by Radisson York
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in York
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It's a few minutes from the railway station as well as being just across hte water from the centre of York. Everything is in walking distance. The staff are lovely, very knowledgable and pleasant. The rooms are standard. Try and get one that overlooks the water though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTucker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Park Inn by Radisson York. The hotel is indeed ideally situated for both leisure and business purposes wtih easy access to the railway station, shops and main tourist attractions. It is certainly worth upgrading to a river view room to enjoy the amazing views of the Minister and river. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff; I will ensure they read your feedback.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    738
    361
    110
    45
See reviews for
219
827
66
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Pre-booked this hotel close to the Roman walls, the old town and the station. It delivered all it promised and had a great view. Well worth considering. As is is a relatively tall building you get great views from any room you take. Higher up gives more of a vista but the river side is good to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaJoe889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Our hotel is ideally located within the walls and within walking distance of all attractions. Our riverview rooms have the best view in York, over the river ouse, overlooking the minster and the city.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Went to York races for a friends birthday. Company he worked for booked the hotel so we didn't have a choice of where to stay but had to pay for it ourselves.
For one night stay on a Saturday night it was £170 which to be frank was disgusting for the type of room it is. I've stayed in 5star hotels in London for less on a Saturday. For the price I expected the room to be well decorated and stylish yet it was very basic and decorated basically.
One redeeming feature was the view from the room which was fantastic, overlooking the river and over to York Minster. However, that was even spoilt with the noise from across the river into the early hours and that was with the windows closed which on one of the hottest nights of the year we needed the windows open.
Bed was comfortable and managed to get a decent nights sleep once the music had stopped.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bjej8273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Unfortunately due to the high demand on Race dates the accomodation rates in the city are much higher. We monitor our rates against the other hotels in the city and find that ours are at the lower end of the scale. If you book in advance and directly with the hotel you will get the best rates.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by the bars across the river, we suggest that the windows are kept closed and the air conditioning in the room is used instead in order to prevent disruption.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Melanie Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

The staff were fairly unhelpful and the service so-so (apart from Emily on the desk who was excellent) but nothing beats the handiness of the town and the Minster. Book a river view room: The River Ouse with York Minster in the background --- fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnydogmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback, particularly your very positive comments about our receptionist Emily. Our riverview rooms have the best view in York, over looking the river ouse and the minster.

We hope that you will return.

Kind Regards,

Melanie Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just spent a very nice weekend at the Park Inn having had an awful experience last year. The Genera Manager sent me a complimentary voucher to stay 1 night ( a bit disappointed as I had hoped to have my original booking of 2 nights replaced). I spoke to Mark Shepherd and he was very helpful in finding a very good rate for our second night and we had a beautiful river view room. I can only say the Park Inn redeemed itself and we were extremely happy with our stay. The staff were friendly and very happy in their work. Our room had been refurbished and the domestic staff more than happy to help. The refurb does not appear to have reached the restaurant as yet but the food was hot, fresh and plentiful. I am sure the decor will be dealt with in due course and that will make the Park Inn my no.1 place to stay in York.

Room Tip: High room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanddancer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and they we have been given the opportunity to redeem ourselves following a negative stay in the past, excellent news! The restaurant has been highighted as an area needing refurbishment and will be addressed in due course.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Melanie Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights for a work conference being held at the hotel.

Positives:

Comfortable beds and decent bedding
Modern and spacious bathroom
Good city centre location (walking distance from train station, bars and restaurants etc)
Good choice of breakfast (full English breakfast, cereal, bread, pastries)

Negatives:

TVs did not work in any of our rooms; although I raised this with staff it was never resolved
Wi-fi is slow with poor signal in hotel
Restaurant food was poor: rubbery, cold and undercooked. Staff could not meet demand at peak times. We had to eat out on the second night because the food was inedible
Rude and unhelpful staff, particularly in the restaurant
Very slow check-in: nearly 40 minutes for 4 of us!

Was fine for business purposes but not good value for money or particularly pleasant for personal purposes. Food and staff attitudes two key areas requiring improvement

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy as overlook main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PercyPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you had some issues with the televisions and wifi, both of these issues have now been addressed. I am surprised that you found our staff to be rude and unhelpful, we receive very positive feedback on our staff both via social media and our own feedback system medallia.

Should which to discuss the matter further please contact me at melanie.nocher@rezidorparkinn.com

Kind Regards,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

At present I am still waiting for a reply to my complaint, and despite reminding them by email I have not heard a dickie bird. I stayed on the night of the 29th June.

We were greeted in reception with plenty of contempt. My wife when checking in was told "oh you have booked a twin" she advised no, she was given the response "well you shouldn't book last minute. This was far from the truth as we were attending my cousins wedding and so had booked the hotel a long time before!! Its outrageous to make such a remark even if I had booked the hotel the day before. The most important person in customer service should always be the person in front of you. We must have been completely out of view to the receptionist as we got the feeling we were some muck dragged in.

We had little sleep due to a knocking noise that sounded like a door slamming. Between the hours of 4am and 6am. We continually heard a slamming of a door closing and squeeking, and so were unable to sleep during this time. A hotel should be able to provide a satisfactory nights sleep. They failed.

On leaving we raised the issue of the lack of sleep. This should be something a hotel prides itself on - and asked for a call on the Monday to discuss this further. To date I have not had any contact despite sending an email 5 days ago to the reservations email address and had a confirmation of receipt. Yet to hear from them.

The secure car park remained unsecure for whilst I was there and was charged £12 for the privilege of this.

My Mum ordered a poached egg with her breakfast. This arrived after her cooked breakfast buffet, and just in time to have with a coffee, despite a couple of reminders to the waiting staff.

The decoration was quite peculiar with a couple of empty wine and beer bottles on display in the window opposite the lifts. No wonder the cleaning staff were so cheery if they were let off their duties so easily.

To balance this up the rooms are a reasonable spec, and everyone seems to have a smile on their faces, and the complimentary biscuits were nice.

I have stayed at the Burj Al Arab and some pretty low level hotels (some one stars), and have never had such a bad nights sleep and lack of courtesy. If you like contempt and a bad nights sleep, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkInnYorkCity, Operations Manager at Park Inn by Radisson York, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I have since responded to your email and I apologise for the issues that you had during your stay. Our receptionist tired to explain to you that when you book on lastminute.com (he was not implying that your booking was made last minute) your booking is made for either a double or twin room, you can add a preference, but this is not guaranteed. Bookings through lastminute.com book directly on to our system. Our receptionist clarified the booking details with you and changed your booking to a king room at check in when you stated that you did not book a twin room. I apologise for the fact that you were woken up by other guests slamming doors. Had it of been reported during the night we would have investigated the issue and addressed it with the other guest.

Thank you for your positive comments about our accommodation and staff.

Kind Regards,

Melanie Nocher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson York

Property: Park Inn by Radisson York
Address: North Street, York YO1 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson York 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Ouse, Park Inn by Radisson York City Centre is a vibrant hotel close to premier attractions. The hotel's prime location is within walking distance of the train station, shopping and business districts. Feel at home in one of the 200 bedrooms with stunning views of the river, city centre or cathedral. Room amenities include flat-screen televisions, Free Wireless High-speed Internet and complimentary toiletries. Enjoy on-site dining in the vibrant restaurant and bar, which serves appetising dishes and an extensive drinks menu. Onsite, secure car parking is also available; charges apply. With 12 meeting rooms, the hotel is a great choice for hosting events. The facilities can accommodate up to 400 delegates for conferences and up to 240 guests for gala dinners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson York Hotel York
York Park Inn
Park Inn York
Park Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing